C6 Differential R&R

JBruno88

Reaction score
So I went to the track Friday night, and after my last pass when I went to jack the car up, there was gear oil all over the diff, mufflers and was dripping on the ground.

Drove the car home, no loud or odd noises from the diff at all. After talking with STG Motorsports we think it is one of two things...

1. The diff burped and puked fluid out the breather on top of the diff and sprayed it everywhere.

2. The case is cracked.

I'm going to attempt to do a removal, inspection and re-installation in my garage in Carol Stream this week.

I understand that my day job is not a mechanic, but I'd say I'm decently mechanically inclined. This will be one of the biggest jobs I have attempted in the garage and I was looking to see if anyone was willing to lend a helping hand.

If you come over I'll make sure I have cold beer and food. I'm thinking about starting to tackle this tomorrow night (Tuesday).

Mook

El Presidente
Admin
Reaction score
[MENTION=1909]utryd2[/MENTION]. He's an expert at removing any Corvette part.

utryd2

Reaction score
Check axle seals. Fairly common on c6 to leak/fail. Also make sure axles are pushed all the way in to the case.

If you cracked the case more than likely you would have broke the internals.

Highly doubt you burped that much fluid to cover all the parts listed and you would have had to over fill your diff imo.

So save yourself all the headaches first and check axles and seals first.

JBruno88

Reaction score
Axles and seals were 100% dry. I checked them at track when it happened and the following morning when I was cleaning everything off with brake cleaner.

JBruno88

Reaction score
I was able to squeeze my hand in between the mufflers and reach on top of the diff to feel the breather... There was gear oil puddled all over the top of the diff.

utryd2

Reaction score