110 leaded and O2 sensors

Mr. Unknown

New member
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
0
Reaction score
0
I've been hearing mixed things about this. My car was tuned on 110 leaded. I've heard it will mess up the o2 sensors? What are your opinions?
 

Aron

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 1, 2005
Messages
14,002
Reaction score
21
Leaded fuel will over time clog your catalytic convertors (if you even have them) as well as your O2 sensors.

If you're tuned for 110, you'll have to use something with a similar octane rating in unleaded.
 

JA$ON

ching chong potato
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
17,332
Reaction score
1
Ive run leaded 110 all last season when spraying and this year on my high boost tune. I've never had any issues with it. I dont run any cats and havent had to replace my O2 sensors yet, car was easy to tune and is reliable. If I need to change 2 sensors every year to run this gas, I will. Its worth it to me to have plenty of octane, plus its not too hard to find and its only like $5.50/gallon.
 

Aron

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 1, 2005
Messages
14,002
Reaction score
21
firstsvt said:
Ive run leaded 110 all last season when spraying and this year on my high boost tune. I've never had any issues with it. I dont run any cats and havent had to replace my O2 sensors yet, car was easy to tune and is reliable. If I need to change 2 sensors every year to run this gas, I will. Its worth it to me to have plenty of octane, plus its not too hard to find and its only like $5.50/gallon.
Notice I said "over time". It could take quite some time, but the lead does leave deposits, which will throw your O2 readings off.

If you really need it, why not get a 55 gallon drum of unleaded? It would probably end up being cheaper anyway.
 
OP
M

Mr. Unknown

New member
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
0
Reaction score
0
firstsvt said:
Ive run leaded 110 all last season when spraying and this year on my high boost tune. I've never had any issues with it. I dont run any cats and havent had to replace my O2 sensors yet, car was easy to tune and is reliable. If I need to change 2 sensors every year to run this gas, I will. Its worth it to me to have plenty of octane, plus its not too hard to find and its only like $5.50/gallon.

Is your car a track only or weekend car? It would obviously take more time if it were a track only car.

Aron said:
Notice I said "over time". It could take quite some time, but the lead does leave deposits, which will throw your O2 readings off.

If you really need it, why not get a 55 gallon drum of unleaded? It would probably end up being cheaper anyway.

True

Who's got the hook up?
 

Aron

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 1, 2005
Messages
14,002
Reaction score
21
I thought that Rockett and either Torco or VP made 110 unleaded, but I guess not. After doing some searching, I couldn't find anything unleaded over 104.
 
OP
M

Mr. Unknown

New member
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
0
Reaction score
0
Aron said:
I thought that Rockett and either Torco or VP made 110 unleaded, but I guess not. After doing some searching, I couldn't find anything unleaded over 104.

I was told that torco is only good if you use it right away. It doesn't do well if it sits for a little while. Right now i'm running Sunoco 110 Leaded.
 

skyhighsd

auto mofo
Joined
Mar 25, 2007
Messages
11,560
Reaction score
0
Yes it will clog your 02 senor after awhile and when that happens the senor will cause you to lose power and after awhile it will not run, until you change the sensor. A friend of mine with a GN has to change his out after a few weeks of driving it. If you don't mind changing the sensor once and a while its not really any problem.
By the way you might want to think about the 55 gallons alittle more. That much gas in the garage. Racing gas is to unstable to have that much in your garage. IMO Its like having a bomb that is just waiting to go off. :nono:
 

slow4.6

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
1,112
Reaction score
1
i used about 2 tanks of it and i had to replace the 2 front 02's.. that shit was white and caked on :(
 
OP
M

Mr. Unknown

New member
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
0
Reaction score
0
skyhighsd said:
Yes it will clog your 02 senor after awhile and when that happens the senor will cause you to lose power and after awhile it will not run, until you change the sensor. A friend of mine with a GN has to change his out after a few weeks of driving it. If you don't mind changing the sensor once and a while its not really any problem.
By the way you might want to think about the 55 gallons alittle more. That much gas in the garage. Racing gas is to unstable to have that much in your garage. IMO Its like having a bomb that is just waiting to go off. :nono:


i thought higher octane meant better for storing because it would take more to let it loose?
 

skyhighsd

auto mofo
Joined
Mar 25, 2007
Messages
11,560
Reaction score
0
If you mean explode as far as let loose? That may be true, but think of the flash point of gas. That is not something that I would be willing to gamble with a garage full of toys. And all of the headaches of a insurance claim if you garage was to explode, its just something to think about.
 
B

Boost12

Guest
I ran leaded Fuel all season last year. I burnt of the Ford o2s the first week and then I put in some Autozone sensors and they lasted me well over a year and never gave me any trouble and I ran nothing but leaded fuel :biggthump

I dont have any O2s in the car now otherwise they would still be in there cranking along im sure :lmao: :lmao:

Woop for Autozone! Not to mention they are half the price
 

JA$ON

ching chong potato
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
17,332
Reaction score
1
Boost12 said:
Woop for Autozone! Not to mention they are half the price
What did they cost at autozone? It may be time for me to replace mine, I havent replaced them yet since I started to run leaded fuel
 

Bigturbonotch

WAIT AND SEE
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Messages
34,686
Reaction score
4
they are bosch brand and were like $40 a piece if I remember correctly
 
B

Boost12

Guest
firstsvt said:
What did they cost at autozone? It may be time for me to replace mine, I havent replaced them yet since I started to run leaded fuel
I thought They were like 40 sumthing per o2
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.

Top Bottom