GTR Owners

Krash7051

Addict
Jan 20, 2011
So I've been debating casting aside my idea of buying a shelby and started eyeballing the R35. I just had a couple questions for GTR owners.

1. Have you put any mods on yours, and are they incredibly expensive to modify?

2. Any issues with the car in stock form or is there anything you wish you would have known about it before purchasing it?

I don't think I would DD either, but it wouldn't sit in the garage forever either.

I'm looking to buy either the Shelby or GTR around Christmas time when I come home on R&R from Afghanistan, (I'm a DOD contractor). Just trying to get the info from actual owners vs. reading google searches.

Thanks in advance.

Eddie

Mook

Mr. Manager
Staff member
Admin
May 23, 2007
Elgin
Real Name
Mike
http://www.nagtroc.org/forums/index.php?act=idx is your new best friend.

if you're looking at one by december, pick up a 2012 if you can. but you'll pay like an extra 10k difference between the 2010 / 2011.

the only real issue that people will bring up is the transmission. some folks have run into problems w/ them but its definitely not the norm (mostly from launching the car over and over. nissan has "remedied" that by lowering the launch control rpm). also, for daily driving, some complain the trans is a bit loud and jerky.

i do not own one...but i am obsessed with them and have ridden in 2.

mods are going to be expensive depending on what you wanna do. you CAN run 10s tune only but doing exhaust & a tune pretty much guarantee it.

hit up AMS or any of the vendors on NAGTROC to see various parts, etc.

OneBadGTR

R35/ZR-1
Mar 9, 2010
Bloomingdale
So I've been debating casting aside my idea of buying a shelby and started eyeballing the R35. I just had a couple questions for GTR owners.

1. Have you put any mods on yours, and are they incredibly expensive to modify?

2. Any issues with the car in stock form or is there anything you wish you would have known about it before purchasing it?