• Hi Guest, welcome to TCG 2.0. Please refer to the FAQ in User Support before you do anything else. It will make the transition MUCH easier.

    IF YOU ARE SEEING AN "OOPS" ERROR PAGE, IT IS LIKELY BECAUSE YOUR BROWSER HAS NOT UPDATED YOUR CACHE. YOU CAN EITHER CLICK FORUMS AT THE TOP LEFT OR VISIT THECHICAGOGARAGE.COM AND BOOKMARK THAT. - Love, Mook

radar detectors

bigsammoe

Well-known member
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
1,155
Reaction score
0
Location
Gurnee
so eric partyhardo has a V1 that thing kicks ass!
since in orland and pretty much around highways the cops are gay.,.. do u guys think its worth getting a new radar detector?

if so what would u get/
 

syP

Not Banned
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
29,892
Reaction score
15
Location
Downers Grove, Illinois
i just have the standard Cobra something or other radar detector.... works just fine..



and ill say it before the others do..


just go the speed limit and dont worry about anything..




side note.... where do you work now after graduating from UTI sam?
 

GTPquickRB

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 11, 2008
Messages
667
Reaction score
0
I just got a passport 8500...red display to match the car - it works perfect!! I knew the cop had me before he even turned his lights on!!

75 dollars later.....

Radar detectors are great when you're in traffic on the highway, but unless the cop is gunning everyone around you, be prepared to pay cause he's gonna get you.

I was driving late at night and he was coming the other way. I had no clue until he hit me.

It's range is claimed to be a mile....definatly doesnt seem like it. I'm probably going to sell it back on Ebay.

The mile claim.....my ass - i got it used...tho i doubt that makes much difference. I'm gonna play with the settings and see whats up, but I dont know what thats gonna help

If you want it I'll sell it to ya for 175 plus shipping, maybe you'll have better luck with it. Reviews say it's supposed to be awesome, but like i said. Then again I also have terrible luck with pretty much everything i own. Might just be operator error.

I've heard great things about the V1 - and this one - just my .02

I'm gonna go driving around tommorow to tune the car, should be nice and cool, I'll let you know if I get better performance out of the detector after playing with the settings.

edit: i couldnt write a cogent sentence if my life depended on it
 

Fish

From the mean streets....
Joined
Aug 3, 2007
Messages
36,117
Reaction score
21
Location
Chiraq
Radar detectors are not some mystical device that cloaks you from cops. They detect radar and let you know as soon as it does. Sometimes its a mile (mine has definatly done that and it is a $60 whistler) and sometimes its 20 feet.

V1s and Passports and any other #400+ radar is useless.
 

PANDA

Well-known member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
34,200
Reaction score
25
Location
FRG
DONT WASTE MONEY ON A SHITTY RADAR

First off, your head is your best radar but a little extra protection cant hurt. Second radar detectors detect radar, not cops. If the cop isnt clocking the radar wont go off.

I myself have a Escort 8500, and I wouldnt recomment buying anything but a 8500 or a V1. Dont waste money on cheap radars its useless. I had a Cobra, I also thought it worked good untill I got a expensive radar. The increasced range is crazy.

One night I was driving around with two radars, a Escort 8500 and a Cobra 9180. I kept driving past one of those "your speed" signs to test the range of the diffrent radars. The diffrence between the 8500 and the Cobra was like night and day.
 

Fish

From the mean streets....
Joined
Aug 3, 2007
Messages
36,117
Reaction score
21
Location
Chiraq
My SHITTY whistler has detected a cop a mile away. From crossing the 290 bridge on Devon all the way to the Dairy Queen past arlington heights.

I stand firm. Do NOT waste money on expensive radars.

Radar detectors are not some mystical device that cloaks you from cops.
Beat this in your head people.
 
I

imported_GraFFix

Guest
The V1 is the nicest one ive seen...on our trip to St Louis this past weekend my brother had his in the viper and it probably saved us 5 times. The reason I like the V1 is because of the range and also the directional arrows that tell you where its coming from. It would start beeping and a minute later we would see him...

Although it didnt help when the trooper was "pacing" us from behind and 100mph lol
 

PANDA

Well-known member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
34,200
Reaction score
25
Location
FRG
My SHITTY whistler has detected a cop a mile away. From crossing the 290 bridge on Devon all the way to the Dairy Queen past arlington heights.

I stand firm. Do NOT waste money on expensive radars.
:lolsign: Whistler, thats gotta be the most shitty radar you could buy. How do you even know your radar was picking up the same signal for that long? It was actualy probably picking up false alarms from Jewel, Domnicks, Gas stations, etc, because thats all a cheap low end radar is good for. Like I said before I had a cheap $100 Cobra 9180 before and I thought it worked great untill I forked over $300 and bought a 8500 and realized it was like a whole new world. On some highway trips when there is a cop in the middle clocking my Escort goes off minutes before, yes minutes before I see a the cop. I read online that it has about a 7 mile range on a strait level road.

http://www.radartest.com/article.asp?articleid=1064

Fish I suggest you barrow a high end radar from someone and put it to your own test. Because every low end radar that I or one of my friends has owned just picks up nothing but false signals and when there is a cop you can see him before the radar goes off.
 

bigsammoe

Well-known member
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
1,155
Reaction score
0
Location
Gurnee
well guys i think its been said lets have a radar test one day lets get all the radars going.. hell we will have the controled car since most all have GP and then we can put different radars in each and ill see if my buddy (OP) cop will clock us



but till then i would lov eto compare the 8500 to the V1 can i borrow some ones for a day?
 

PANDA

Well-known member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
34,200
Reaction score
25
Location
FRG
but till then i would lov eto compare the 8500 to the V1 can i borrow some ones for a day?
From what I have read online before I bought the 8500 the V1 has about the same performance but it costs $100 more. If you like the arrows that tell you where the cop is, go for the V1.
 

bigsammoe

Well-known member
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
1,155
Reaction score
0
Location
Gurnee
the V1 has the best laser mode thats pretty much the most important i think, cause its the one once they get yea they got yea,,, also iam trying to see if i can get a deal from V1 and for the 8500 i work at bestbuy right now so its like 180 for red display and 203 for blue display (SYP answear)

SYP: iam at bestbuy for the discount and iam waiting on some dealerships to hit me up soon. I dont wanna be a tire tech or BS guy right now i wanted more of a real thing,,, family hyundai is sapose to pickin me up soon "when they go union: so another month,
I joined BB cause i worked at circuit city and easy in, plus discount is nuts ask eric whole install kit for under 40 bucks!
 

PANDA

Well-known member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
34,200
Reaction score
25
Location
FRG
the V1 has the best laser mode thats pretty much the most important i think, cause its the one once they get yea they got yea,,, also iam trying to see if i can get a deal from V1 and for the 8500 i work at bestbuy right now so its like 180 for red display and 203 for blue display (SYP answear)

SYP: iam at bestbuy for the discount and iam waiting on some dealerships to hit me up soon. I dont wanna be a tire tech or BS guy right now i wanted more of a real thing,,, family hyundai is sapose to pickin me up soon "when they go union: so another month,
I joined BB cause i worked at circuit city and easy in, plus discount is nuts ask eric whole install kit for under 40 bucks!
I dont get hit with Laser very offten, cops around here mostly use KA or K. If you work at best buy and can get the 8500 for $180 do that, why would you spend almost double for the V1.
 

bigsammoe

Well-known member
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
1,155
Reaction score
0
Location
Gurnee
the V1 has proven to me its godness and its smaller the 8500 is pretty huge good size brick!
 

Xtant12

Well-known member
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
3,265
Reaction score
0
I dont want to read all of this, it is a LOT... BUT get the PASPORT.. you'll never look BACK... Trust me, its worth the money... ;)
 

Fish

From the mean streets....
Joined
Aug 3, 2007
Messages
36,117
Reaction score
21
Location
Chiraq
Originally posted by vipermike2002@Oct 10 2006, 10:01 AM
My SHITTY whistler has detected a cop a mile away. From crossing the 290 bridge on Devon all the way to the Dairy Queen past arlington heights.

I stand firm. Do NOT waste money on expensive radars.
:lolsign: Whistler, thats gotta be the most shitty radar you could buy. How do you even know your radar was picking up the same signal for that long? It was actualy probably picking up false alarms from Jewel, Domnicks, Gas stations, etc, because thats all a cheap low end radar is good for. Like I said before I had a cheap $100 Cobra 9180 before and I thought it worked great untill I forked over $300 and bought a 8500 and realized it was like a whole new world. On some highway trips when there is a cop in the middle clocking my Escort goes off minutes before, yes minutes before I see a the cop. I read online that it has about a 7 mile range on a strait level road.

http://www.radartest.com/article.asp?articleid=1064

Fish I suggest you barrow a high end radar from someone and put it to your own test. Because every low end radar that I or one of my friends has owned just picks up nothing but false signals and when there is a cop you can see him before the radar goes off.
[snapback]142085[/snapback]​
Have you even been down Devon crossing 290?? Theres NOTHING. I drive that route daily. And get no false alarms down that road. So dont tell me I dont know what Im talking about. Again. Like every other thread.

Ive said what I had to say. Fuck expensive radars. SPend your money on paying off a ticket instead of something that will just tell you your getting one.
 

Fish

From the mean streets....
Joined
Aug 3, 2007
Messages
36,117
Reaction score
21
Location
Chiraq
Originally posted by LPSPEED2@Oct 10 2006, 06:46 PM
DONT MAKE FISH ANGRY!!! HE WILL TURN YOU INTO A .GIF!!!
[snapback]142198[/snapback]​
:lolsign:

Nah, I SKULL FUCK PEOPLE!!!!
 

PANDA

Well-known member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
34,200
Reaction score
25
Location
FRG
Have you even been down Devon crossing 290?? Theres NOTHING. I drive that route daily. And get no false alarms down that road. So dont tell me I dont know what Im talking about. Again. Like every other thread.
Im sorry but I dont see where Devon crosses 290. Devon goes under 294, over 94 and over 53 but not anywhere near 290. :unsure:
 

LPSPEED2

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 10, 2008
Messages
1,447
Reaction score
0
Location
Addison
by 290... he means 53... we, western suburbanites call it all 290, 355, or 53 for that stretch... to us its all the same.
 

Fish

From the mean streets....
Joined
Aug 3, 2007
Messages
36,117
Reaction score
21
Location
Chiraq
Actually, for someone that has probably lived in this area longer then me, Im suprised Mike doesnt know there are 2 Devons. The one I am refering to starts at Rowling and ends at Ohare. And it goes over 290. Since 53 ends at Woodfield and 290 starts there.

In closing, dont get short with me Mr. Frodo.
 

PANDA

Well-known member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
34,200
Reaction score
25
Location
FRG
Actually, for someone that has probably lived in this area longer then my, Im suprised Mike doesnt know there are 2 Devons. The one I am refering to starts at Rowling and ends at Ohare. And it goes over 290. Since 53 ends at Woodfield and 290 starts there.

In closing, dont get short with me Mr. Frodo.
I know there are two Devons. Both on the east and west sides of the airport. I guess you could call that strech 290 where Devon crosses but I believe 290 starts at the 53/290/355 split.

<This is the end of me talking about this, topic is about radars>
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Top Bottom