Any of you ever use the GM column shifter cable adapter?

Mr_Roboto

Doing the jobs nobody wants to
Donating Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2012
Messages
12,340
Reaction score
291
Location
Joliet
Trying to get the Fastro back online, and decided I fucking hate the linkage for the column shifter. I've dicked around with the linkage rod enough and can't get it to work well with the 4l80E which has a different enough placement to bone me. Anyone ever use one of these? Is it junk or does it suck? I'm fine NOT manually shifting the box, I have a TCU so I can define the shift points.

https://www.summitracing.com/parts/lok-aca-1805/overview/
 

Great White Drake

You used to call me on my cell phone
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
4,632
Reaction score
161
[MENTION=10626]70 deville[/MENTION] literally just did this. He fab'd up a simple spacer I think.
 

Mr_Roboto

Doing the jobs nobody wants to
Donating Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2012
Messages
12,340
Reaction score
291
Location
Joliet
Holy thread reply batman. That was some lightning fast stuff.
 

Great White Drake

You used to call me on my cell phone
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
4,632
Reaction score
161
Holy thread reply batman. That was some lightning fast stuff.
Caught me at the right time lol. I was interested because it's what I also plan to do next winter. 4l80 & column shift. I'll let him chime in and tell you exactly what he had to do.
 

Great White Drake

You used to call me on my cell phone
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
4,632
Reaction score
161
Your link isn't working for me for some reason but he used this linkage from lokar. The packaging says one thing, but the instructions tell you how to hook it up to the 80e.

 

Mr_Roboto

Doing the jobs nobody wants to
Donating Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2012
Messages
12,340
Reaction score
291
Location
Joliet
[MENTION=5]Mook[/MENTION] that's the second time at least that's happened and I don't know why. Maybe it's mangling something?


The one I was looking at was ACA-1805. That uses a rod, and I'm not really a fan of the idea any more; One of the Astros I've seen that was turbo actually ran it right were the rod goes. They changed this in 95-97ish with the refresh if I had to guess.
 

Mook

El Presidente
Admin
Joined
May 23, 2007
Messages
164,037
Reaction score
1,944
Location
Elgin
It goes to summit for me. I'll check tomorrow.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Top Bottom