Forum Register TCG Mobile Casino Live Posting Feed Garage Arcade Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   The Chicago Garage > The Garage > Automotive Discussions > 3800 Discussion

User Tag List

Like Tree7Likes
  • 1 Post By cap42
  • 1 Post By GTPpower
  • 1 Post By 1quick
  • 1 Post By RICH17
  • 2 Post By bikrboy128
  • 1 Post By 10sec

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-25-2017, 02:44 PM   #1
 
b4black's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oswego
Posts: 1,035
Casino cash: $18160000
0.26 per day
Default 3800 lost two cylinders

On my way home from work yesterday, sitting at a red light and engine starts running very rough and the service engine soon light starts flashing. Was running great up until that point So I limp the car back to work and park it. Throwing a code P0300, multiple misfires.


Using the Torque app, I can see the cylinders #2 and #4 are misfiring. I tried the following:
  1. swapped 3/6 coil with 2/5 and swapped another used coil with 1/4, no change
  2. Swapped #2 and #4 plug wires with new. No change. Triple checked to make sure they are routed to the correct cylinder.
  3. Pulled #4 spark plug. Looks good. Gap under 0.060". Replaced anyway with new plug gapped at 0.050". No change.
  4. Motor oil looks good. Coolant looks good and full. Engine did not overheat that I know off.
Any ideas on what happened and what to check next?
__________________
2013 Lincoln MKS 3.5 Ecoboost
2002 Buick Regal GS (Sold-3800 Alumnus)
1996 Dodge Ram - Cummins 12 Valve - 4x4
1982 Buick Grand National x2
1965 Hemi Barracuda - Richard Petty's 43 JR drag car
b4black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 02:46 PM   #2
Restoration Hell
 
cap42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bolingbrook IL
Posts: 1,942
Casino cash: $3903000
0.37 per day
Default

swap fuel injectors
torquelover likes this.
__________________
1971 Nova - Rust bucket in process of restoration
cap42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 04:28 PM   #3
. .
 
boostedguy05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 20,508
Casino cash: $22818000
6.55 per day
Default

call it a 2533 v6 and drive it into the ground.

but ya, what he said.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike K View Post
You're either a barely functioning idiot or you're a brilliant genius. I must study you.
boostedguy05 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 05:15 PM   #4
 
b4black's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oswego
Posts: 1,035
Casino cash: $18160000
0.26 per day
Default

Just swapped #2 and #6 injectors. No change. 2 and 4 misfires still.
b4black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 10:44 PM   #5
 
GTPpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,047
Casino cash: $24348500
0.79 per day
Default

I would try a compression test next.
1quick likes this.
__________________
05 F350 6.0 - studded, deleted, updated, tuned
01 GTP - Slicks/Skinnies/Nitrous/Stock Trans - [email protected] Sold
66 442 Vert - Needs work
01 GTP Race Car
GTPpower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 10:53 PM   #6
. .
 
boostedguy05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 20,508
Casino cash: $22818000
6.55 per day
Default

Dropped valve? Broken springs?
boostedguy05 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 01:42 AM   #7
 
98GrandPrixIraqVet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Nowheresville North Dakota
Posts: 13,785
Casino cash: $125046500
8.44 per day
Default

chipped piston. not all of them will eat a plug. ive done it myself.
98GrandPrixIraqVet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 05:48 AM   #8
 
1quick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: coal city
Posts: 19,235
Casino cash: $142182447
4.59 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTPpower View Post
I would try a compression test next.
I'd do that, if compression is good the only other thing I could think to check is the icm, not sure if that goes out completely or can drop just one coil pack signal, I had one over heating on a series 1 and it dropped all cylinders when it would happen, make sure there is dielectric grease on the back side of the coil packs
RICH17 likes this.
__________________
2016 GT 5.slow
1quick is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 09:26 AM   #9
Dr. Pussy Slayer, MD
 
RICH17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The 007
Posts: 25,519
Casino cash: $110303144
6.55 per day
Default

I lost soo many ICM's on my series 1 that I had to buy a spare and keep the tools handy. Fucking junk
Euro likes this.
RICH17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 10:37 AM   #10
 
b4black's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oswego
Posts: 1,035
Casino cash: $18160000
0.26 per day
Default

Thanks for the ideas. Im away for the weekend. Monday Ill check the compresion. I have a spare ICM as well.

I lined up a trailer, so can drag it home if needed.
b4black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 12:03 AM   #11
Some say.....
 
bikrboy128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wheaton
Posts: 10,601
Casino cash: $27106645
2.42 per day
Default

toss an ICM on there, bet that will solve it. i've had plenty of SII ICMs fail on one coil only
02BlueGT and Nate like this.
__________________
06 M6 GTO - stock garage queen - sold
12 Acura MDX - winter beater
03 Honda S2000 - 100 grand under the hood
05 Kawasaki STX-15f - braaap
79 Kawasaki KZ750 vertical twin - old and slow
82 Honda VF750 Magna - old and slightly faster
bikrboy128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 08:43 AM   #12
 
b4black's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oswego
Posts: 1,035
Casino cash: $18160000
0.26 per day
Default

Update: Tried one of the inline spark test lights. The good and bad cylinders were lighting up the same.

Lifted the rear fuel rail, placed brown paper under the injectors, cranked the engine and the brown paper was wet. So the injectors were injecting.

Checked compression. Good and bad cylinders were the same.

Swapped the spare ICM - fixed.

Lesson learned - a bad ICM can take out two of six cylinders (on different coils!). Next time, I'm just swapping the ICM and three coils pairs all at once to start.
b4black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 08:49 AM   #13
I haz dat teddy bear smile.
 
10sec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 22,998
Casino cash: $88943925
5.74 per day
Default

It'nt that what more than a few people said to do first?
__________________
2005 S2000
10sec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 10:43 AM   #14
 
98GrandPrixIraqVet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Nowheresville North Dakota
Posts: 13,785
Casino cash: $125046500
8.44 per day
Default

well glad that was easy
98GrandPrixIraqVet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 10:48 AM   #15
 
b4black's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oswego
Posts: 1,035
Casino cash: $18160000
0.26 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 10sec View Post
It'nt that what more than a few people said to do first?
It was one of several suggestions. That's why I did it even though the spark tester showed all cylinders sparking. I listened.
b4black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 03:51 PM   #16
I haz dat teddy bear smile.
 
10sec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 22,998
Casino cash: $88943925
5.74 per day
Default

b4black likes this.
10sec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2017, 08:09 AM   #17
 
MonzaRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Burns City, Indiana
Posts: 75
Casino cash: $1410000
0.06 per day
Default On spark testers, get the cheap ones,,,

OEM sells them that you screw apart. Take two fasten together with two short custom cables give them at least 1/2-3/4 in gap and start it. If I'm or coil is ganked this will show it real quick. Another way is to get nice steel or aluminum box, 6 plugs, good used ok, heavy side cuts and 6 of the long 14 mm spark plug thread repair inserts. You make holes, screw them in , nip off ground straps, make it with ground cables and alligator clips, number them, run all wires to this and have someone crank it. I added a remote button, and when engine is out install a 4 wire trailer connector with covercap. One to S terminal, one to ground, one to power. And one left over for what ever you see fit. Then take simple mo.entary button and wire it to other end of plug. Thus making a perfect inspection connection. You can wire plugs for timing lights, starter buttons. Power and ground connections for testing. Just tips to make diagnostics easier and quicker.
MonzaRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
no new posts