• Hi Guest, welcome to TCG 2.0. Please refer to the FAQ in User Support before you do anything else. It will make the transition MUCH easier.

    IF YOU ARE SEEING AN "OOPS" ERROR PAGE, IT IS LIKELY BECAUSE YOUR BROWSER HAS NOT UPDATED YOUR CACHE. YOU CAN EITHER CLICK FORUMS AT THE TOP LEFT OR VISIT THECHICAGOGARAGE.COM AND BOOKMARK THAT. - Love, Mook

maf sensor

smug

Please go back to eating crayons
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
7,063
Reaction score
2
Location
Cedar Lake, IN
I got a maf sensor off a 2004 Chevy Silverado 1500 with the 5.3L V8 and want to know if i can use it on the GTP. Of course ill need the powertuner , already have that covered. Whats the code name for it, LQ4???
 

[email protected]

Somebody buy this thing
Joined
Nov 26, 2007
Messages
2,871
Reaction score
0
you will need an adaptor to plug into it, because that MAF has a 5 wire input, whereas the stock is 3 wire. You can get that adaptor from ZZP or Caspers.


MT
 

Sinister Drag Designs

SinisterDragDesigns.com
Joined
Aug 3, 2007
Messages
4,876
Reaction score
0
Location
Chicago, IL
mat is right on with that.
but wasnt there a way to use the IAT in the LQ4 maf to hook up to our stock IAT(crazy kids and there IATs) so we can can get rid of the stock sensor
 

Turbocharged400sbc

Welllllllllll ya knowwwwwww.....
Joined
Jun 16, 2007
Messages
26,499
Reaction score
12
Location
hangover park IL
Originally posted by SINr247@Sep 21 2006, 03:47 PM
mat is right on with that.
but wasnt there a way to use the IAT in the LQ4 maf to hook up to our stock IAT(crazy kids and there IATs)  so we can can get rid of the stock sensor
[snapback]140229[/snapback]​
yeah that was easy on eric's riv
i just used my terminal removal tool popped the pins outta the IAT connector and slid em in the 3-5wire adaptor and plugged uin the 3 wire voila done

and no more pesky remote IAT ;)

fwiw you can use a small dia paperclip too but be carefull

btw yeah thats whats called the lq4
there's a csv of the Lq4 on the PT site, i just copied it onto a MAF table and resaved it as LQ4, the maf tunes really havent altered the LQ4 table much...
 

smug

Please go back to eating crayons
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
7,063
Reaction score
2
Location
Cedar Lake, IN
what size rubber couplers and pipe do i need to buy to use the maf sensor? Can I use it with the stock throttle body and epoxy the whole shut do should i just look for a N*? If I buy a N* off ebay or something where can i get the adaptor kit fot it?
 

Sinister Drag Designs

SinisterDragDesigns.com
Joined
Aug 3, 2007
Messages
4,876
Reaction score
0
Location
Chicago, IL
well zzps kit doesnt use any epoxy. just a block off plate. you can epoxy it for a smoother entrance,it sup to you. Nominal gain if any,tho turbulance would be an issue i would think. If your sticking with the Eaton i would go N*. for the most part the L67 TB is fine. a port and polishing would help it but for the cost i would just upgrade to a bigger one.

N*'s seem to have better resale value also(and more desired)
3.5 coupler from TB to MAF
3.5 coupler from maf to intake(depending on the intake), some people use a bend here but it is unneeded
tho i think a 3.75 would of been alot better fit from the maf to intake on the one i did
you can get the zzp one that comes with the kit,or you could get intense/zzp intake tubing and make shift it from there

piping will depend on your intake, tho if anything you should just be extending your current one,not adding pipe
 

[email protected]

Somebody buy this thing
Joined
Nov 26, 2007
Messages
2,871
Reaction score
0
N* TB has a 4" inlet. The MAF has a 3.5" outlet, so you'll want a 3.5-4" reducer for TB to MAF. The inlet of the MAF is 4" so 4" coupler to 4" pipe is best.


MT
 

Sinister Drag Designs

SinisterDragDesigns.com
Joined
Aug 3, 2007
Messages
4,876
Reaction score
0
Location
Chicago, IL
Originally posted by FastGS88@Sep 24 2006, 02:30 AM
N* TB has a 4" inlet.  The MAF has a 3.5" outlet, so you'll want a 3.5-4" reducer for TB to MAF.  The inlet of the MAF is 4" so 4" coupler to 4" pipe is best.


MT
[snapback]140548[/snapback]​
the sizing was for 85m maf and l67 TB(should of clarified that)
like i said i made one with those parts and only neded ones i listed
the maf is odd size i tried a 4 and seemed to loose(clamp or not)` and a 3.5 was a little too snug but fit(just took some playing with to get on perfect
that was just my results
there is a great place in franklin park called area 1 motorsprorts, they have most sizes in stock. that reducer if you use the N* is uncommon and might want to call ahead on. otherwise turbohoses.com is great, just alittle pricey but has everything you will need
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Top Bottom