How to winterize a PWC/waverunner - Yamaha 4-Stroke

PANDA

TCG Elite Member
TCG Premium
Event Coordinator
May 24, 2007
Wisconsin Northwoods
I told [MENTION=5]Mook[/MENTION] I would write a few write ups for the #BRAAAP section so this is my first one.

Today I am going to show you how to winterize a pwc/waverunner with my 2007 Yamaha VX110 Deluxe 4-stroke. This procedure is similar for other personal watercraft. (both 2-stroke and 4-stroke) I am not a mechanic or a marine technician and I take no responsibility for any damage to watercraft due to improper winterization. This procedure has worked for me in the past with no issues. I am going to explain my three major steps. (Cleaning, oil change, winterization)

x6hVVkw.jpg

My VX110 fresh out of Lake Michigan after sitting in water for 5+ months. Bottom covered in algae and scum. Immediately after I pulled it out of the water I scrubbed the hull with a fine scrub brush right at the launch ramp when it was still wet. Its important you get it clean ASAP, as the longer it sits and dries the harder this stuff is to get off.

VtaZWXq.jpg

I brought it home and immediately started cleaning. First I washed it with my gas pressure washer. I feel this step is most important as the better job you do with the pressure washer the less work you need to-do later and you can use less abrasive chemicals. Use a pressure washer if at all possible.

74PVZB7.jpg

The pressure washer got most the algae and scum off but you will also need something more abrasive. Usually muriatic acid is used for cleaning like this but I wanted to try something a bit more "safe". I saw a product at West Marine called On-Off Hull and Bottom Cleaner.

LO1HHjh.jpg

Brush on, wash off. I did a few applications, and the product worked well. At $19.99 it was alot more money vs straight acid but was much more enjoyable to use. I recommend you still wear eye and hand protection when applying the product.

EHPz4xP.jpg