đź’¬ OT Book you last read

VenomInside

Just Grazing
Jul 16, 2004
26,170
4,103
SAC/DEN/SFO/CHI/SEA/PDX
16045070.jpg


Currently started this one.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Spivitz and DanJ

Jimy Bilmo

CSVT OG Member
TCG Premium
TCG Goldmember
Aug 16, 2005
40,534
64,354
Just started this:

Down Range by Taylor Moore

Only about 17 chapters in, and it's got me pretty hooked. Would recommend. He has two additional books after this one in the series thus far, so I'll be sure to read those once I'm through with this.

View attachment 178591

“Down Range fuses the classic Western with the modern thriller. DEA operator Garrett Kohl has big skills and an even bigger heart that drives him to a pulse-pounding showdown as good as anything you’ll read this year—and maybe ever.” — Mike Maden, author of Tom Clancy’s Firing Point

“Having lived it, Taylor Moore hits every bit of the cost of counterterrorism in Down Range, but this story is much more. It’s a riveting thriller with a family in crisis at the core. It's my kind of book.” — Brad Taylor, New York Times bestselling author of American Traitor

"Taylor Moore's Down Range is an intense, authentic, and spellbinding powerhouse that pulls no punches. With high-octane action as well as genuine Texas lore and bravado, readers will be wanting more from hero Garrett Kohl and author Taylor Moore, and soon!" — Mark Greaney, NYT Bestselling author of Relentless

“A stunning debut, as wild and beautiful as the Texas High Plains in which it’s set, Down Range turns the thriller genre on its head. Stretching from Kabul to Amarillo, Moore’s yarn is chock-full of gripping action, white-knuckled suspense, and, most important, heart.” — Don Bentley, author of Target Acquired

"Combining the suspense and intrigue of a Tom Clancy thriller with the action and grit of a hard-hitting western, Taylor Moore's Down Range is sure to entice fans of both genres, as he weaves a wild tale of betrayal, vengeance, and death on the Texas High Plains." — Philipp Meyer, New York Times bestselling author of The Son

“A rough neo-Western about family lost and found… A propulsive story of survival... [Kohl’s] slice of Texas is sparse and beautiful, but it’s also deadly… A powerful entry in the reluctant warrior subgenre, in which a dangerous but decent man is pushed past his limits.” — Texas Monthly

“The result is a masterwork of classic storytelling: a man defending his own in the best tradition of a John Wayne or Clint Eastwood film. Think “No Country for Old Men” with Box’s Joe Pickett taking over for Ed Tom Bell. Down Range is downright awesome.” — Providence Journal

“[A] powerful debut… Moore melds the thriller and western genres in Down Range, punctuating frequent action scenes against vivid scenery that adds to the suspense. But he also concentrates on his believable characters…. [Garrett] makes for a forceful hero in “Down Range,” the beginning of what should be a long-running series.” — South Florida Sun Sentinel

“It took me about 25 pages before I got sucked into this exciting thriller featuring Garrett Kohl, a DEA agent who has been working undercover…. This book offers lots of excitement, but also has its funny moments as well.” — The Pilot (Southern Pines, NC)

“[A] strong debut… Things culminate in an exciting, Texas-style showdown between Kohl’s family, cartel sicarios, and a host of other bad actors. Fans of J. Todd Scott and C. J. Box will want to check out this propulsive, character-driven thriller.” — Publishers Weekly

“Delivers both a compelling story and a vivid portrait of the landscape of the High Plains of Texas… Moore has written a tense and irresistible thriller that fans of C. J. Box and the military action novels of Brad Taylor will savor. The chaos mixes well with a stellar panorama.” — Library Journal (starred review)

“A series worth watching”. — Booklist

“Debut author Moore's hold-your-breath thriller introduces DEA agent Garrett Kohl… Though our hero's outnumbered, he's able to lead the brutal criminals into the Texas high plains for a wild Western showdown. Moore's previous experience as a CIA intelligence officer and deep Texas roots bring authenticity to this action-packed tale.” — AARP
Just finished this. Couldn’t get enough of it today and wrapped it about 20 mins ago.

Starting the next book in this series, Firestorm.
 

SpeedSpeak2me

TCG Blue
TCG Premium
Aug 27, 2018
23,960
39,706
Real Name
Jim

IDAFC21

WOW.
Staff member
TCG Premium
Moderator
May 23, 2007
57,744
25,439
Avondale, AZ
After i'd finished the 3rd Thrawn book the other day I realized I never finished the Mel Brooks autobiography book All About Me that I started I don't know how long ago so I finally finished that up today (great book if you're a Mel Brooks fan, and why wouldn't you be??) So with THAT done now, I snagged And On That Bombshell SpeedSpeak2me SpeedSpeak2me and started that up. Only got thru the first chapter today but I'm liking it so far.
 
  • Like
Reactions: SpeedSpeak2me

Thread Info