OEM Hids turn off after a minute.

SKYLINE

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 21, 2013
Messages
427
Reaction score
0
I recently changed the d2s bulbs on my 08 Mazda 3, With OEM Hid headlights.
After a minute of being on, they turn off. I turn the switch off and on and they turn back on. But turn off again. What could be causing this!?

It was a pain to change them, since I had to remove bumper cover.
 

Intel

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
4,799
Reaction score
72
Location
Palatine
what bulb did you change from and to? Sounds like the ballasts are overheating and turning off.
 

SKYLINE

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 21, 2013
Messages
427
Reaction score
0
The old ones don't have a brand name. Same with the new ones I got from Amazon. :/
 

Intel

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
4,799
Reaction score
72
Location
Palatine
well if they are both doing it I would check the relay also as that should be simple.
 

SMRTSS1

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
3,196
Reaction score
60
Location
Elgin
Theretrofitsource.com

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ Get new bulbs from them.
 

SKYLINE

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 21, 2013
Messages
427
Reaction score
0
Theretrofitsource.com

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ Get new bulbs from them.
I just ordered some 6000k Philips bulbs. Thanks you tho! Hopefully it's the bulbs.

I'm also apologizing to anyone who sees me at night since I will be driving with high beams until I get new bulbs. Lol
 

SMRTSS1

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
3,196
Reaction score
60
Location
Elgin
If the bulbs were bad enough they could've fried the ballasts by them overheating and shutting off. Just so you're ready for what might come.
 

SKYLINE

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 21, 2013
Messages
427
Reaction score
0
If the bulbs were bad enough they could've fried the ballasts by them overheating and shutting off. Just so you're ready for what might come.
Why do you have to scare me like that? Lol $300 for OEM ballast.

These newer car suck, with all their electronic crap.

I miss my s13, I could take it apart my self without having to worry about screwing something up that's going to cost my +500$.
 

GoldPanther

Ford Love
Donating Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2013
Messages
2,235
Reaction score
47
Location
O'Hare
I don't know if your car has a lighting control module or if it has a relay for the headlights. You should totally check for power when the light turns off. It could be a weak relay.
 

SKYLINE

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 21, 2013
Messages
427
Reaction score
0
I don't know if your car has a lighting control module or if it has a relay for the headlights. You should totally check for power when the light turns off. It could be a weak relay.
The ballast is the lighting control module. And I literally can't find the relay for the headlights wtf :/
 

Intel

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
4,799
Reaction score
72
Location
Palatine
have you swapped the bulbs you know work back in yet?
 

GoldPanther

Ford Love
Donating Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2013
Messages
2,235
Reaction score
47
Location
O'Hare
Sky, the ballast just can't be the lighting module, at least that's what I think.
When you turn on your headlights switch, from the lights switch it send a command to another module (a module or a relay), then it will turn on your ballast.
Is this happening to both of your headlights or just on one side?
If it's just one side I will suspect of a bad ballast or whatever is behind it like a relay.
 

SKYLINE

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 21, 2013
Messages
427
Reaction score
0
Sky, the ballast just can't be the lighting module, at least that's what I think.
When you turn on your headlights switch, from the lights switch it send a command to another module (a module or a relay), then it will turn on your ballast.
Is this happening to both of your headlights or just on one side?
If it's just one side I will suspect of a bad ballast or whatever is behind it like a relay.
This car is weird lol.



They have the ballast listed as the lighting control module.

And both headlights go off at the same time.
 

GoldPanther

Ford Love
Donating Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2013
Messages
2,235
Reaction score
47
Location
O'Hare
Lol try getting the wiring diagram. Some people here have access to Mitchell on demand and all data. All you have to do is ask for it.
 

SKYLINE

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 21, 2013
Messages
427
Reaction score
0
I just installed the new bulbs and problem is fixed! Sweet lol kinda weird tho
 

Turbocharged400sbc

Welllllllllll ya knowwwwwww.....
Joined
Jun 16, 2007
Messages
26,499
Reaction score
12
Location
hangover park IL
newer cars/units (even low end models) have onboard diagnostics that are tied to the CAN bus, the body/chassis computer probably has a code stored if you had a good scanner.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Top Bottom