Swapping my GenV for a TVS1320

10sec

I haz dat teddy bear smile.
TCG Premium
Jul 26, 2008
Hmm.... seems like a great project on paper, but i doubt the real world results are going to be anything close to those paper numbers. Risky to put something ~12% smaller on the motor, with only a (from what i can see) 30-ish% more efficient blower. I feel like if i was an engineer and able to do the math, those to numbers would cancel each other out to a certain point where the TVS would be better, but not as much. Takes roughly 40% less energy to spin, canceled out by the 12% size reduction, puts that more like 25-27-ish% more efficient which is good to 300whp, but then the numbers would increase like an m90 from there on out. Small gains for big mods. IDK :dunno:

Maybe DD can actually do the real math as opposed to my ghetto "this is what it looks like it could be?" math. :dunno:

10sec

TCG Premium
Jul 26, 2008
Make any sense? It's like he's putting a T28 ball bearing turbo on his 3800, running 20psi and asking it to do more than a turbo just a tad bit less efficient with a journal bearing, because it says on paper it can but not really. I'm not being pessimistic, or at least i'm not doing it on purpose. I just feel like the 1900 that's "too big" for the car is a much better choice. The blowers they put on Mustangs are bigger than most honda engines, doesn't seem to stop them...

EDIT: added some shyt

10sec

TCG Premium
Jul 26, 2008
I think hes trying to one up the dude that did that genv/112 hybrid or whatever... if he can push 20psi as efficiently as 16psi on a genV, gotta be some gains right?

Yea, but i still think the two cancel each other out at a certain point where he's not putting into consideration. I'll bet the car barely makes 300whp, especially if a cobalt can't make big number with it. They can make 500whp all day long with a turbo, but only 350 with a TVS? Hmm....