• Hi Guest, welcome to TCG 2.0. Please refer to the FAQ in User Support before you do anything else. It will make the transition MUCH easier.

    IF YOU ARE SEEING AN "OOPS" ERROR PAGE, IT IS LIKELY BECAUSE YOUR BROWSER HAS NOT UPDATED YOUR CACHE. YOU CAN EITHER CLICK FORUMS AT THE TOP LEFT OR VISIT THECHICAGOGARAGE.COM AND BOOKMARK THAT. - Love, Mook

MAF

GTwolf

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 11, 2009
Messages
3,417
Reaction score
0
My MAF is bad, I was told to just unplug it till I get my new one because running rich is better than running lean. Just thought I'd make sure this is a good idea before I go outside and do it.
 

bikrboy128

Some say.....
Joined
Jul 15, 2007
Messages
10,619
Reaction score
27
Location
Wheaton
yeah, if it's bad and causing the car to run lean then it would be best to unplug it.
unplugging it wont do any harm to the engine.
 

Yaj Yak

Harbor Master
Donating Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
89,418
Reaction score
250
this is a horid idea imo.
 

DanJoy

Well-known member
Super Moderator
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
28,262
Reaction score
74
Location
Aurora
especially modded. I'm pretty sure unplugging your maf makes the PCM rely on the VE table and unless Fastkatt also changed those for you they are most likely pretty far off.
 

The Broken Regal

BITE BITE, SIP SIP
Joined
Jun 26, 2007
Messages
14,726
Reaction score
14
Location
Wheaton
inb4someonesays"thisiswhyVEtuneissoimportant"

lol

but yea, i mean if you HAVE to drive you, ya have too... but if not, and can get a ride or a new one asap, get that on!

i remember on my white car I unplugged it cause the AFC on there was messing up and I was trying to trouble shoot it or something, who knows it was a looooong time ago, but yea, never did a VE tune and the car had a mind of its own with the MAF unplugged
 

GTwolf

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 11, 2009
Messages
3,417
Reaction score
0
It's got a GTP VE table I believe, fastkatt would have to chime in if it's any different, but I'm pretty sure that's what it is. So youguys are saying I shouldn't even be driving it with the bad maf?
 

PANDA

Well-known member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
34,200
Reaction score
25
Location
FRG
If you have no other way in getting around, Id unplug it. Im sure its fine to drive around, just don't drive aggressive. The car should run using the VE table. My car drives fine with maf unplugged just rich as balls.
 

GTwolf

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 11, 2009
Messages
3,417
Reaction score
0
Yeah, that's what I heard, that it would run really rich, but running rich is better than running lean like it is now.
Man I wish I knew it was this big of a deal, I've been beating the crap out of it for like 2 weeks now.
 

ilikemtb999

I eat dirt
Donating Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2007
Messages
69,054
Reaction score
196
Location
Denver, CO
have you tried cleaning it? do GP MAF's actually fail? they're just wires....
 

10sec

I haz dat teddy bear smile.
Donating Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
23,211
Reaction score
35
Man I wish I knew it was this big of a deal, I've been beating the crap out of it for like 2 weeks now.
:ugh:

VE tuning is still useless.
 

GTwolf

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 11, 2009
Messages
3,417
Reaction score
0
did it fix it?
Meh, it helped, but no theres still an issue and I'm still throwing a code. I was thinking maybe front o2, but wouldn't that be throwing a code if it were bad? Or a vac leak? I'm also gotting about 12ish MPG if that helps. I have no idea where to go from here, any ideas what this could be?
 

Yaj Yak

Harbor Master
Donating Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
89,418
Reaction score
250
whats the code again?

12mpg?



im betting vac leak...
 

GTwolf

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 11, 2009
Messages
3,417
Reaction score
0
whats the code again?

12mpg?



im betting vac leak...
Yeah, that thing fuckin rapes gas. It's almost undriveable.
Idr what the number was, but it said system too lean on bank one.
 

Yaj Yak

Harbor Master
Donating Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
89,418
Reaction score
250
u got school all day tomorrow right? i might be able to look at it thurs night if not sat morn...
 

GTwolf

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 11, 2009
Messages
3,417
Reaction score
0
u got school all day tomorrow right? i might be able to look at it thurs night if not sat morn...
I'm not going tomorrow so I'll be good all day. If not yeah thursday or saturday works.
 

Yaj Yak

Harbor Master
Donating Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
89,418
Reaction score
250
ill text u if i got time to look at it tomorrow--- gotta do quite a bit but might have some time.. .ill let you know.
 

GTwolf

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 11, 2009
Messages
3,417
Reaction score
0
ill text u if i got time to look at it tomorrow--- gotta do quite a bit but might have some time.. .ill let you know.
Yeah that'd be awesome. Just let me know. I'll start looking around in the morning and let you know if I see anything right away. If we find something I think I still have some extra vac line, ordered a T line from GM and they ended up sending me 3 Ts and quite a bit of line, so I've got some extra now.
 

ilikemtb999

I eat dirt
Donating Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2007
Messages
69,054
Reaction score
196
Location
Denver, CO
Bust out the brake cleaner and start spraying around. If you have a vacuum leak you'll find it.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Top Bottom