HPTuners 3.0 users step in!

Eagle

Nemo me impune lacessit
Super Moderator
Joined
Mar 1, 2008
Messages
62,578
Reaction score
75
Location
Woodsticks, IL
Just installed 3.0 and licensed up the Z06!

I'm exploring around the updated Scanner and Editor, learning about VVE in the newer PCMs and trying to figure out if the old way of scanning (what I learned and applied to LS1 MAF and VE tuning). Seems like much of the stuff is the same, but I'm still reading up on the virtual VE tweaking.

Considering a WB O2 because I know that makes tuning on LS1 motors easy peezy and from what I read, looks like it does the same for LS2,3,7 etc.

Anyone else using 3.0 yet?

:jg:

Found a few custom E38 PCM configs today to get me started in the right direction so I don't have to create all the custom histograms (now called "layouts"). Here's the one for VE AFR Error as an example:

 

Yaj Yak

Harbor Master
Donating Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
90,368
Reaction score
1,291
do you sleep. ever.
 

10sec

I haz dat teddy bear smile.
Donating Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
23,520
Reaction score
243
That's cool that you're going to take it on yourself. I give this a 10sec approved :fy:
 

Eagle

Nemo me impune lacessit
Super Moderator
Joined
Mar 1, 2008
Messages
62,578
Reaction score
75
Location
Woodsticks, IL
do you sleep. ever.
A lil bit here and there! :D

That's cool that you're going to take it on yourself. I give this a 10sec approved :fy:
Let's not jump to conclusions yet. The car still has an appointment at Speed coming up at the end of the month... But much like the TA, it went on the rollers and had its tune adjusted a couple times... But I still went in and continued tweaking things afterwards.

It's a necessary evil to adjust a SD tuned car to get the most out of it depending on weather mainly, but also by fuel type.

I'm looking forward to getting my fingers E-dirty with HPT!
 

10sec

I haz dat teddy bear smile.
Donating Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
23,520
Reaction score
243
I loved doing it, GP's are way easier to do than what you're doing though. I just loved to see the car go from shit pig rich to just right, and at the same time feel the difference in how the car behaved during normal driving and WOT. Too much liability though to tune other peoples cars. :hs:
 

willizm

Ho fuckin Ho!
Joined
May 13, 2009
Messages
10,577
Reaction score
152
Location
Saint John, IN
I tried the new version of hpt but for whatever reason I had access to way less tables than I did with the older version. Since I'm tuning on a pcm that's not had a lot of Dev time for quite a while I decided to stick with the older version. All the fuel tables and values for injectors was not accessible along with VE. I didn't look to deep into it because there wasnt really anything I was gaining by running 3.0 so why ruin a good thing. You on the other hand probably have some nifty updates to take advantage of.
 

Eagle

Nemo me impune lacessit
Super Moderator
Joined
Mar 1, 2008
Messages
62,578
Reaction score
75
Location
Woodsticks, IL
Yeah, if you're still working LS1 tunes, nothing much to gain on 3.0.

Still a little sad they didn't include an "auto tune" function yet, but maybe soon.

VVE is something you get in 3.0 - but then again, I think they had it back in 2.24 also. :dunno:

I think I have versions of HPT saved back to maybe right when 2.0 came around? I've been playing with LS cars for years in HPT... come to think of it, might be 10 years this year! :eek4:
 

turtleman

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
642
Reaction score
4
Location
Villa Park, IL
It's just a stupid thing but it looks like they let you have more than one interface now which makes my life a bit easier - I use two hpt's (licenses for several cars i need to retain)
 

Bruce Jibboo

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 18, 2008
Messages
19,788
Reaction score
35
Location
Elgin
In for the auto tune :rofl:

Here go log and do X X and X, here's the tune, now go log again
 

Pewter-Camaro

Well-known member
Joined
May 28, 2011
Messages
2,097
Reaction score
38
Location
NW Chi town Suburbs
I have the latest version on my laptop that used to provide info to HPT on my EcoBoost Mustang. Sadly its a long ways away from being any good on the EcoBoost platform. I played around with 3.0 on the Camaro but there really is nothing else added to the latest version that is useful for the old LS1. I'm still going to use the old version on my old laptop for the Camaro.
 

Eagle

Nemo me impune lacessit
Super Moderator
Joined
Mar 1, 2008
Messages
62,578
Reaction score
75
Location
Woodsticks, IL
It's not impossible at all... I always wondered if someone paid HPT to NOT release the functionality they rumored would happen years ago.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Top Bottom