• Hi Guest, welcome to TCG 2.0. Please refer to the FAQ in User Support before you do anything else. It will make the transition MUCH easier.

    IF YOU ARE SEEING AN "OOPS" ERROR PAGE, IT IS LIKELY BECAUSE YOUR BROWSER HAS NOT UPDATED YOUR CACHE. YOU CAN EITHER CLICK FORUMS AT THE TOP LEFT OR VISIT THECHICAGOGARAGE.COM AND BOOKMARK THAT. - Love, Mook

When increasing rim size...

firemandan1700

Bite my shiny metal ass
Joined
Apr 6, 2008
Messages
8,639
Reaction score
3
Location
LaSalle County
What needs to be changed using a tuner? I know there is something you change when changing rim size, I read it long ago but since forgot.

I have dhp
 

Eagle

Nemo me impune lacessit
Super Moderator
Joined
Mar 1, 2008
Messages
62,545
Reaction score
19
Location
Woodsticks, IL
Total wheel/tire diameter. I'm not a DHP tuner, so not sure where to change it, sorry.
 

10sec

I haz dat teddy bear smile.
Donating Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
23,211
Reaction score
35
Just remember, bigger wheel=heavy=transmission dying=more than you paid for those wheels.
 

Eagle

Nemo me impune lacessit
Super Moderator
Joined
Mar 1, 2008
Messages
62,545
Reaction score
19
Location
Woodsticks, IL
Does DHP have a nifty built in calculator for that like HPT does?
 

OffshoreDrilling

This is my safe space
Donating Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2007
Messages
29,101
Reaction score
46
Location
Chicago
Does DHP have a nifty built in calculator for that like HPT does?
DHP has nothing nifty or cool about it at all. Its totally bare bones. and for the OP, you need to change the pulses per mile. There are some threads about tire size changes on the DHP forums.
 

TommyGloves

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
5,649
Reaction score
13
Location
CHICAGO
What tire are you going to be running? It's all based on the tire size....not so much the wheel size.
 

The Broken Regal

BITE BITE, SIP SIP
Joined
Jun 26, 2007
Messages
14,726
Reaction score
14
Location
Wheaton
x3 on pulses per mile

what size you going with?

Except that you don't have to license every car you tune with it... :bigthumb:

Otherwise, you might have something there! :rofl:
or you could have an original PT and ONLY be able to tune specific year/vehicle in w-body family and THATS IT lulz :roflpicard:
 

firemandan1700

Bite my shiny metal ass
Joined
Apr 6, 2008
Messages
8,639
Reaction score
3
Location
LaSalle County
17" comp-g rims
They are currently wrapped in Falken 225-55-17 tires

If the tire diameter is the same- 225
I dont think a change is needed
 

Turbocharged400sbc

Welllllllllll ya knowwwwwww.....
Joined
Jun 16, 2007
Messages
26,499
Reaction score
12
Location
hangover park IL
best thing to do is get a rollout distance withthe car onthe ground and tire at proper pressure...but in reality as long as circumfrence is similar you shouldnt have a problem...you pulses per mile go up as you tire wears out, the difference can be as little as 40pulses per mile to 400
 

PANDA

Well-known member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
34,200
Reaction score
25
Location
FRG
Comp G rims on a 97-03 look dumb as hell.
 

Fish

From the mean streets....
Joined
Aug 3, 2007
Messages
36,117
Reaction score
21
Location
Chiraq
^^ Twisty polished 5 stars, negative. 10 spokes, alfirmative.
 

10sec

I haz dat teddy bear smile.
Donating Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
23,211
Reaction score
35
Comp G rims on a 97-03 look dumb as hell.
x2



Stupid ^^^^ almost has the same name... The Irony... Those wheels look terrible.
 

bikrboy128

Some say.....
Joined
Jul 15, 2007
Messages
10,619
Reaction score
27
Location
Wheaton
changing from a 225/60r16 to a 225/55r17 wont require you to change anything in the PCM.
when your speedo says 60mph, you will actually be going 60.2 ;)
nothing to worry about.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Top Bottom