User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-24-2007, 06:53 PM   #1
-=SVT=-'s Avatar
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,194
Gold Member
 
-=SVT=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,194
Casino cash: $4616300
0.45 per day
Default Boost Gauge Help

I bought a boost gauge and wanted to know if any of you did there own! If so were do you connect the new boost gauge to? I got an Phantom auto meter and it gave me shit directions. I have no idea were it connects too on the engine! any help would be great Thanks





Brian
-=SVT=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 06:55 PM   #2
01Sleeper's Avatar  
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,333
 
01Sleeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,333
Casino cash: $11153800
0.62 per day
Default

You can connect it to any vacuum line under the hood, or I believe there is a line behind the glovebox you can T off of.

Quote:
Originally Posted by -=SVT=-
I bought a boost gauge and wanted to know if any of you did there own! If so were do you connect the new boost gauge to? I got an Phantom auto meter and it gave me shit directions. I have no idea were it connects too on the engine! any help would be great Thanks





Brian
01Sleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 07:00 PM   #3
Mr03Cobra's Avatar
612rwhp - 590rwtq
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
612rwhp - 590rwtq
 
Mr03Cobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Casino cash: $4610000
0.00 per day
Default

Run vacuum line thru firewall under hydro booster.
I Teed mine off the Boost selenoid. Looking at the Eaton from the driver side, you'll see all the selenoids, etc.. on a bracket mounted to side of Eaton. Far left one toward front of car. Tee off that vacuum line connecting to that selenoid. I used a piece of vacuum line from auto parts store to end of plastic line off guage & slide that hose onto the Tee you'll get from auto store. You will need a couple inches of the line that connects to selenoid to fit from the tee to selenoid.
Not a bid deal. I have my Whipple set-up that wat too.
Mr03Cobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 07:01 PM   #4
-=SVT=-'s Avatar
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,194
Gold Member
 
-=SVT=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,194
Casino cash: $4616300
0.45 per day
Default

So i have to use a T fitting for the lines vacum lines on the engin if i go there?
-=SVT=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 07:02 PM   #5
01Sleeper's Avatar  
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,333
 
01Sleeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,333
Casino cash: $11153800
0.62 per day
Default

Yeah, you can choose any vacuum line you want and just cut it and put a T in. The guage should have come with various fittings.

Quote:
Originally Posted by -=SVT=-
So i have to use a T fitting for the lines vacum lines on the engin if i go there?
01Sleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 07:03 PM   #6
-=SVT=-'s Avatar
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,194
Gold Member
 
-=SVT=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,194
Casino cash: $4616300
0.45 per day
Default

Well it didnt come with a T fitting but i can go buy one. Thanks for the help
-=SVT=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 07:08 PM   #7
01Sleeper's Avatar  
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,333
 
01Sleeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,333
Casino cash: $11153800
0.62 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -=SVT=-
Well it didnt come with a T fitting but i can go buy one. Thanks for the help

No problem. I would also put some zip ties on the end (to act as clamps) I had a small leak at first, but the ties fixed it.
01Sleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 08:30 PM   #8
-=SVT=-'s Avatar
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,194
Gold Member
 
-=SVT=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,194
Casino cash: $4616300
0.45 per day
Default

I went and bought a 1/8 Vacum T and the tube is just way to hard. it wont go on. It looks a c hair biger then the tube but the holes are the same size.
-=SVT=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 08:32 PM   #9
01Sleeper's Avatar  
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,333
 
01Sleeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,333
Casino cash: $11153800
0.62 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -=SVT=-
I went and bought a 1/8 Vacum T and the tube is just way to hard. it wont go on. It looks a c hair biger then the tube but the holes are the same size.

You will need to slip a small miece of vacuum hose over the end to use as a coupler. There is probably enough slack in the line you cut to use a small piece.
01Sleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 08:36 PM   #10
-=SVT=-'s Avatar
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,194
Gold Member
 
-=SVT=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,194
Casino cash: $4616300
0.45 per day
Default

Yea but i cant even get the tube over the fitting the tube is 1/8 and the fitting is 1/8 it just dont slip on.
-=SVT=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 08:39 PM   #11
01Sleeper's Avatar  
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,333
 
01Sleeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,333
Casino cash: $11153800
0.62 per day
Default

You shouldn't need to slip the tube onto the fitting. Just slip a piece of hose over the tube, then the other end of the hose onto the fitting. So when you are done, you will have three pieces of hose on your T.
01Sleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 08:42 PM   #12
-=SVT=-'s Avatar
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,194
Gold Member
 
-=SVT=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,194
Casino cash: $4616300
0.45 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 01Sleeper
You shouldn't need to slip the tube onto the fitting. Just slip a piece of hose over the tube, then the other end of the hose onto the fitting. So when you are done, you will have three pieces of hose on your T.
OK i got you, it took a bit to get. I am slow today. Thanks i will try that!!!
-=SVT=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 10:21 PM   #13
imported_04 cobra's Avatar  
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 224
 
imported_04 cobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 224
Casino cash: $4610000
0.05 per day
Default

i just did mine and there is a yellow hose on the ps behined the glove box. you can tie off that, their is no cutting needed.
imported_04 cobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2007, 11:25 PM   #14
rocket5979's Avatar
Gearhead
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Round Lake, IL
Posts: 6,575
Gearhead
 
rocket5979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Round Lake, IL
Posts: 6,575
Casino cash: $7257600
1.31 per day
Default

Just go to an Auto Zone or Pep Boys and they should have a little kit box that has all sorts of vacuum tee's, y's, and couplers. I also bought the vacuum cap box too and the rubber couplers also. I have used those few boxes for all of my custom vacuum routing needs. I do not foresee having to buy another vacuum part for a vehicle for quite some time.
__________________
-Robert-
2009 Pontiac G8 GT 6.6-Twin Turbo, 402 stroker, built trans, fuel system, etc...
2005 Audi S4 4.2-Boltons...
2003 Explorer XLT 4.6-Kenne Bell 2.2 @20psi, Built 4.6, built 4R70W, fuel system, etc...

rocket5979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 07:43 AM   #15
Mr03Cobra's Avatar
612rwhp - 590rwtq
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
612rwhp - 590rwtq
 
Mr03Cobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Casino cash: $4610000
0.00 per day
Default

Easy trick, wet the ends of the Tee's with your mouth, the hose will then slip on. It is supposed to be a little tight like a virgin, keeps it from popping off when boost runs thru it.
Mr03Cobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 08:34 AM   #16
ITL Cobra's Avatar  
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 469
 
ITL Cobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 469
Casino cash: $5551200
0.10 per day
Default

I found this guide to install the boost gauge.. It should help


http://www.svtperformance.com/forums...d.php?t=122469
ITL Cobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
no new posts