James, call me when your awake

daturbosix

Forum Sponsor
TCG Sponsor
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
11,773
Reaction score
162
Location
Aurora
Asshole, who sleeps this late

----------------------------------------------------------------

symptoms are as follows...
-charger belt/pensioner broke and sent the belt flying
-another shop repaired that
-now it will start then immediately die like your turning the key to off, 5 seconds later
-no current or previous codes
-limited data(so says the previous shop)
-no change when unplugging maf, iac, iat, map, tps
-we have fuel pressure with KOEO, once started, when it dies, fuel pressure drops off... is something telling the pump to turn off???
 

Burtonrider10022

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 25, 2008
Messages
13,048
Reaction score
15
Location
Milwaukee, WI
I generally know that people aren't referring to me when they make threads about James, but it's worth noting that I'm wondering if it is me this time because I just woke up...
 

Gypsy

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
7,117
Reaction score
0
I did check with the shop that had it prior to Goodfellas and they claimed to have checked fuse.
 

02BlueGT

No Fucks Have Been Given
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
9,918
Reaction score
3
Location
Now apearing in Hanover Park
Things to check/ places to look with those symptoms in mind:

Vacuum Tee under blower snout

Ground on strut tower under fuse box

Fuse box itself, fuses may be ok, but the wires under/inside may have been hit :dunno:

Wire Harness, it runs both behind the motor (level with PS pump IIRC) and over the radiator in line with the belt.

ICM and ICM harness as it runs in belt area

Crank Pos Sensor and Cam Pos Sensor, also in belt area.




Hope that helps.

[MENTION=945]daturbosix[/MENTION]
 

daturbosix

Forum Sponsor
TCG Sponsor
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
11,773
Reaction score
162
Location
Aurora
so i can keep it running if i attempt to hover RPMs around 3000... it still lurches, but i can keep it alive. but it REAKS of fuel while doing this.

no changes with unplugging maf, iac, iat, tps, map.
plug wires are on correctly
no blown fuses
no damage to wiring harness
backside of fuse panel looks untouched
ICM and ICM harness look untouched

havent checked the vacuum line yet, or cam/crank.
but it still starts quick, highly doubt cam/crank problem.
 

Mike K

Forum Sponsor
Joined
Apr 11, 2008
Messages
12,804
Reaction score
23
I don't see where the symptoms were listed but with the limited info I do see my first instinct would be to pull fuse 21 under hood and verify that's good, especially if unplugging the MAF isn't having any affect.

It's been a while but if I remember correctly the MAF shares a common ground with a lot of the other sensors there.
 

1quick

Well-known member
Donating Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
19,822
Reaction score
289
Location
coal city
so whats it doing it just dosnt want to stay running?
 

daturbosix

Forum Sponsor
TCG Sponsor
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
11,773
Reaction score
162
Location
Aurora
It starts normally, then 5 seconds later cuts out as if u clicked the key off, but if I tickle the throttle to about 3000rpm it will stay running(but surge) until I stop, then die like turning the key off, and when I do that there is a STRONG fuel smell
 

deviantlx

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 20, 2008
Messages
1,812
Reaction score
5
It starts normally, then 5 seconds later cuts out as if u clicked the key off, but if I tickle the throttle to about 3000rpm it will stay running(but surge) until I stop, then die like turning the key off, and when I do that there is a STRONG fuel smell


fuel pressure regulator? check the oil level and see how high up the stick it is from washing the cylinders with fuel. thats a good indicator it went bad.
 

ilikemtb999

I eat dirt
Donating Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2007
Messages
69,196
Reaction score
348
Location
Denver, CO
Fuel pump resistor? I remember when they go it'll die after a few seconds but can't remember if you can keep it going with the throttle.....


This was the temp fix (though I ran it like this for years)

 

1quick

Well-known member
Donating Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
19,822
Reaction score
289
Location
coal city
just for shits ground the bolt on the trans that has a few ground wires on it to the body of the car a nice clean spot, just a couple aligator clip jumper wires should do, make sure the battery ground is bonded to the block and the block to the body, i had a bad ground that acted like that
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Top Bottom