• Hi Guest, welcome to TCG 2.0. Please refer to the FAQ in User Support before you do anything else. It will make the transition MUCH easier.

    IF YOU ARE SEEING AN "OOPS" ERROR PAGE, IT IS LIKELY BECAUSE YOUR BROWSER HAS NOT UPDATED YOUR CACHE. YOU CAN EITHER CLICK FORUMS AT THE TOP LEFT OR VISIT THECHICAGOGARAGE.COM AND BOOKMARK THAT. - Love, Mook

DHP FTMFW

thebullfrog

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
712
Reaction score
0
Location
Algonquin
Got my DHP and my FWI in today. FWI was a bitch (lack of proper cutting tools) but well worth it. That's not the point. This is the happiest I've felt about my car in a long time. Trans. problem is gone. That half-assed ZZP PCM was the problem the whole time. I should just eat the core charge so I can drive up to Mi. and throw it through Zoomer's front window. I went through 2 of their PCM's and they both sucked. DHP managed to get it right on the first try. Imagine that. Now I just need some suspension work, my DP finally installed, and a new hood and this thing's good to go. wOOt!!!!!
 

Fish

From the mean streets....
Joined
Aug 3, 2007
Messages
36,103
Reaction score
16
Location
Chiraq
Awsome. A new PCM is alot cheaper then a trans.
 

thebullfrog

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
712
Reaction score
0
Location
Algonquin
Yep. for sure. Not to mention a rather substantial performance gain. I find it hard to believe the intake is making such a large improvement on it's own. A decent tune is an amazing thing. I'll have to scan ASAP and see how it looks.
 

Mike K

Forum Sponsor
TCG Sponsor
Joined
Apr 11, 2008
Messages
12,799
Reaction score
18
I'm happy to hear that took care of the problem for you.
 

thebullfrog

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
712
Reaction score
0
Location
Algonquin
So I scanned a bit. My peak KR went from a tad over 6 before (ouch, I know) to a tick over 4. I only see that 4 once or twice in a run for brief sec. Most of the time it stays below 3, with a good chunk actually being less than 1. Not the greatest but way better than it was before. It seems to run out of fuel a bit up top (o2 drops to around 905-910) so I think I'll change my fuel filter again and run some injector cleaner just to make sure that that's all kosher. I imagine my DP will knock a couple degrees off I hope, but I don't think it'll be enough to get me to pulley dropping status. It's also entirely possible that my vibration is throwing some false KR into the mix too, so once I get that taken care of I may be okay, we'll see. Provided nothing goes wrong I plan on getting the vibration finally taken care of, the DP on, and replacing my clunking ass rear sway bar links before the end of the month. Then it's time for a hood. And a special T.Y. to Mike for getting me parts that actually, you know, work.
 

Royalgtp

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 24, 2008
Messages
3,700
Reaction score
0
Still wondering why people would use someone else besides DHP? :blink:
 

Mike K

Forum Sponsor
TCG Sponsor
Joined
Apr 11, 2008
Messages
12,799
Reaction score
18
DHP PCMs offer no options whereas ZZP and Intense PCMs offer many options, allowing you to get a customized PCM of sorts. After Intense' initial excess timing issue they've not really had any problems. The ZZP transmission issue has been ongoing though.

DHP is still the best if that one canned tune will work for you.
 

framos242

Drink the shot, pussy....
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
4,229
Reaction score
4
Glad to hear your problems are gone.
 

thebullfrog

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
712
Reaction score
0
Location
Algonquin
Yeah, ZZP's options of eliminating the emissions codes and whatnot is why I went with them. Mainly just so that if something in my emissions did fail I wouldn't really have to worry about fixing it. But I'd rather be able to shift.
 

TonzKnock-G

Well-known member
Donating Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2007
Messages
13,479
Reaction score
18
Location
Shitcago
Unfortunetely I had the same problem..I Had DHP and kept getting some random misfire codes that I didnt get with the stock pcm. Although the dhp felt ok I just decided to give zzp a shot and nothing but shifting issues even after getting a replacement. I should have just kept the dhp. I dont even care anymore as this car is should be gone by next spring or maybe sooner. Anyone wanna buy a zzp pcm? :D
 

thebullfrog

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
712
Reaction score
0
Location
Algonquin
Oh yeah, thats another thing. Ever since I biught the car it always had an unexplainable misfire in cyl 4 only at idle. I was leaning towards the coil pack, but since I put in the DHP that seems to be gone now too. It was there with the stock and both ZZP PCM's, but the DHP appears to have made it go away. At least for now. The only other change was the FWI and I don't see that fixing a misfire.
 

EmersonHart13

Member Selfie
Donating Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
46,175
Reaction score
239
DHP! Glad you got everything straight! What plugs are you running? 180 thermo?
 

Fish

From the mean streets....
Joined
Aug 3, 2007
Messages
36,103
Reaction score
16
Location
Chiraq
Never would think of shying away from DHP. Probably cause the mad scientist himself is in our own backyard. :D
 

thebullfrog

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
712
Reaction score
0
Location
Algonquin
DHP! Glad you got everything straight! What plugs are you running? 180 thermo?
[/b]
Drilled 180 stat. Still on the stock heat range Delcos. Switching over to autolite 104's is on my list of things to rectify in the near future.
 

EmersonHart13

Member Selfie
Donating Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
46,175
Reaction score
239
You will be very happy with the Autolites, do it sooner. Also remove your coil packs and check for corrosion underneath. And plug wires are important as well. I would personally shy away from the drilled thermo, but that is just my opinion.

Motor mounts? Stock?
 

thebullfrog

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 12, 2008
Messages
712
Reaction score
0
Location
Algonquin
Plug wires are new. So are the plugs. I changed them when I first bought the car not knowing about the autolite thing. That's why I don't want to change them again just yet. Not in a big hury to deal with that crap again LOL. I've had no problems with the drilled stat. Stock one will go back in for winter. Good thought about the coil packs, I'll check that out. Motor mounts are stock.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Top Bottom