Need Towing Advice

JerryLSX

Reaction score
I'm picking up a truck tomorrow and need some advice on towing it home. I'm using a tow dolly behind my father's 2001 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab. It's a 4.7L V8 with 4x4 so should have enough power to pull. The truck I'm towing on the dolly is a 1997 Dodge Dakota Regular Cab V8 4x4.

Now.... would it be okay to pull it in Neutral

OR

Do I remove the driveshaft and hang it up on the body.

I was told it's a bad idea to tow a vehicle in Neutral because it ruins the transmission.

OP
JerryLSX

JerryLSX

Reaction score
is there a way to put the transfer case in neutral?
Yes, there's a 4H, 4L, and N position like post old 4x4 trucks. My only fear is not being able to loosen the bolts. I got a can of WD-40, a breaker bar, cordless impact, and limited patience lol.

I gotta tow it from Lake Geneva, WI to Hammond, IN.

So maybe taking the drive shaft out maybe a safe bet. It's my first time towing anything to be honest.

bikrboy128

Some say.....
Reaction score
i wouldnt risk it. chances are with the t-case in neutral it will be fine for a short distance, but that's not a chance i'd take.
the bolts holding the u-joints in may look rusty, but they usually come out no problem.

OP
JerryLSX

JerryLSX

Reaction score
i wouldnt risk it. chances are with the t-case in neutral it will be fine for a short distance, but that's not a chance i'd take.
the bolts holding the u-joints in may look rusty, but they usually come out no problem.
I was testing how to remove the drive shaft on my dad's truck, it was pretty hard. The rust really holds it tight, but I know enough leverage will break it loose.

OP
JerryLSX

JerryLSX

Reaction score
Pull driveshaft. Last resort double neutral.
What i'll do is attempt to remove the drive shaft.

If I can't get the bolts loose i'll double Neutral it to a shop with an air impact. My Ryobi cordless impact is only a 3/8 drive. Doesn't have much power.

ilikemtb999

I eat dirt
Donating Member
Reaction score