• Hi Guest, welcome to TCG 2.0. Please refer to the FAQ in User Support before you do anything else. It will make the transition MUCH easier.

    IF YOU ARE SEEING AN "OOPS" ERROR PAGE, IT IS LIKELY BECAUSE YOUR BROWSER HAS NOT UPDATED YOUR CACHE. YOU CAN EITHER CLICK FORUMS AT THE TOP LEFT OR VISIT THECHICAGOGARAGE.COM AND BOOKMARK THAT. - Love, Mook

My pissed off rant!!!!!

Xtant12

Well-known member
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
3,263
Reaction score
0
FUCK my GRAND PRIX. Im getting so sick of it. I spent that 140.00 on that dam belt wrap kit and even put the 3.0 pulley on instead of the 2.8 just to ensure further that i would not have belt slip anymore and guess what, drove the car yesterday and sure enough it still slipps. I cant make over 10lbs of boost, my belt is starting to make shavings and dust everywhere. O, and the pulley on that belt wrap kit now has black marks on it. Isnt that nice. I should make over 10lbs of boost with my mods Im sure of it. Maybe I just need someone to look at it. Im just so pissed off, I thought I would be past this.. What do you guys think? How do you guys stop the belt from slipping??? Why would I not passd 10 lbs of boost? I do have the ported and polished stage 3 zzp supercharger, would that make me run less boost???
 

10sec

I haz dat teddy bear smile.
Donating Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
23,203
Reaction score
32
Well r u sure it's slipping or are you just going off of how much boost you're making? 10lbs is a tad low, but who knows maybe your setup is just really efficient. I only make 11-12lbs of boost on my setup with a 3.0 on a gen v :dunno:
 

Handsome Jesus

A V6? What a ripoff...
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
9,150
Reaction score
3
Location
Carpentersville, IL
Slipping belt will cause boost to fluctuate typically, not necessarily just reduce overall boost.

If you wanna sell parts off it really cheap I'm IN though.
 

ilikemtb999

I eat dirt
Donating Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2007
Messages
69,033
Reaction score
172
Location
Denver, CO
How new is your belt?


Can a 3800 make full boost under partial throttle say 50-75%? it's been a long time and I can't remember
 

PANDA

Well-known member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
34,200
Reaction score
25
Location
FRG
Whats to say the belt tentioner isnt the problem? Post up a scan.

also IN for the 8-rib setup...
 

Fish

From the mean streets....
Joined
Aug 3, 2007
Messages
36,116
Reaction score
21
Location
Chiraq
He shouldnt need an 8 rib setup if he has the pulley slip kit or whatever the hell it is. That would just be overkill.

If it is 10 consistantly and not spiking, that is your boost level.
 

DanJoy

Well-known member
Super Moderator
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
28,260
Reaction score
70
Location
Aurora
It's just belt slip broseph.
 

Xtant12

Well-known member
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
3,263
Reaction score
0
Whats to say the belt tentioner isnt the problem? Post up a scan.

also IN for the 8-rib setup...
Ok, im going to say this and PLEASE dont start with me. How exactly do you scan. I know how to make all those little boxes come up like boost, a/f,ect. To scan I assume you mean make it record something right? I dont no exactly how to do that. I can drive it this weekend so let me know guys..
 

10sec

I haz dat teddy bear smile.
Donating Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
23,203
Reaction score
32
Put the 2.8 on and see if you still make 10psi.
I agree here, do it.

And the dhp guys should be on in a bit to help you out with the scanning.
 

Xtant12

Well-known member
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
3,263
Reaction score
0
I agree here, do it.

And the dhp guys should be on in a bit to help you out with the scanning.
Ok, Ill put the 2.8 back on saturday morning. I have to go look at a house in Lake more so I have to go down rt 12 so that will be the perfect time to do it. Ill wait to see something from the DHP guy so I can get an idea on how to use my 5-hundo paper weight!

Thanks 10sec
 

Xtant12

Well-known member
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
3,263
Reaction score
0
Well r u sure it's slipping or are you just going off of how much boost you're making? 10lbs is a tad low, but who knows maybe your setup is just really efficient. I only make 11-12lbs of boost on my setup with a 3.0 on a gen v :dunno:

ALSO, if your only making 11-12 lbs of boost doesnt that mean your making less power? I always thought the more boost the more power it makes. If the superchargers improved why exactly does it make less power???
 

Handsome Jesus

A V6? What a ripoff...
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
9,150
Reaction score
3
Location
Carpentersville, IL
if you have those boxes up, press the start log button. when you are done, pause log, and then disconnect.

BEWST=PAH!!!

actually flow = power. the fact that your motor flows better now reduces the amount of boost you are running. it doesnt reduce how much power you are making.

you have a lot to learn
 

Bru

Well-known member
Super Moderator
Donating Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
36,946
Reaction score
57
Exactly. You can add headers and lose some boost but you will be making more power even though your boost is lower.
 

Xtant12

Well-known member
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
3,263
Reaction score
0

Panda Panda, you crazy Panda, hey thanks for this link. I printed every page of this and will make a binder out of it. I think this is a good place for me to start so that one day I can do tunes and things by myself. I still would be more comfortable if I had someone to show me the ropes but reading the info gives me a better idea what to do.

Thanks..
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Top Bottom