• Hi Guest, welcome to TCG 2.0. Please refer to the FAQ in User Support before you do anything else. It will make the transition MUCH easier.

    IF YOU ARE SEEING AN "OOPS" ERROR PAGE, IT IS LIKELY BECAUSE YOUR BROWSER HAS NOT UPDATED YOUR CACHE. YOU CAN EITHER CLICK FORUMS AT THE TOP LEFT OR VISIT THECHICAGOGARAGE.COM AND BOOKMARK THAT. - Love, Mook

spark plug gap on the 3800

Eagle

Nemo me impune lacessit
Super Moderator
Joined
Mar 1, 2008
Messages
62,543
Reaction score
16
Location
Woodsticks, IL
Hows .072" sound?!?! :picard:

.057 on the new plugs for me... :rofl:
 

OffshoreDrilling

This is my safe space
Donating Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2007
Messages
29,094
Reaction score
22
Location
Chicago
Id just cut off the ground straps completely, 3800s are self igniting.
 

Bru

Well-known member
Super Moderator
Donating Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
36,939
Reaction score
50
:rofl: Yeah, that's a lot of gap.
 

EmersonHart13

Member Selfie
Donating Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
46,175
Reaction score
239
Maybe you should go back to working on the TA? lol
 

Bru

Well-known member
Super Moderator
Donating Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
36,939
Reaction score
50
You drive this thing yet with the new plugs?
 

Eagle

Nemo me impune lacessit
Super Moderator
Joined
Mar 1, 2008
Messages
62,543
Reaction score
16
Location
Woodsticks, IL
You drive this thing yet with the new plugs?
I did, after new plugs @ .057-.060 and new wires. Largest gap I found was .075, smallest was .072. It idles much smoother and its pulling harder in the upper RPMs. I want to get a scanner on it and see what its doing... might be time to bump the timing! :D

I went to replace the 1/2 shaft today too, but I didn't have a socket that would get the nut off the axle in the car... so I took the nut off the new axle to the store, and bought a deep 34mm socket. Brought that home and it wont get over the nut on the old shaft. :rant: SOOOOO.... I'm getting a 36mm socket tomorrow so I can pull the shaft out and get it replaced. The dead inside boot is spraying grease all over everything... I mopped a bunch of it up, but its a real mess.

I ALSO found out I needed tie rod ends. Got one side replaced... its much better already. Can't wait to get the other side done. It's going to be like a new car! :nannerpunk:
 

Runtz52

Runs like a turtle with downs syndrome
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
4,587
Reaction score
2
Location
Manhattan
I went to replace the 1/2 shaft today too, but I didn't have a socket that would get the nut off the axle in the car... so I took the nut off the new axle to the store, and bought a deep 34mm socket. Brought that home and it wont get over the nut on the old shaft. :rant: SOOOOO.... I'm getting a 36mm socket tomorrow so I can pull the shaft out and get it replaced. The dead inside boot is spraying grease all over everything... I mopped a bunch of it up, but its a real mess.

I ALSO found out I needed tie rod ends. Got one side replaced... its much better already. Can't wait to get the other side done. It's going to be like a new car! :nannerpunk:
when i did the axle, tie rod ends and motor mounts on my lumina it felt the same way, and the axle nut took me surprise when i got in there, luckily my local napa let me borrow theirs so i didnt have to buy one
 

Fish

From the mean streets....
Joined
Aug 3, 2007
Messages
36,103
Reaction score
16
Location
Chiraq
What kind of plugs? .055 is the norm for bolt on 3800s. .057 wont hurt notin though. Sure beats .072. :rofl:
 

10sec

I haz dat teddy bear smile.
Donating Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
23,187
Reaction score
19
naw mike was into jigsaw puzzles so 10sec helped him make his own inside his motor lol
Band aid motors are out of my control, can't help it had a weak piston in it. All the other ones were just fine... :angrys00ls: It was ALMOST faster than my car, almost...
 

ls6velless454

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 19, 2010
Messages
452
Reaction score
0
ngk ftw the quality from autolite although they are a popular plug among the whole 3800 crowd is not my plug of choice
 

TommyGloves

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 23, 2007
Messages
5,645
Reaction score
9
Location
CHICAGO
Im diggin' the better gas mileage this winter with the TR6s vs the Autolite 104s that I had in there last year. Not that I have some scientific comparison or anything, but my avg mpgs are up from 16.0-16.4 last year to 17.1-18.0 this year. :dunno:
 

Eagle

Nemo me impune lacessit
Super Moderator
Joined
Mar 1, 2008
Messages
62,543
Reaction score
16
Location
Woodsticks, IL
Yea, I've noticed after running both plugs extensively in the TA that the NGKs just have better manners. The turbo setup will be starting with TR7s.
 

Eagle

Nemo me impune lacessit
Super Moderator
Joined
Mar 1, 2008
Messages
62,543
Reaction score
16
Location
Woodsticks, IL
Well got the passenger side shaft installed, and the drivers side tie rod end.

SUX because within just the last 2 days the drivers side shaft blew out the inside boot and there's grease everywhere. :fu:

I took the winter wheels off after finding out that one of the wheels is cracked and dented on the inside of the wheel... presumably pothole damage. :wtc: Time for new tires on the summer wheels too... $$$ just rainin' all over this damn car. Needs front brakes too. :mad:
 

Yaj Yak

Harbor Master
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
89,318
Reaction score
174
i might have some brake stuff laying around lol. seriously.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Top Bottom