Forum Register TCG Mobile Casino Live Posting Feed Garage Arcade Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   The Chicago Garage > The Garage > TCG Technical

User Tag List

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By willizm
  • 2 Post By firemandan1700

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-15-2015, 03:37 PM   #1
Broke DSMer
 
Shadow99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ohare
Posts: 3,608
Casino cash: $23281500
1.22 per day
Default failed emissions, ecu couldnt connect

The dsm failed emissions because their computer could not fully connect with my ecu. There was continuity, but couldnt talk to the ecu. Im able to connect with my lap top fine. Im tuning with ECMlink v3 full. Any ideas what to do?
Shadow99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2015, 03:41 PM   #2
You used to call me on my cell phone
 
Great White Drake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,458
Casino cash: $38463338
1.35 per day
Default

Try a different emissions place.
Great White Drake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2015, 03:42 PM   #3
 
blueoval4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Wheaton, Illinois
Posts: 2,699
Casino cash: $5001
0.65 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.bu View Post
Try a different emissions place.
X2. I went to Naperville station waited an hour. They had same issue failed to connect. I then asked them to test on another machine and all I got was attitude. And they said fine but wait another hour. I said fuuuuuuuu. I took it to addison station passed no problemo. I would say if you laptop had issues as well then you could check fuse or wiring. But since you can connect try different station.
blueoval4life is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2015, 03:50 PM   #4
Broke DSMer
 
Shadow99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ohare
Posts: 3,608
Casino cash: $23281500
1.22 per day
Default

Was just at the addison one lol. I stopped at autozone beforehand just to have them check to see if they caught anything on theirs. And they couldnt connect either. But I thought the guy was being a chicken shit and didnt want to touch anything.
Shadow99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2015, 03:52 PM   #5
 
blueoval4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Wheaton, Illinois
Posts: 2,699
Casino cash: $5001
0.65 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadow99 View Post
Was just at the addison one lol. I stopped at autozone beforehand just to have them check to see if they caught anything on theirs. And they couldnt connect either. But I thought the guy was being a chicken shit and didnt want to touch anything.
Just as an FYI mine failed at autozone as well. But worked fine at addison station. I don't get the whole OBD II thing. I thought it was suppose to be universal. But I can tell you not all OBD II readers will read my wifes R350 Mercedes had to buy certain ones.
blueoval4life is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2015, 04:12 PM   #6
 
HeavyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,908
Casino cash: $19296900
1.09 per day
Default

Could be the port under dash.happened to me
__________________
Arsenal:
* Pearl White IS250 "White Chocolate" / Blacked Out C6 "Black Betty" / Red 88 Foxbody T-TOP "Cherry Bomb" / 90 Vert LX "Storm Trooper"

HeavyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2015, 04:37 PM   #7
Ho fuckin Ho!
 
willizm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Saint John, IN
Posts: 10,321
Casino cash: $45049400
2.78 per day
Default

FWIW the Joliet emissions place has a self serve terminal. Kinda like an atm machine for emissions testing. Worth trying.
rocket5979 likes this.
__________________
turbo: exhaust gasses go into the turbocharger and spin it, witchcraft happens and you go faster.
1998 Supra Turbo 6speed swap in progress | 2010 Escalade Premium | 2006 Highlander

willizm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2015, 08:44 PM   #8
Molon Labe - come and take them!
 
zenriddles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Holiday Inn
Posts: 3,111
Casino cash: $19986500
0.61 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabe87vertgt View Post
Could be the port under dash.happened to me
+1

Had to replace the plug.
__________________
If guns cause crime, then all of mine are defective.

zenriddles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2015, 09:48 PM   #9
 
HeavyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,908
Casino cash: $19296900
1.09 per day
Default

Or it could be any recent electrical wiring to the car/improper alarm/fog light's. ..radio
HeavyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2015, 10:18 PM   #10
Gearhead
 
rocket5979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Round Lake, IL
Posts: 6,575
Casino cash: $7257600
1.32 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by willizm View Post
FWIW the Joliet emissions place has a self serve terminal. Kinda like an atm machine for emissions testing. Worth trying.


No shit?!?!? We need one of those up here! That's awesome! I mean passing is kind of a non-issue for me since the ECU will pass regardless, but it's still cool to not have to deal with the emissions guys if I don't have to.
__________________
-Robert-
2009 Pontiac G8 GT 6.6-Twin Turbo, 402 stroker, built trans, fuel system, etc...
2005 Audi S4 4.2-Boltons...
2003 Explorer XLT 4.6-Kenne Bell 2.2 @20psi, Built 4.6, built 4R70W, fuel system, etc...

rocket5979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2015, 12:36 AM   #11
Broke DSMer
 
Shadow99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ohare
Posts: 3,608
Casino cash: $23281500
1.22 per day
Default

From what I heard from others, in my tuning program there might be a lock-out button that needs to be unchecked...
Shadow99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2015, 09:13 PM   #12
 
HeavyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,908
Casino cash: $19296900
1.09 per day
Default

I had my lightning tuned...had emmison test...vehicle didn't register as all systems were turned off. Had to put back to stock
HeavyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2015, 04:12 AM   #13
Gearhead
 
rocket5979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Round Lake, IL
Posts: 6,575
Casino cash: $7257600
1.32 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabe87vertgt View Post
I had my lightning tuned...had emmison test...vehicle didn't register as all systems were turned off. Had to put back to stock
The OP's issue seems to be different than what tuned Ford guys are running into. In your truck's case the tune would have turned the DTC's and certain monitors off in a way that showed enough of them as not supported so as to cause a test failure. I think the OP is having issues with the emissions computer linking to his ECU at all.
rocket5979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2015, 04:15 AM   #14
Bite my shiny metal ass
 
firemandan1700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: LaSalle County
Posts: 8,639
Casino cash: $2141316
2.10 per day
Default

Or live in an area that doesnt require emissions
Shadow99 and rocket5979 like this.
__________________
2015 Ford F-150
2004 C5 Corvette
1966 Chevelle - Under Construction

firemandan1700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2015, 09:59 PM   #15
 
Wrencher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 115
Casino cash: $5244300
0.04 per day
Default

I know link pretty well...
Go to "ECU config" and click on the misc tab.
Find the check box under "lock comm in ECM link mode" and uncheck it.
Done.
While your there check your readiness monitors under the DTC's tab.
Also same page DTC's tab, make sure everything is enabled (enabled DTC checks)
Because you can shut monitors down there unknowingly and cause an emissions failure.
Wrencher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2015, 11:58 PM   #16
Broke DSMer
 
Shadow99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ohare
Posts: 3,608
Casino cash: $23281500
1.22 per day
Default

Yep. Haven't had time to check. But I'm guessing that's what it is. Thank you
Shadow99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
no new posts