Boost Gauge Help

-=SVT=-

Gold Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2006
Messages
2,194
Reaction score
0
I bought a boost gauge and wanted to know if any of you did there own! If so were do you connect the new boost gauge to? I got an Phantom auto meter and it gave me shit directions. I have no idea were it connects too on the engine! :dunno: any help would be great Thanks





Brian
 

01Sleeper

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 11, 2004
Messages
3,333
Reaction score
0
You can connect it to any vacuum line under the hood, or I believe there is a line behind the glovebox you can T off of.

-=SVT=- said:
I bought a boost gauge and wanted to know if any of you did there own! If so were do you connect the new boost gauge to? I got an Phantom auto meter and it gave me shit directions. I have no idea were it connects too on the engine! :dunno: any help would be great Thanks





Brian
 

Mr03Cobra

612rwhp - 590rwtq
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Run vacuum line thru firewall under hydro booster.
I Teed mine off the Boost selenoid. Looking at the Eaton from the driver side, you'll see all the selenoids, etc.. on a bracket mounted to side of Eaton. Far left one toward front of car. Tee off that vacuum line connecting to that selenoid. I used a piece of vacuum line from auto parts store to end of plastic line off guage & slide that hose onto the Tee you'll get from auto store. You will need a couple inches of the line that connects to selenoid to fit from the tee to selenoid.
Not a bid deal. I have my Whipple set-up that wat too.
 
OP
-=SVT=-

-=SVT=-

Gold Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2006
Messages
2,194
Reaction score
0
So i have to use a T fitting for the lines vacum lines on the engin if i go there?
 

01Sleeper

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 11, 2004
Messages
3,333
Reaction score
0
Yeah, you can choose any vacuum line you want and just cut it and put a T in. The guage should have come with various fittings.

-=SVT=- said:
So i have to use a T fitting for the lines vacum lines on the engin if i go there?
 
OP
-=SVT=-

-=SVT=-

Gold Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2006
Messages
2,194
Reaction score
0
Well it didnt come with a T fitting but i can go buy one. Thanks for the help :biggthump
 

01Sleeper

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 11, 2004
Messages
3,333
Reaction score
0
-=SVT=- said:
Well it didnt come with a T fitting but i can go buy one. Thanks for the help :biggthump

No problem. I would also put some zip ties on the end (to act as clamps) I had a small leak at first, but the ties fixed it.
 
OP
-=SVT=-

-=SVT=-

Gold Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2006
Messages
2,194
Reaction score
0
I went and bought a 1/8 Vacum T and the tube is just way to hard. it wont go on. It looks a c hair biger then the tube but the holes are the same size. :dunno:
 

01Sleeper

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 11, 2004
Messages
3,333
Reaction score
0
-=SVT=- said:
I went and bought a 1/8 Vacum T and the tube is just way to hard. it wont go on. It looks a c hair biger then the tube but the holes are the same size. :dunno:

You will need to slip a small miece of vacuum hose over the end to use as a coupler. There is probably enough slack in the line you cut to use a small piece.
 
OP
-=SVT=-

-=SVT=-

Gold Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2006
Messages
2,194
Reaction score
0
Yea but i cant even get the tube over the fitting the tube is 1/8 and the fitting is 1/8 it just dont slip on.
 

01Sleeper

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 11, 2004
Messages
3,333
Reaction score
0
You shouldn't need to slip the tube onto the fitting. Just slip a piece of hose over the tube, then the other end of the hose onto the fitting. So when you are done, you will have three pieces of hose on your T.
 
OP
-=SVT=-

-=SVT=-

Gold Member
Joined
Apr 20, 2006
Messages
2,194
Reaction score
0
01Sleeper said:
You shouldn't need to slip the tube onto the fitting. Just slip a piece of hose over the tube, then the other end of the hose onto the fitting. So when you are done, you will have three pieces of hose on your T.
OK :clap: i got you, it took a bit to get. I am slow today. Thanks i will try that!!! :p
 

imported_04 cobra

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 23, 2006
Messages
224
Reaction score
0
i just did mine and there is a yellow hose on the ps behined the glove box. you can tie off that, their is no cutting needed.
 

rocket5979

Gearhead
Joined
Nov 15, 2005
Messages
6,575
Reaction score
6
Location
Round Lake, IL
Just go to an Auto Zone or Pep Boys and they should have a little kit box that has all sorts of vacuum tee's, y's, and couplers. I also bought the vacuum cap box too and the rubber couplers also. I have used those few boxes for all of my custom vacuum routing needs. I do not foresee having to buy another vacuum part for a vehicle for quite some time. :biggthump
 

Mr03Cobra

612rwhp - 590rwtq
Joined
May 1, 2007
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Easy trick, wet the ends of the Tee's with your mouth, the hose will then slip on. It is supposed to be a little tight like a virgin, keeps it from popping off when boost runs thru it.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Top Bottom