3800 Relationship thoughts requested...

98 TGP TOY

TCG Elite Member
Feb 9, 2008
Morton, IL
Ok this is an actual serious post from me. So here is the deal. My gf and I have been in a relationship for the past 1yr and 7 months. Since we are both juniors in college, we have been talking about marriage. So we discussed our views on marrage, career, and family. The problem comes in with the career. I am studying to be a Mechanical Engineer. My field of interest is engine design, or something closely related. I informed her that there is a possibility of my not finding a job in IL. She wants to stay near her family in central IL. So I said that if I was offered two different jobs when I graduated:

A. Job NOT in IL related to my field of interest
B. Job in IL, not related to my field of interest

That I would chose A. My reason being that I havent gone to college to work on light fixtures/chair designs/etc. I came to college to get a degree and work with engines/cars/jets/etc. I said it was unfair of her to ask me to give up 40+ years of working on something Ill enjoy, just so we can be closer to family. Now I will be the person bringing in a large majority of the money, also. I told her that all other areas of our life would be a 50/50 decision between her and I.

She brings up the fact that there may not find a job in her field where my job is. She asked that I not judge her if she isnt working for a while, or has trouble finding a job. I told her that it would not bother me if she couldnt find a job in her field, and that I would not pressure her to do so. She also says that im just completely ignoring her wish to stay close to the family.

I told her that I would try my hardest to find a job close, with CAT or something, but that there may not be an oppurtunity.

My thought is that choosing a career im interested in is more important than living a couple hours closer to home (which she takes as my career is more important than her)