Just updated our media embedding plugin - let me know if anything is broked


Mook

Mr. Manager
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 23, 2007
Posts
180,704
Reaction score
23,124
Location
Elgin
Been awhile since I last updated it. Shouldnt break anything but let me know if anything is out of sorts.

Thanks,
Management
 
OP
Mook

Mook

Mr. Manager
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 23, 2007
Posts
180,704
Reaction score
23,124
Location
Elgin
Twitter works, YouTube works. Some links themselves won't give the "rich preview" and it's been like that since we swapped to Xen.
 
OP
Mook

Mook

Mr. Manager
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 23, 2007
Posts
180,704
Reaction score
23,124
Location
Elgin
Your links didn't embed, however. I'll check when I get on my computer in a few.
 
OP
Mook

Mook

Mr. Manager
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 23, 2007
Posts
180,704
Reaction score
23,124
Location
Elgin
on iOS I can never get embedded Facebook videos to play
The site's core software remains unchanged since we moved to Xen. If I had to guess, and I always give this reply, its a problem with Safari.
 
OP
Mook

Mook

Mr. Manager
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 23, 2007
Posts
180,704
Reaction score
23,124
Location
Elgin
 
OP
Mook

Mook

Mr. Manager
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 23, 2007
Posts
180,704
Reaction score
23,124
Location
Elgin
 
OP
Mook

Mook

Mr. Manager
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 23, 2007
Posts
180,704
Reaction score
23,124
Location
Elgin
The YT and Twitter links you shared embed just fine when I post the links. Strange. Are you just posting straight links?
 
OP
Mook

Mook

Mr. Manager
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 23, 2007
Posts
180,704
Reaction score
23,124
Location
Elgin
OP
Mook

Mook

Mr. Manager
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 23, 2007
Posts
180,704
Reaction score
23,124
Location
Elgin
All 3 of your links embed for me :dunno:
 

Yaj Yak

Harbor Master
Donating Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Posts
105,907
Reaction score
23,824
1609769705253.png



looks good on my end
 
OP
Mook

Mook

Mr. Manager
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 23, 2007
Posts
180,704
Reaction score
23,124
Location
Elgin
Ew, light style?
 
OP
Mook

Mook

Mr. Manager
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 23, 2007
Posts
180,704
Reaction score
23,124
Location
Elgin

nytebyte

Not Politically Correct
Joined
Mar 2, 2004
Posts
10,245
Reaction score
4,545
All your links are being posted using the URL tags. how are you posting these?
I'm copying them from the address bar of the browser and pasting them into the quick reply edit window.
It might be the browser that's doing this. Let me test something...



Yep, as I suspected, it's the browser. When I copy something out of the address bar, it's not just copying the text, even though that's all it shows. It must be putting in the URL tags somehow. In the above link, I copied the link out of the address bar as usual, but then pasted it into Notepad, then re-copied it out of notepad and pasted it here. It then works correctly since Notepad can only accept text. I'm going to dig through the browser settings to see if I can identify anything that might be doing this. So, it doesn't appear to be Xen after all, but some recent change to the Chromium browser.

Edit: Yep, found it. It's right there in the settings under Share, Copy and Paste. I don't recall seeing this before, or it must have defaulted to "Plain Text" and they changed it.

1609775443978.png
 
OP
Mook

Mook

Mr. Manager
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 23, 2007
Posts
180,704
Reaction score
23,124
Location
Elgin
What browser? Is this on a computer or phone?
 

nytebyte

Not Politically Correct
Joined
Mar 2, 2004
Posts
10,245
Reaction score
4,545
This is the Chromium version of Edge on Windows 10. The setting doesn't appear to be on the phones in the Google Chrome browser, at least not on an Android.
 
OP
Mook

Mook

Mr. Manager
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 23, 2007
Posts
180,704
Reaction score
23,124
Location
Elgin
If you have Chrome installed, give that a try for copy / pasting.
 

nytebyte

Not Politically Correct
Joined
Mar 2, 2004
Posts
10,245
Reaction score
4,545
Changing that setting fixed the issue in the Edge version of Chrome.
 
OP
Mook

Mook

Mr. Manager
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 23, 2007
Posts
180,704
Reaction score
23,124
Location
Elgin
So youre all good?
 
OP
Mook

Mook

Mr. Manager
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 23, 2007
Posts
180,704
Reaction score
23,124
Location
Elgin
Updated again. Instagram Reels should now properly embed.
 
OP
Mook

Mook

Mr. Manager
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 23, 2007
Posts
180,704
Reaction score
23,124
Location
Elgin
They will embed and show a preview but you'll need to click through to watch. Better than nothing.

 
OP
Mook

Mook

Mr. Manager
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 23, 2007
Posts
180,704
Reaction score
23,124
Location
Elgin
Got the dev to update the media plugin to include FB watch URLs.

 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Top Bottom