your copy of windows can expires? wtf?


daturbosix

HNIC @ GoodFellas Garage
TCG Sponsor
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Posts
14,408
Reaction score
4,823
Location
Aurora
so last week my laptop startedd yelling at me about my copy of windows not being authentic.
how is that possible? did it fucking expire? i didnt know thats a thing.

anyway, i need you computer nerds' help to find a windows 7 pro product key that will work. and then once thats done, i was informed that i can free update to 10 via windows' website.

sound right? what are my other options? this thing keeps deleting my desktop backround, and just makes it blank black. and every half our or so, i get warning messages about it being "bad" :rolleyes:

ice cold busch latte for helps me figure this out.
 

Lord Tin Foilhat

TCG Conspiracy Lead Investigator
Donating Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2007
Posts
50,013
Reaction score
14,840
Location
Riding the Hubble
so last week my laptop startedd yelling at me about my copy of windows not being authentic.
how is that possible? did it fucking expire? i didnt know thats a thing.

anyway, i need you computer nerds' help to find a windows 7 pro product key that will work. and then once thats done, i was informed that i can free update to 10 via windows' website.

sound right? what are my other options? this thing keeps deleting my desktop backround, and just makes it blank black. and every half our or so, i get warning messages about it being "bad" :rolleyes:

ice cold busch latte for helps me figure this out.
is there a sticker on the laptop?
 
OP
daturbosix

daturbosix

HNIC @ GoodFellas Garage
TCG Sponsor
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Posts
14,408
Reaction score
4,823
Location
Aurora
:unsure: these guys saying that the product keys do not expire. interesting. (however i dont understand the language of whatto do in that post. lol)

 
OP
daturbosix

daturbosix

HNIC @ GoodFellas Garage
TCG Sponsor
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Posts
14,408
Reaction score
4,823
Location
Aurora
It shouldn't expire. Did you get the laptop new or second hand? Might be a pirated version of windows

I used to install a fresh copy of an old version of windows 7 with an activation crack, then upgrade to windows 10 for free.
Got it from bill years ago. He got them from work and "rebuilt" them or whatever to sell to people privately.
 

bikrboy128

Some say.....
Joined
Jul 15, 2007
Posts
11,376
Reaction score
1,868
Location
Wheaton
Yeah. He probably used a pirated key or activation crack. Did windows update just run? It was probably picked up by some security update.
 

b00sted

TCG Elite Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2010
Posts
4,648
Reaction score
4,286
He was probably using the same product key on multiple devices. That's what I do.
 

nytebyte

Not Politically Correct
Joined
Mar 2, 2004
Posts
10,241
Reaction score
4,535
Even with a legit product key, I've seen this happen to Win 7, 8 and 10.
A hardware change can trigger this or sometimes an update. Using a Microsoft Volume License key can also do this.

You can usually go into the "System" section of Windows settings and just "reactivate" it, or click on the warning to get into the activation screen.
If that doesn't work, you'll need a new product key. If you're sure you have a legit copy of Windows, then call Microsoft to get them to give you a new one.
 

Thirdgen89GTA

Aka "That Focus RS Guy"
Joined
Sep 19, 2010
Posts
14,058
Reaction score
2,631
Location
Buffalo Grove
Once activated with a normal product key, the key is activated for 'life' until the system hardware fingerprint changes too much. But you have to change quite a bit before it will deactivate.


Generally, you can just re-activate windows and it should be fine. Othertimes, you have to call MS and get a manual activation key.
 
OP
daturbosix

daturbosix

HNIC @ GoodFellas Garage
TCG Sponsor
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Posts
14,408
Reaction score
4,823
Location
Aurora
Yeah. He probably used a pirated key or activation crack. Did windows update just run? It was probably picked up by some security update.
I've had updates turned off for two years now. And I didn't know about the free 10 upgrade either..

I turned updates off because there were two that never would work. Just kept coming back failed to install. No idea what they were
 

nytebyte

Not Politically Correct
Joined
Mar 2, 2004
Posts
10,241
Reaction score
4,535
Free Linux based operating system.
Good if you're somewhat computer savvy.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Top Bottom