Let's talk vinyl house siding

rdsnake

formerly RD SNAKE
Mar 5, 2006
My house was build in '79 and the current wood plank siding has far reached its life span. My place is half brick/half wood plank siding. I was looking to replace it with vinyl siding in spring/summer. I plan on talking to a few contractors but I know my cheap ass is going to end up doing it myself.

I was looking for some input on the subject and figured you guys might have some answers. I am no stranger to some hard work and problem solving. I remodeled my kitchen and put in hard wood floors in my whole first floor but I have zero siding experience. I hear it is more a time consuming job than hard work so I'm fine with that. Any other things I should be aware of before tackling this job myself? My second story is rather high so I would need to rent some scaffolding or one of those Genie electric lifts.

I haven't heard good reviews from the big box stores about vinyl siding. There must be some type of general pubic whole saler for this stuff? Also, anyone have personal experience with specific brands or types of siding that they would use again?

FESTER665

TCG Elite Member
TCG Premium
Apr 13, 2008
Streamwood
Nothing to it really. Get a good pair of snips to work with, and if you have it, a compound miter saw. Flip the blade so it spins backwards and itll cut the vinyl siding easy as can be.

Trim around all the doors, windows, corners, soffit, etc. with channel, then snap a level line for your starter piece. Nail that up, then start putting up the vinyl. When you nail in the siding, don't set the nails in tight, you want the siding to be able to expand and contract between the channels.

I got all the vinyl from Home Depot for my shed and had no problems with it at all. They also have all the extra parts for around spigots, electric boxes, address blocks, light mounts, etc.