• đź’ˇ Fun fact. Whenever you start a thread, TCG Mechanic 5000 (our AI bot) will reply to you to start helping. It doesn't know everything and it will struggle with more complex questions but it can get the thread going and provide valuable information. You can choose to disable it prior to submitting a thread.

LSx Swap-Opinions

MattMD

Mar 2, 2012
Chicago
Hey everybody!

I need some help. I have a '65 AMC Rambler Ambassador that I want to update. The car will not meant to be driven fast, but I want to swap in a LS for the reliability on a long drive, availbity of parts, that nice rumble and wow factor when I open the hood.

I understand that I should start with a 5.3. I have access to insurance auctions and was wondering what year/model wreck should I pick up. I have heard there are aluminum 5.3s available, it it worth the extra money?

Does anyone have a suggestions of someone that would be willing to take on this project?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Smokinhot

3-man rules!!!!
Jul 4, 2007
Lansing, IL
Real Name
IM me if you wanna know more ;)
Welcome :bigthumb:

The 5.3 makes great power n/a and has proven it's self as a reliable Daily driver. I would stick w/a cast iron one. They could be had for pretty cheap. And it does well boosted ;)

The 6.0's make even better power but obviously aren't that well on gas.

For what you want I would stick w/the 5.3 and though mild mods its way. Good luck!

CrunkMaro

DurkaDurkaTerrorist
Jun 17, 2010
i don't understand why everyone is so awestruck by the 5.3. if you can get your hands on a 6.0, i'd suggest going that way.
much easier to make decent power without having to go with radical parts.