• đź’ˇ Fun fact. Whenever you start a thread, TCG Mechanic 5000 (our AI bot) will reply to you to start helping. It doesn't know everything and it will struggle with more complex questions but it can get the thread going and provide valuable information. You can choose to disable it prior to submitting a thread.

Hooray for Nittos!

Wiked03

CSVT OG
Mar 1, 2004
Louisville, KY
Ran into someone at Byron on Saturday selling a set of stock 03 rims with with a barely used set of 315 Nittos on them. The deal was too good to pass up, so now they are mine. :)

I can't wait to try these out at the track. :headbang:

Attachments

• nittos.jpg
    nittos.jpg
    63.9 KB · Views: 110

gnxs

Electron Powered
Apr 26, 2004
Wiked03 said:
Any one have any advice for how to launch with these at the track?

Since all my previous runs have been on street tires, I have no experience with heating up the tires and I don't wanna look stupid when I go.

Good deal. I would've scooped those up in a minute. Let's see if we get any launching tips, I'd like to know as well.

I've heard you need to heat the crap outta them, but I don't really want to do that. The tread is shallow enough when they're new.

1MEANGT

Braaaaaaap!!!
Mar 18, 2004
You do need to heat up the nitto's pretty well. The nice thing is that the nittos will last you longer than the BFG's. When I do my burnouts I put the car in 2nd, rev it up, dump the clutch and hit the brakes slightly. Just enough to keep the car in one spot. Unless you have a line lock that is about the only way to do it.

Wiked03

CSVT OG
Mar 1, 2004
Louisville, KY
1MEANGT said:
You do need to heat up the nitto's pretty well. The nice thing is that the nittos will last you longer than the BFG's. When I do my burnouts I put the car in 2nd, rev it up, dump the clutch and hit the brakes slightly. Just enough to keep the car in one spot. Unless you have a line lock that is about the only way to do it.

About how high do you rev it up before dumping the clutch?