SCT users - enter please

Eagle

Nemo me impune lacessit
Super Moderator
Joined
Mar 1, 2008
Messages
62,583
Reaction score
109
Location
Woodsticks, IL
So I got this fancy SCT x4 programmer. Does anyone know how to use this damn thing? :rofl:

So I'm pretty knowledgable with HPTuners... but I have no idea where to really start with the x4.

Help?

Mainly, I'd like to know how to do things like delete the rear o2 codes so I could put in my headers. :h5:
 

03GTGreen

Cobra Brigade Presidente
Joined
Aug 1, 2007
Messages
4,022
Reaction score
23
You could never do that with the x2, and pretty sure with the x3, that could only be done with the PRP or the tuner has to send the file for it

or are you just talking about getting rid of the code?
 

Eagle

Nemo me impune lacessit
Super Moderator
Joined
Mar 1, 2008
Messages
62,583
Reaction score
109
Location
Woodsticks, IL
So like I've dreaded... does this SCT only allow me to load someone else's defined tunes into my car? How the hell can I mod my own files to load into the SCT to then load into the car?
 

03GTGreen

Cobra Brigade Presidente
Joined
Aug 1, 2007
Messages
4,022
Reaction score
23
Before you had to have the Pro Racer Package or the tuner send you the file, idk how the x4 works and if its more advanced now to where as you could do it yourself

Maybe have lund send an email file for your mods, than dyno at hans and send him the log for adjustment?
 

blueoval4life

Well-known member
Donating Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2008
Messages
2,764
Reaction score
39
Location
Wheaton, Illinois
So I got this fancy SCT x4 programmer. Does anyone know how to use this damn thing? :rofl:

So I'm pretty knowledgable with HPTuners... but I have no idea where to really start with the x4.

Help?

Mainly, I'd like to know how to do things like delete the rear o2 codes so I could put in my headers. :h5:
They have emissions up in woodsticks? I thought they can now tell if the 02 checks have been disabled in cars and will fail them.
 

Eagle

Nemo me impune lacessit
Super Moderator
Joined
Mar 1, 2008
Messages
62,583
Reaction score
109
Location
Woodsticks, IL
There is no emissions by me. I just need to get the code removed, because it causes all sorts of other things to happen in the tune like excessive fueling, no overboost/rev, etc....

Spoke to SCT support, and this car has VERY limited options the handheld can adjust. You need a full license to adjust the full tune file in their software, cost is $349 per car I guess.

:fu:

Working with HPTuners support to get the latest beta of 2.25 to see if I can delete the codes that way. Then I'll leave the bigger more official tune work to Lund (which is already paid for).
 

Eagle

Nemo me impune lacessit
Super Moderator
Joined
Mar 1, 2008
Messages
62,583
Reaction score
109
Location
Woodsticks, IL
It's one of the reasons I chose to move out to the edge of the world. No kidding.
 

rocket5979

Gearhead
Joined
Nov 15, 2005
Messages
6,575
Reaction score
6
Location
Round Lake, IL
So like I've dreaded... does this SCT only allow me to load someone else's defined tunes into my car? How the hell can I mod my own files to load into the SCT to then load into the car?


I am pretty sure that I mentioned this in other SCT tuning threads that you were involved in bro. I thought that you were aware of this considering your previous participation in those threads. Sorry to hear of your disappointment.

One thing to mention is that your SCT tuner/dealer, when outputting the tunefile to the end-user file format (used to be .ll3 extension but I have been out of the SCT game for a while) can select which options the end-user can play with, and by how much. When I used to tune with SCT professionally, I would vary the amount of items that certain customers could access depending on how technically proficient I thought they were with regards to EFI computer logic. So, even though you may end up dumping your bin file out to HPT at some time to have full access, have a good talk with your SCT tuner so that they know how knowledgeable you are, and thus will allow for maximum end-user adjustment within the tunefile on the device. Of course it won't be anywhere near full access, but it may provide enough access to keep things simple if modifying more cookie-cutter "global" things like axle ratio, tire rev/mile, certain DTC codes, blahblahblah depending on the ECM.
 

rocket5979

Gearhead
Joined
Nov 15, 2005
Messages
6,575
Reaction score
6
Location
Round Lake, IL
Spoke to SCT support, and this car has VERY limited options the handheld can adjust. You need a full license to adjust the full tune file in their software, cost is $349 per car I guess.


Unless SCT has updated how they work their PRP program, then it is $349 for the whole PRP, which comes with the SCT Advantage tuning software, and a single database (box code) license. Then if you get another car of your own that you want to tune with it, then you buy each additional database license for $100. Usually they will let you tune up to 3 of your own vehicles before they assume you are tuning professionally, and need to switch to a dealer package. This is how it worked up until last year anyway. Perhaps they are just charging more for the GT500 database itself, but I am doubtful.
 

1quick

Well-known member
Donating Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
19,937
Reaction score
454
Location
coal city
Is there any shops that do sct tuning in Illinois? My canned tune is ok I'm sure more can be had with a personal tune, I would rather have it dyno tuned when the blower goes on
 

Mook

El Presidente
Admin
Joined
May 23, 2007
Messages
164,869
Reaction score
2,588
Location
Elgin
Assuming he's working with the 5.0s of course.
 

Jokerzl

Forum Sponsor
TCG Sponsor
Joined
May 15, 2012
Messages
3,629
Reaction score
6
Location
Ashkum
Call me

I know a lot of people who use sct and some hooks ups I can get you

The prices in this thread ouch

But I can help

1-815-383-2513

Let me know
 

Pressure Ratio

....
Donating Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2005
Messages
16,304
Reaction score
320
Location
Glen Ellyn
Assuming he's working with the 5.0s of course.
Last I heard he was not doing any Coyote stuff yet. Mike Post has tuned a few.

I honestly wouldn't worry to much about a remote tuning session. These ECU are quite powerful and read a lot of data. I can't remember the last time I saw a tuner pull a spark plug after a dyno pull. As long as the dyno operator is knowledgeable and has a good ear you should be fine. He can communicate with the tuner and the pair will get you all squared away.
 

SleeperLS

Desert Racer
Donating Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
11,000
Reaction score
137
Location
Sandia Mountain
Is there any shops that do sct tuning in Illinois? My canned tune is ok I'm sure more can be had with a personal tune, I would rather have it dyno tuned when the blower goes on
I hear remote tuning from AED is pretty tits. [MENTION=2612]Pressure Ratio[/MENTION] has experience with him. I have only read good stuff about him.
 

Eagle

Nemo me impune lacessit
Super Moderator
Joined
Mar 1, 2008
Messages
62,583
Reaction score
109
Location
Woodsticks, IL
I'm already paid up for a full custom tune with Lund via the SCT... just need more time before I'm ready to talk with him.
 

Eagle

Nemo me impune lacessit
Super Moderator
Joined
Mar 1, 2008
Messages
62,583
Reaction score
109
Location
Woodsticks, IL
Great.... will do. Thanks for the heads up. You going to be at Lukes tonight, Pratty?
 

Pressure Ratio

....
Donating Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2005
Messages
16,304
Reaction score
320
Location
Glen Ellyn
I had hope to be there as I had plans to pick up my Lightning in Crystal Lake. But now the detailer wants to let the coating to rest over night. So I am going to try to convince her that we should take the capri and go to Luke's anyways. Shouldn't be hard as she is into cars.

If I come will you give me keys to the GT500? :s00ls:
 

blck10th

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
17,963
Reaction score
9
All my x cal 3 is good for is to load a tune Tim Barth wrote for me. I can change minor things like tire size, rear end gear, 2 step( which does not work in mine) rev limiter. not a lot of things for people to mess with.
 

03GTGreen

Cobra Brigade Presidente
Joined
Aug 1, 2007
Messages
4,022
Reaction score
23
I had hope to be there as I had plans to pick up my Lightning in Crystal Lake. But now the detailer wants to let the coating to rest over night. So I am going to try to convince her that we should take the capri and go to Luke's anyways. Shouldn't be hard as she is into cars.

If I come will you give me keys to the GT500? :s00ls:
Woah, you have to get permission to come out now, your demise has begun
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Top Bottom