College grad seeking career change...

JA$ON

ching chong potato
Sep 7, 2004
I'm starting to get a little frustrated with my recent job search. I've been an Assistant Golf Professional at a private country club in the western suburbs for the past 4 years, and I'm simply tired of my job. I have no life from May 1st until Halloween and its starting to catch up with me. My 20's are nearly over and I have given in too much to a schedule that doesn't fit very well with my lifestyle. I'm just tired of the 10-12 hour days all weekend long, 6 work days/week, all summer long, for the money that I make. Eventually, the money is there for this type of job, but I've realized that money isn't everything - quality of life is even more important.

I know you are all thinking, "how could you not enjoy playing golf everyday?" Well, that's not exactly what my job entails by any means. By the time my day is over, the last thing on my mind is playing golf. I am simply over-worked and under-paid. Last year, I was the only golf employee that remained from the previous year, and I trained my boss that makes over $100K how to do his job, and basically all the other full-time employees there.

I'm not bitter, I'm just generally a very optimistic person, and I've simply realized that it's time to move on to something bigger, better, and more challenging.