• Hi Guest, welcome to TCG 2.0. Please refer to the FAQ in User Support before you do anything else. It will make the transition MUCH easier.

    IF YOU ARE SEEING AN "OOPS" ERROR PAGE, IT IS LIKELY BECAUSE YOUR BROWSER HAS NOT UPDATED YOUR CACHE. YOU CAN EITHER CLICK FORUMS AT THE TOP LEFT OR VISIT THECHICAGOGARAGE.COM AND BOOKMARK THAT. - Love, Mook

G_T_P

PANDA

Well-known member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
34,200
Reaction score
25
Location
FRG
Explain brake boosting to me. Also, how does one do this in a SC'ed 3800. :dunno:
 

Mook

El Presidente
Admin
Joined
May 23, 2007
Messages
162,578
Reaction score
729
Location
Elgin
when rolling, hold the brake and give the car some gas to build boost. when desired boost is achieved, let off brakes. profit :dunno:
 

Mook

El Presidente
Admin
Joined
May 23, 2007
Messages
162,578
Reaction score
729
Location
Elgin
i never tried it in the gtp. worked well enough on my other cars (all manual)
 

Mook

El Presidente
Admin
Joined
May 23, 2007
Messages
162,578
Reaction score
729
Location
Elgin
didnt notice this was in the 3800 section :rofl:
 

PANDA

Well-known member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
34,200
Reaction score
25
Location
FRG
I was told this G_T_P guy does this. That's why im asking, I cant seem to think of a reason todo this on a SC'ed GTP.
 

Mike K

Forum Sponsor
TCG Sponsor
Joined
Apr 11, 2008
Messages
12,799
Reaction score
18
Turbo guys do this. I still think it's a bad idea. I have a decent amount of lag with my setup but boost still comes on pretty quick. It would never be worth it for me to sit there and cook my brakes right before I'm about to go wide open throttle...
 

10sec

I haz dat teddy bear smile.
Donating Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
23,210
Reaction score
32
Definitely, i pull like 2 cars on my friends 400whp neon if he just stabs it, but if he brake boosts we're dead even. Turbo lag sucks but it's fun as hell waiting for it to kick in.
 

ilikemtb999

I eat dirt
Donating Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2007
Messages
69,046
Reaction score
178
Location
Denver, CO
It's like a slingshot on my car instead of a gradual build of power. It can't be good for the clutch though... It takes alot of throttle and brake to build like half boost.
 

Mook

El Presidente
Admin
Joined
May 23, 2007
Messages
162,578
Reaction score
729
Location
Elgin
why would the clutch be affected? its not being used
 

ilikemtb999

I eat dirt
Donating Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2007
Messages
69,046
Reaction score
178
Location
Denver, CO
I would assume the brakes trying to stop the drivetrain and the engine trying to speed up the drivetrain would put stress on the clutch. I guess if your clutch is in good working order it would be fine but if it's maybe tired it's gonna slip.
 

Fish

From the mean streets....
Joined
Aug 3, 2007
Messages
36,117
Reaction score
21
Location
Chiraq
I could see if you were engaging the clutch, but if its straight throttle and brake.. :dunno:
 

Xtant12

Well-known member
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
3,263
Reaction score
0
I didnt even think of that. I would have thought that it would blow your brake booster or something
 

syP

Not Banned
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
29,891
Reaction score
15
Location
Downers Grove, Illinois
technically a SCed car doesnt give you 100% INSTANT boost if you think about it..


The throttle still has to open

So if you pre-load it, it does work a tiny bit better... not nearly as much as a turbo car.

I did it a few times in my cobalt from a roll. I did notice a difference.
 

G_T_P

Well-known member
Joined
May 10, 2009
Messages
2,301
Reaction score
0
and how the hell would i do this?!? what the hell are u talking about?
 

G_T_P

Well-known member
Joined
May 10, 2009
Messages
2,301
Reaction score
0
this is a new concept to me?? would u like to teach me some how this would be achieved one day panda? if it possible?
 

10sec

I haz dat teddy bear smile.
Donating Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
23,210
Reaction score
32
technically a SCed car doesnt give you 100% INSTANT boost if you think about it..


The throttle still has to open

So if you pre-load it, it does work a tiny bit better... not nearly as much as a turbo car.

I did it a few times in my cobalt from a roll. I did notice a difference.
:ugh:
 

PANDA

Well-known member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
34,200
Reaction score
25
Location
FRG
this is a new concept to me?? would u like to teach me some how this would be achieved one day panda? if it possible?
One of my nutswingers told me that you "brake boost" the car :dunno:
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Top Bottom