🔧 BUILD Z28 - 1999 Camaro Z28 - 5.3/S475/80E

Rooter

Oct 26, 2020
Hey all, this is my ongoing build that will never be finished and is always changing because of boredom and wanting to try new things. My Dad gave me this car when I was a freshman in high school (Spoiled as hell but I've learned so much with it) and it's been through a few iterations since then. This is the most recent setup. The powerplant is your typical gen 3/4 sludge-puppy junkyard 5.3 with a quarter million miles that I made the mistake of opening up and letting all the magic out. I tore it all the way down and cleaned out the decade and a half of sludge. Bearings looked great so I gapped the rings to .028" top and bottom and slapped it back together with a Sloppy Stage 2, some 799 heads off of my dads 2000 SS Camaro, as well as the lifters that he threw in the trash that I fished out because they looked way better than the ones I had. The trans is an early 4l80e that whines in first gear like an old school bus, I threw in new clutches and steels and an HD2 kit as well. I'm running the Circle D budget 80e converter, havnt had the chance to drive it with this converter yet but the customer service and buying experience through them was phenomenal. Rear end is still the stock 7.5" with 2.73 gears which Isn't ideal by any means but I have a goal of running tens in the quarter out of pure spite of everyone who says they blow up with stock power. Previous turbo setup was a cheap CX Racing kit that never fit right, it worked alright but just always bugged me. So while I was swapping engines I decided to make a new setup. I went with 2" inside diameter SCH40 for the up pipes and kept it fully divided to try and make a responsive setup. wastegates dump into the 4" downpipe and I'm planning on running a 4" loud valve in the future but for now I've got it necking down to 3" out the back through a chambered hooker muffler. Single 450 in the tank, running pump 91 will be flex fuel at some point in the futu