Engine rebuild.

RacerX

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 3, 2010
Messages
116
Reaction score
0
So I had my engine builder bore out the last Marauder Wap block off the line (Ken sold it to me cheap before he knew his was the very last Marauder off the line!) and clean it up. I had him do all machine work, measuring, parts ordering, etc. Picked up the parts. Learned how to file fit rings. Broke a second cast ring...:ugh: Never squeeze them together even gently, they snap REAL easy. Ordered Spares from Arias and finished up. 301cid stroker, .020 over, 9.2:1cr, FR500 ss valves/springs/followers, ported heads, Crower Stg 2 sc cams... The MMR iron block only has 5k on it and nothing wrong with it, but, it wasn't built for what I plan on doing to this one eventually.

Gratuitous engine porn:




Spiral Locks are Soooo much easier when you pull them apart!









A BIG thank you to Rob!!! Dialed in right about where I wanted it, 108/118



Got a deal on this an Innovators West damper.



Found out why my 1 to 2 shift became so soft!!! Had a ne Sonnax locking spiral ring already jic though.



Minus 80+ lbs in the nose now!

 

RacerX

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 3, 2010
Messages
116
Reaction score
0
Hehe! Yes, it's true. Three engine pulls in my driveway. I have a tool shed and a dead mini van full of tools and Marauder parts. I had to keep watching weather radar here the last couple of weeks. SUX! Wifey says we can sell this house and get one with garages in next couple of years. Woohoo!

First idle exhaust sounds:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UGYsynP2VgY
 

brandoLSX

"I live my life a quarter mile at a time"
Joined
Jul 12, 2011
Messages
538
Reaction score
1
Location
Broomfield, CO
Nice work man! I like. I had to drop my engine in my parents driveway haha, I know how it feels. Living the apartment life ain't no good without a garage.
 

musclemerc

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
554
Reaction score
0
DAMN, Bill. All the time you've been working on your back in the driveway?

Way better than I am. Great Work Man!

What did you set the LCS at?
 

Zack

4 Doors 4 Life
Joined
Mar 21, 2004
Messages
6,295
Reaction score
5
Location
NW Indiana
This motivates me to assemble the 5.0 big bore I've had on the stand for over a year. :-(
 

RacerX

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 3, 2010
Messages
116
Reaction score
0
Thanks guys! Travis, even the creeper bit me twice! I was working on adrenaline and just felt a pull. Left some marks though! LSA is 113. LCs are close to 108/118. Zack, I love going from one level to the next. It's even sweeter when you do it yourself. That turbo must make some good ear to ear stretch marks. Oh, finally hammered down today, Jesum h wtf! These tires used to stick!? Happened to be in Guadalahara. :)

P.S. I'm cloning the local dyno shop's hard drive to an SSD drive right now. If all goes well, I'll get it to the owner when they open... Nine hours, maybe get her strapped in if there's a slot... Oh yes, barter!
 

RacerX

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 3, 2010
Messages
116
Reaction score
0
Interesting tidbit! Previously with the ported Eaton (stock upper and 6lb lower) I was getting 14psi. Now she only hits 12psi yet has more tq and hp (sop is accurate when obvious as hell!). Now I need to get weldcraft widened rims! She's definitely breathing better with the cams, valves and heads! Dyno scheduled for next Saturday. Alex wanted me to put more mileage on the engine. Only 138 miles as of tonight!
 

Jokerzl

Forum Sponsor
TCG Sponsor
Joined
May 15, 2012
Messages
3,629
Reaction score
6
Location
Ashkum
Nice is this local to Chicago looking for a quick estimate on a built bottom end
 

massacre

Well-known member
Joined
May 25, 2011
Messages
158
Reaction score
0
The drop in boost is totally normal in this situation, Bill. With the added displacement, ported heads, cams and LSA, it's not unusual to see a drop in boost pressure but no loss of performance in these situations.

It was great to swing by and degree your motor, and those Cloyes adjustable gears are great, can't wait to order a set. Back when i got into this grinding the keyways was the only option lol. The adjustables saved so much time and aggravation that they are well worth the money!
I am thrilled that the car is running great and that you are happy with it. So far every motor that I have degreed has made power, most was 80 wheel on a big boost centri-blown 2v with WAP block and TFS heads and blower cams. But that engine was built wrong the pass side cam was off by 6 degrees and the drivers by 2 in the other direction.

The last cam on your motor took a little longer because the foot on the dial indicator was getting hung up but we changed the foot and all was well. I'm glad you got to see the process Bill, I mean once you see it done it's a lot less confusing than the descriptions you can find here or there.
Let me know about that ported intake lol ;)
 

musclemerc

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
554
Reaction score
0
Hey Rob, pass along some info on that degree wheel. That thing is huge, its way bigger than the one I used to degree my cams.
 

massacre

Well-known member
Joined
May 25, 2011
Messages
158
Reaction score
0
Sure, Travis!
It's an 18" Moroso Pro-Wheel. The bigger wheel is more accurate and about a hundred times easier to read and use than the little wheels.
Moroso now makes a two-piece Pro-Wheel, I looked into that and it just seems needlessly complicated. The outer piece of the wheel is supposed to give you the centerline without having to add together and divide by two. I see no value in that and it seems a waste of money to me.
I've timed a lot of motors with the 18" Moroso wheel, and it has always worked flawlessly. I highly recommend getting one to anyone who is going to degree cams.

http://pitstopusa.com/i-5059435-moroso-18-pro-wheel-wheel-for-engine-stand-use.html?gclid=CNrom4-6tLgCFTF04godphEAQw
 

musclemerc

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 6, 2010
Messages
554
Reaction score
0
I bet that made it easy. LOL
I would love to know how much that cost him
 

massacre

Well-known member
Joined
May 25, 2011
Messages
158
Reaction score
0
I'm still wondering why there are 3 dial indicators and only 2 cams per bank lol.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Top Bottom