Anyone running a dash camera?

Alacran

GM fanatic
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
1,120
Reaction score
0
Location
Chicago
Looking at dash cameras and trying to see what tcg recommends

Nic
 

Grabber

Oh Hai
Joined
Dec 11, 2007
Messages
3,895
Reaction score
114
Location
Wheeling, IL
I ran a Viofo for about a year and it finally failed.

Check out Blackvue, Garmin and Thinkware. They are all high end dash cams with tons of features. Priced higher, but, in my experience with having 3 dash cam, pay more for a better, more reliable camera.
 

DanJoy

Well-known member
Super Moderator
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
28,504
Reaction score
299
Location
Aurora
I have a BlackVue DR650S 2 channel setup in my car. Image quality is good and I can pull videos off the camera using my phone and the dash cams built in wireless network. The DR750S is out now which is supposed to have even better low light images.
 

sickmint79

I Drink Your Milkshake
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
18,764
Reaction score
118
Location
grayslake
https://tinyurl.com/y6utwt9w

i have the 650 also. i would recommend the 750. having front and rear is great as you get a much better story of what is going on around you. the sensor is better and the camera has gone from recording in 30 hz to 60 hz so the video is much smoother.
 

DanJoy

Well-known member
Super Moderator
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
28,504
Reaction score
299
Location
Aurora
I’d recommend checking out Mass Drop if you want to buy a nice dash cam. They do group buys and I’m pretty sure i saw the DR750 on there for $275 the other day. [MENTION=12712]fastlax16[/MENTION] and I got our DR650’s through there for around the same price. The only downside is that sometimes shipping takes awhile because the group buy ends and then they place the order for the items. I got lucky and got mine within a week of the group buy closing but some people waited almost a month.
 

SMRTSS1

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
3,287
Reaction score
228
Location
Elgin
I’ve been wanting a dash cam for a while now and feel I need one with how often I get cut off. From everything I’ve read the Blackvue 650 & 750 have everything one could need and the reviews are pretty good.
 

guspech750

Guspech Superdriller
Donating Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2010
Messages
7,312
Reaction score
182
Location
North Aurora
Good thread.

I've been thinking of buying a dash camera for work. As much a I drive for work. I'd hate to loose my CDL or be accused of doing something just because I drive tractor trailers. I've seen so many people drive like complete and utter shit and they give me the finger and such. I've had people call my office and make up stories never a problem since my boss knows I'm not a lying POS. Camera would be nice to prove my innocence.
 

cacicgtp7

Some Military Dude
Joined
Nov 9, 2008
Messages
4,650
Reaction score
35
Location
Saint Charles, MO
I’m running the Viofo A119S in both of our cars. Awesome low light and no problems thus far. They are 110 bucks a piece.
 

Grabber

Oh Hai
Joined
Dec 11, 2007
Messages
3,895
Reaction score
114
Location
Wheeling, IL
I’m running the Viofo A119S in both of our cars. Awesome low light and no problems thus far. They are 110 bucks a piece.


Same model I had. Ran great for a while. Shape and clear picture and easy to use.

Dealt with viofo support when it failed for the 2nd time. Now I have to send it to China on my dime for a replacement.

Good camera for the price, but, after not even a year, it is not too reliable.

Hope yours stays going man.
 

Dan00Hawk

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 10, 2011
Messages
1,699
Reaction score
23
Location
Plainfield
I've been using an A118C for a few years, and then upgraded to a newer version. I have one in the wife's car also. It's basic, but I like the 3M mount to the windshield by the mirror, no worries about batteries as it uses a capacitor, and the quality is good enough. I used to have a rear camera, but found it was causing interference with my radio HD reception. Front camera is enough for nearly every situation aside from getting rear ended and the offender running without you being able to see their plate.

It doesn't get great reviews, but I've had no issue, and at $60, it's a good bargain. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01M6ZT4XE/?tag=tcg2007-20

Here's a sample from mine. You may have to change the settings on Youtube to view it in 1080: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=89C0jDsVD9o
 
OP
Alacran

Alacran

GM fanatic
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
1,120
Reaction score
0
Location
Chicago
Great suggestions. I am pleasantly surprised by the feedback on here.

I feel like asking has anyone spliced the power to the camera into the mirror harness?

How is everyone powering up their cameras?

TIA
 

DanJoy

Well-known member
Super Moderator
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
28,504
Reaction score
299
Location
Aurora
Great suggestions. I am pleasantly surprised by the feedback on here.

I feel like asking has anyone spliced the power to the camera into the mirror harness?

How is everyone powering up their cameras?

TIA
My blackvue is hooked up directly to the fuse panel with add a circuits. I have a switch in the glovebox called a power magic pro that lets me use it for parking mode if I’m running into a store or something. It cuts power to the camera when battery voltage dips below a certain level. To use parking mode long term you really need an external battery pack so you don’t kill the cars battery.
 

rdsnake

formerly RD SNAKE
Joined
Mar 5, 2006
Messages
5,610
Reaction score
53
I just installed my BlackVue DR750s - 2 Channel. I also installed the Power Magic Power. Super happy with the results. I wish I bought one of these years ago! I'm going to put on in my truck when the weather gets nicer out.

I believe I have a video from the other night going thought the car wash. Let me see if I can post.
 

Grabber

Oh Hai
Joined
Dec 11, 2007
Messages
3,895
Reaction score
114
Location
Wheeling, IL
For those of you with the Blackvue and power magic pro, [MENTION=102]DanJoy[/MENTION] [MENTION=5709]rdsnake[/MENTION]

How hard was the install? It is much cheaper than the power magic battery.

Is the dual channel worth the extra coin? I am replacing my Viofo A119S as they want me to ship it back to China and its not worth it. This time, I am going big or going home as they say. I'm currently about to buy the 750S 1-channel and later on getting the magic battery back for park mode. I don't want to hardwire as my durango has a lot of electronics and a few guys I've seen on the forums post, the electronics in the durango are super sensitive and I don't want to screw with anything.

Thanks for the input, and sorry if this is a thread derail.

-Chris
 

DanJoy

Well-known member
Super Moderator
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
28,504
Reaction score
299
Location
Aurora
It’s not bad really. Mine is hardwired and the wires just go under the dash and up to my glovebox where the PMP switch box is. From there they go up to the a pillar and one wire is tucked in the headliner to the front camera, and the other goes to the back along the headliner for the rear camera. The biggest pain was tucking the wires behind the side curtain airbag.
 

Kensington

Well-known member
Donating Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2017
Messages
8,623
Reaction score
477
Been running the G1W-C for coming up on 4 years now. It's showing its age, and have some intermittent issues. I'm also on my 3rd microSD card, but the camera keeps on chugging. It's not the fanciest or most sophisticated, but it just works. There are plenty of videos of G1W series out there if you want to take a look. I opted for the rear view mount, which, IMO is a must. In my previous car, I ran the power off a 12V powersource in the headliner. This time around, I just ran the power cable in the headliner, down the A pillar, under the dash, and into a footwell powerpoint.
 

DanJoy

Well-known member
Super Moderator
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
28,504
Reaction score
299
Location
Aurora
I killed a Lexar card made for gopros and dashcams on its first rewrite. Still need to send it in for RMA.
 

Kensington

Well-known member
Donating Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2017
Messages
8,623
Reaction score
477
The first Sandisk I had, I tried to RMA, and they sent it back because the fine print says dash cams are exempt from warranty. I've killed a Samsung, and am back on another Samsung now
 

DanJoy

Well-known member
Super Moderator
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
28,504
Reaction score
299
Location
Aurora
I read about that being a problem so I searched for one that wouldn’t pull that on me when sending in for RMA.
 

rdsnake

formerly RD SNAKE
Joined
Mar 5, 2006
Messages
5,610
Reaction score
53
For those of you with the Blackvue and power magic pro, [MENTION=102]DanJoy[/MENTION] [MENTION=5709]rdsnake[/MENTION]

How hard was the install? It is much cheaper than the power magic battery.

Is the dual channel worth the extra coin? I am replacing my Viofo A119S as they want me to ship it back to China and its not worth it. This time, I am going big or going home as they say. I'm currently about to buy the 750S 1-channel and later on getting the magic battery back for park mode. I don't want to hardwire as my durango has a lot of electronics and a few guys I've seen on the forums post, the electronics in the durango are super sensitive and I don't want to screw with anything.

Thanks for the input, and sorry if this is a thread derail.

-Chris
I think the dual cam is worth it. A lot of shit happens behind you as well. That battery is big bucks. The power magic pro was like $30.

Install was super easy but I'm a fairly seasoned mechanic. Just take your time and go slow. I hooked up all the power first without hiding any wires to test the position of cameras before I "officially" mounted them. I believe I stole power from the cig lighter (Key on +) and then the sun roof for battery hot all the time. Every car will be different so just check the owners manual.
 

rdsnake

formerly RD SNAKE
Joined
Mar 5, 2006
Messages
5,610
Reaction score
53
I killed a Lexar card made for gopros and dashcams on its first rewrite. Still need to send it in for RMA.
I heard those Lexar cards are junk. Everything I've read points to Transcend or Sandisk high endurance cards are the hot ticket for dash cams. Unfortunately, they only make those in 64GB. I wanted a 128 GB for my dual cam setup to record a full 11 hours on one write. Went with a Samsung EVO card. We'll see how long it last.
 

Kensington

Well-known member
Donating Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2017
Messages
8,623
Reaction score
477
I heard those Lexar cards are junk. Everything I've read points to Transcend or Sandisk high endurance cards are the hot ticket for dash cams. Unfortunately, they only make those in 64GB. I wanted a 128 GB for my dual cam setup to record a full 11 hours on one write. Went with a Samsung EVO card. We'll see how long it last.
I was recommended Samsung over Sandisk...so far it doesn't seem to have made much of a difference.
 

rdsnake

formerly RD SNAKE
Joined
Mar 5, 2006
Messages
5,610
Reaction score
53
I will see how long my Samsung EVO runs for. If I have any problems I will switch over to a Transcend card. Kinda pissed they don't make a 128 GB card tho.

Interesting enough, when I was reading the directions for my BlackVue they suggested formatting the card very 30 days.
 

DanJoy

Well-known member
Super Moderator
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
28,504
Reaction score
299
Location
Aurora
Interesting. I should probably read those sometime.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Top Bottom