Failed emissions again - LT1 (fuck illinois)

ktraver97ss

I say what everyone thinks
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
13,446
Reaction score
23
Location
Roselle, IL
So I have not changed a thing on my 97 Camaro SS for years. 2 years ago it failed emissions and I brought it to Speedinc where it was tuned, they did some voodoo and it passed.

End of last year it failed again, but now Speedinc no longer keeps the software to tune junk ass LT1s. I found a tuner in OH, lt1pcmtuning.com, told him what was up, and sent him my pcm. It comes back, go get tested and failed again. The check is enabled, but its set to not report errors but the test shows them as "Not Supported".

He recommends me sending it back and him clearing it back to stock and load a full fresh tune. Im not sure what other options I have, O2 simulators? I don't want to deal with putting cats and O2s back on the car. Any of you guys with tuning experience have any ideas for me?

Summers like almost over and I have driven the car like 10 miles, and of course during those 10 miles some fuck face backed into it and left scratches in the front bumper.

Emissions report:
 

Intel

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
4,799
Reaction score
72
Location
Palatine
If it is set to not report errors it will fail. They changed this about 2-3 years back.
 

10sec

I haz dat teddy bear smile.
Donating Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
23,350
Reaction score
121
o2 simulators or you can use those spacers, i forget WTF they're called.
 

10sec

I haz dat teddy bear smile.
Donating Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
23,350
Reaction score
121
EDIT: Double post for some reason?
 

Yaj Yak

Harbor Master
Donating Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
90,177
Reaction score
1,048
If it is set to not report errors it will fail. They changed this about 2-3 years back.

GM / HPT perform this in a different way than Ford / SCT does. Basically Ford / SCT actually turns them off per se in the tune which is why they don't report a MIL but also report as "not ready" in the tests. Since you can only have one minor system check as "not ready" and still pass in IL, having both off will fail. In HPT for GM you keep the MIL/SES enabled for them but set the error mode to "3-no error reported". This is what allows the GM cars to still report their O2 sensors test as completed but not throw a MIL error for it. The key in the GM tuning is to make sure that the SES box is still checked to allow the SES to occur and then set error mode to 3 so that it just never shows up. If it is done differently then you won't pass emissions.

What I usually do to make absolutely sure that I pass emissions with my G8 is just do an "emissions tune" that I temporarily load for the day of the test that literally has ALL DTC's in the tune set to enabled and error mode 3. This forces it to go to an immediate pass status right when the car is started. Normally this would take a few seconds if the car is tuned normally, but so far the shops haven't been educated enough to catch it.

This is all stuff that you can verify on a normal code scanner that can also see if your internal diagnostic emissions tests have been done. As long as you have no MIL reported and all but one or less of the minor tests that are supportable are set to "ready" status then you should pass in IL.
.
 

Intel

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
4,799
Reaction score
72
Location
Palatine
Am I missing something here? I am fine being wrong but it seems we just said the exact same thing based on what you linked to.

"The emissions standards changed recently in IL. Because of that, since the way SCT tunes turn off the DTC codes, tuned Fords will not pass emissions if they have had their cats removed and the codes set to not report. I am not aware if Diablo tuned Ford cars are having this issue, but I assume they are as well."
 

Yaj Yak

Harbor Master
Donating Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
90,177
Reaction score
1,048
Am I missing something here? I am fine being wrong but it seems we just said the exact same thing based on what you linked to.

"The emissions standards changed recently in IL. Because of that, since the way SCT tunes turn off the DTC codes, tuned Fords will not pass emissions if they have had their cats removed and the codes set to not report. I am not aware if Diablo tuned Ford cars are having this issue, but I assume they are as well."
Originally Posted by rocket5979 View Post
GM / HPT perform this in a different way than Ford / SCT does. Basically Ford / SCT actually turns them off per se in the tune which is why they don't report a MIL but also report as "not ready" in the tests. Since you can only have one minor system check as "not ready" and still pass in IL, having both off will fail. In HPT for GM you keep the MIL/SES enabled for them but set the error mode to "3-no error reported". This is what allows the GM cars to still report their O2 sensors test as completed but not throw a MIL error for it. The key in the GM tuning is to make sure that the SES box is still checked to allow the SES to occur and then set error mode to 3 so that it just never shows up. If it is done differently then you won't pass emissions.
this is on a GM , not a ford, he can pass emissions still
 

Intel

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 28, 2009
Messages
4,799
Reaction score
72
Location
Palatine
this is on a GM , not a ford, he can pass emissions still

ah makes sense now. Thanks. I just know they started failing my buddies car for the same things recently that have passed for years.
 

Yaj Yak

Harbor Master
Donating Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
90,177
Reaction score
1,048
ah makes sense now. Thanks. I just know they started failing my buddies car for the same things recently that have passed for years.
:bigthumb:

it's weird that it's changed, and sucks that it's harder for ford now too.
 

Yaj Yak

Harbor Master
Donating Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
90,177
Reaction score
1,048
Very True. The readiness monitor must be "ready" for the car to pass. If it is "not ready" "not available" or "not supported" then it will not pass in IL

read the other stuff i quoted

he said change the boxes to not report errors, not have the emission test come back with "not ready", "not available" or "not supported"
 

l0wb00st

Overbuild It, Or Don't Build It!
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
1,146
Reaction score
1
Location
NW Suburbs
read the other stuff i quoted

he said change the boxes to not report errors, not have the emission test come back with "not ready", "not available" or "not supported"
Gotcha. HP is a little different than what i'm familiar with. I have each monitor with a check box of available/not available, and another with pass/fail.
 

Yaj Yak

Harbor Master
Donating Member
Joined
May 24, 2007
Messages
90,177
Reaction score
1,048
it's the weirdest, thank goodness (for the gm guys) hp tuners still has it workin
 

10sec

I haz dat teddy bear smile.
Donating Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2008
Messages
23,350
Reaction score
121
But you can just buy those things and not worry about changing anything in the computer.
 

LikeABauce302

5.0 ftw
Joined
Aug 27, 2013
Messages
1,613
Reaction score
23
Location
South suburbs
You can go to the DMV and apply for a 4 month extension. I just had to do this yesterday. The battery died on my 2012 Boss 302 earlier this month and I haven't driven the car enough to complete the drive cycles. I paid $32 and got a new plate sticker that is good until November.
 

ktraver97ss

I say what everyone thinks
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
13,446
Reaction score
23
Location
Roselle, IL
I think he uses LT1Edit.

Wouldn't I still have to have him go in and update the reporting settings if I got the O2 sims? But I still would not have the egr, evap, etc.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Top Bottom