BUILD Jeff's Cookie Cutter Kitty and Porsche Killer Mustang GT

LikeABauce302

TCG Elite Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2013
Posts
4,014
Reaction score
4,003
Location
South suburbs
Definitely get a cheap Bluetooth OBDII adapter and buy the Torque app. You can monitor emissions readiness in the app. At least then you won't waste your time and you can take it back once you know all monitors are set to ready.
 
TS
TS
Jeffs FRC

Jeffs FRC

TCG Elite Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2006
Posts
4,898
Reaction score
2,588
Location
Lakemoor, IL
Definitely get a cheap Bluetooth OBDII adapter and buy the Torque app. You can monitor emissions readiness in the app. At least then you won't waste your time and you can take it back once you know all monitors are set to ready.
Johnny 01Cobra 01Cobra has an OBD reader he’s going to let me use. Gonna grab it from him on Friday when I’m back from this convention I’m at.
 

Pro Stock John

Lord Mc'Graybush
Joined
Sep 20, 2011
Posts
4,781
Reaction score
2,889
Location
The 60618
My 5th runs a big cam and no cats and passes. It's all in the tune Rent Free Rent Free .

Jeff you can also edit some tables so that the car can be reflashed and will pass without driving it.
 

Pressure Ratio

....
Donating Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2005
Posts
18,065
Reaction score
2,422
Location
Glen Ellyn
My 5th runs a big cam and no cats and passes. It's all in the tune Rent Free Rent Free .

Jeff you can also edit some tables so that the car can be reflashed and will pass without driving it.
I assume you use HP? That's totally different for Chevy stuff. And supposedly changing if not changed already.
 

Tight Lines

TCG Elite Member
Donating Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2014
Posts
2,088
Reaction score
536
Location
Missouri
When I ran no Cats in IL on my 2011 500 it passed no problems on a tune. Once I went cat free on my 2014 I could not get it to pass using the same tuner saying nothing with the emissions was messed with same as the 2011. I drove the 2014 over 400 miles to try to get systems ready and it never happened. I swapped out the throttle body, threw the stock tune on and literally drove to work and back and all systems were ready. Got tested and passed. Btw, this was also with the same spacers on o2’s as you have.
 

Rent Free

TCG Elite Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2015
Posts
21,303
Reaction score
6,434
Location
Nowheresville North Dakota
My 5th runs a big cam and no cats and passes. It's all in the tune Rent Free Rent Free .

Jeff you can also edit some tables so that the car can be reflashed and will pass without driving it.

Unless he changes the current tune and goes back to whatever it passed with previously I doubt it will pass.

SCT is pretty old on the S550 platform and I promise you he cant edit anything since PBDs got the tune locked.
 

Dave M

TCG Elite Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2015
Posts
1,740
Reaction score
2,361
Location
Gurnee
When I ran no Cats in IL on my 2011 500 it passed no problems on a tune. Once I went cat free on my 2014 I could not get it to pass using the same tuner saying nothing with the emissions was messed with same as the 2011. I drove the 2014 over 400 miles to try to get systems ready and it never happened. I swapped out the throttle body, threw the stock tune on and literally drove to work and back and all systems were ready. Got tested and passed. Btw, this was also with the same spacers on o2’s as you have.

Same, I had the spacers, all O2’s were on, drove 600 miles and still couldn’t get it to go ready.
 

Tight Lines

TCG Elite Member
Donating Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2014
Posts
2,088
Reaction score
536
Location
Missouri
Was able to email my tooner and he sent me an emissions tune for both E85 and 93, but he said sometimes the monitors don’t like to switch to “ready” on E85. So might have to go back to 93 to get it to pass.
I was also emailed an ”Emissions tune” and sensors wouldn’t go ready. I never used corn either.

When having these issues it was brought to my attention that when everything happened with EPA there was some behind the scenes cookies added to any tune no matter what, even if the emissions were left alone, that would not allow full readiness. I can’t prove this but seems to be very possible when researching this issue post 2014, 2015.

My good friend had a 2013 GT500 as well, his tune was from 2013 and he passed, got an update in 2015 and he failed emissions. He reloaded the 2013 tune and passed.

Wish you luck!
 
TS
TS
Jeffs FRC

Jeffs FRC

TCG Elite Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2006
Posts
4,898
Reaction score
2,588
Location
Lakemoor, IL
I was also emailed an ”Emissions tune” and sensors wouldn’t go ready. I never used corn either.

When having these issues it was brought to my attention that when everything happened with EPA there was some behind the scenes cookies added to any tune no matter what, even if the emissions were left alone, that would not allow full readiness. I can’t prove this but seems to be very possible when researching this issue post 2014, 2015.

My good friend had a 2013 GT500 as well, his tune was from 2013 and he passed, got an update in 2015 and he failed emissions. He reloaded the 2013 tune and passed.

Wish you luck!
Well honestly if that happens, I’ll take the time to fill out the exemption paperwork and go that route. Only reason I’m not doing it this time is because they made it a bit harder.
 

strtcar

Regular
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Posts
306
Reaction score
723
Haven't driven it in weeks! Closing on new house this Thursday and then moving. I just don't have time to even think about this thing right now. Probably should just take advise from a wise man and sell it. Cut my losses now :ROFLMAO:
part out, I'll take that emissions killing blower...
 

The Beast

Forum Sponsor
Joined
May 24, 2004
Posts
23,296
Reaction score
8,128
giphy.gif
 

Dr. Jimbo

TCG Elite Member
Donating Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Posts
20,081
Reaction score
8,152
Lies. Demod sale incoming.
Wouldn't be worth the gap. They'd want to give him 45-47k on a trade-in for an unmodded vehicle. Parts sale wouldn't net the difference, well, maybe the lug nuts would :)
 
Top Bottom