Question about 7/8th chain

Xtant12

Well-known member
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
3,265
Reaction score
1
Hey guys, when I did my transmission I was told to change to the 7/8th chain I believe. Is that right or am I getting my notes wrong?
 

10sec

I haz dat teddy bear smile.
Donating Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
23,351
Reaction score
121
I would have no idea why you wouldn't :dunno:
 

Xtant12

Well-known member
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
3,265
Reaction score
1
So the 7/8th is it. I was asked yesterday if I changed them out. I know I had them changed to something and was thinking it was 7/8th but just was not sure. I looked through my notes and I just found something that said dont forget 7/8 chain.
 

10sec

I haz dat teddy bear smile.
Donating Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
23,351
Reaction score
121
They have stock gear ratios for the 7/8th chain, just FYI, no tune is needed. However, I'm sure he has the capability to make the proper changes to the computer as needed.
 

98GrandPrixIraqVet

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 26, 2015
Messages
14,069
Reaction score
78
Location
Nowheresville North Dakota
X2 tune only needed if going to different gear ratio example

My 98 GTP stock had 2.93s it has 3.29s now in a TEP stage 2 valve body input and output shafts upgraded and 7/8s chain.

Another heads up from what I recall the 7/8s after market hyvo chains stretch, the chains use in the GXP are more prone to break from shock but don't stretch as much as the hyvo ones....
 

Xtant12

Well-known member
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
3,265
Reaction score
1
Yeah I had the gearing changed to the 3.29
 

Angus

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 12, 2007
Messages
11,603
Reaction score
3
Location
Bentonville, Arkansas
Yes, change out the 7/8ths chain as they stretch... (which in my opinion, is better than the chain just breaking). And when they stretch, they'll take out the input speed sensor reluctor wheel, and then the trans will go into "f-it mode"





 

10sec

I haz dat teddy bear smile.
Donating Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
23,351
Reaction score
121
BTW, for anyone that happens to and you're out driving, unplug the trans electrical and it'll go into limp mode where it's only in 3rd gear. That's what Trannyman told me to do when my car was acting a fool.
 

Xtant12

Well-known member
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
3,265
Reaction score
1
How do you disconnect this? Just pull a fuse?
 

10sec

I haz dat teddy bear smile.
Donating Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
23,351
Reaction score
121
There's a connector on the drivers side top of the transmission. Unplug that and it should go into limp mode.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Top Bottom