Where are you hoping to retire to, where do you realistically expect to retire and why??

MrDragster1970

TCG Elite Member
Dec 18, 2011
RT 66 area
I read a few of y'all were planning on real estate for retirement.
For those who are employed (vs self employed) how many of you are in a defined pension plan and plan on retiring off of that.
I ask because a lot of jobs now have 401(k)'s and other plans where the onus is on you to pick the right stocks/funds and to be able to live off of that vs the defined where you work a certain number of years and once you reach a certain age you get a % of your salary until death.

OK, I am no investing expert, and have lost more money than I ever expected to have.

I do know one thing, NEVER NEVER NEVER trust your future to someone else.
Who knows what will happen to social security, who knows what will happen to a company retirement plan, who knows what will happen to the market.

Real Estate can crash, but people will always need a place to live or business' need a place to operate.

As I've admitted many times, in my peak, I was an idiot and lost a huge amount of dough.
My customers begged me to add more men, I rarely worked a full day, I spent money like water on stupid stuff trying to be a big shot.
I have $50-60,000 worth of stupid hockey jersey's/sweaters that I can't give away now.
I had a chance to buy land several times when I had unlimited cash available and I passed because I was worried about being stuck with it.
I had a chance to buy my own shop, same thing, I didn't want to be tied down thinking I was leaving, and I paid rent for over 25 years:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

Take your skills, find something to invest in that is safe, and you are knowledgeable on.
If you can't turn a screwdriver, having a 3 flat might not be for you.
All your profits will be sucked away by paying people to do every thing.

A buddy did it the right way. He has 3 retirement plans.