Forum Register TCG Mobile Casino Live Posting Feed Garage Arcade Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   The Chicago Garage > General Discussion > On Topic

User Tag List

Like Tree8Likes
  • 1 Post By tinfoilhat
  • 1 Post By tinfoilhat
  • 1 Post By tinfoilhat
  • 2 Post By Chester Copperpot
  • 1 Post By importcrew
  • 1 Post By Ron Vogel
  • 1 Post By Chester Copperpot

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-14-2019, 05:47 PM   #1
 
Rebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Truckee, CA
Posts: 2,573
Casino cash: $12690800
0.67 per day
Default PC Diagnostics, Google fails me.

Been working on this most of the day. Just when I think I'm making progress I get thrown another curve ball.

Basically I went out of town last week. Turned my computer off before I left, it turned back on at some point while I was gone. No big deal except it was frozen for some reason. Hit reset, and when it boots, I get told there's no boot drive detected. Check the bios. I select the correct drive and then windows loads to a black screen with a cursor. Eventually I get the blue screen of death. It goes to report microsoft of the error and never goes past 0%. I reset it, try to boot again nothing. Eventually I decided to boot in safe mode. I didn't see anything out of the ordinary. Did a virus scan, and cleaned the registry. Ran a disk check. Reset and still the same issue. Currently I'm stuck in a windows startup repair loop. I went through the process to disable startup repair and it still goes into the loop. Then I went into command prompt and disabled there, and STILL goes into the loop. Not really sure what to do that this point. Can't boot back into safe mode and every option takes me back to startup repair. Also I get an error that Automatic repair can't repair my PC.
I'm just going down the list on google to figure out a solution but nothing yet.
__________________
Rebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 05:51 PM   #2
TCG Conspiracy Lead Investigator
 
tinfoilhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Riding the Hubble
Posts: 36,371
Casino cash: $173424501
8.28 per day
Default

Get a windows disk and do a soft-reinstall.

It'll reinstall windows and wont delete your files, but you'll have to reinstall applications.

Probably a windows update broke it. You can also try to do a system restore if it was doing auto backups
Rebel likes this.
__________________
"It's never too cold for swamp ass."

XBO - NinjaTurtlThong

tinfoilhat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 05:57 PM   #3
 
Rebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Truckee, CA
Posts: 2,573
Casino cash: $12690800
0.67 per day
Default

Just downloaded this guy. https://www.microsoft.com/en-hk/soft...load/windows10 Will report back once I finish.

Tried the past 3 system updates and they also didn't work. One was for last friday which said an update was installed. I was thinking something went wrong with the update.
Rebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 06:05 PM   #4
TCG Conspiracy Lead Investigator
 
tinfoilhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Riding the Hubble
Posts: 36,371
Casino cash: $173424501
8.28 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebel View Post
Just downloaded this guy. https://www.microsoft.com/en-hk/soft...load/windows10 Will report back once I finish.

Tried the past 3 system updates and they also didn't work. One was for last friday which said an update was installed. I was thinking something went wrong with the update.
It probably was an update. Its happened to me on windows 10. Sadly more common then it should be. Doesn't help that the windows system restore ends up being useless most of the time too...
importcrew likes this.
tinfoilhat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 06:07 PM   #5
TCG Conspiracy Lead Investigator
 
tinfoilhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Riding the Hubble
Posts: 36,371
Casino cash: $173424501
8.28 per day
Default

Also if you have a spare computer, or download a linux live cd, you can probably grab your data off the drive before reinstall just to be safe.

Linux mint is a good one for a live cd and easy gui interface. If you run it as a live cd, it'll run from RAM and allow you to access the drives
Flyn likes this.
tinfoilhat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 07:00 PM   #6
 
Ron Vogel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bolingbrook
Posts: 3,644
Casino cash: $13762355
0.83 per day
Default

Sounds like a hardware issue. Did you try pulling a stick of RAM...or at least swapping it around yet? Can you get to safe mode at all? It may be possible your HD shit the bed
Ron Vogel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 07:22 PM   #7
TCGs Far Right Leader
 
Chester Copperpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Shithole, IL
Posts: 29,091
Casino cash: $6797400
8.66 per day
Default

>Windows 10

Found the issue
tinfoilhat and Blownbyyou like this.
Chester Copperpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 07:27 PM   #8
 
Rebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Truckee, CA
Posts: 2,573
Casino cash: $12690800
0.67 per day
Default

Doing more reading I'm confident it was a bad update. I normally don't do automatic updates so I'm not sure what happened there. Can't repair the boot process so I think I'm stuck reinstalling windows. Just ordered a m2 drive and going to start over. Just need to find my win 7 key and see if I can still upgrade to 10 for free.

This is my most recent try to get this fixed and since it isn't working, I'd rather do a clean install.
https://www.partitionwizard.com/clon...is-denied.html
Rebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 07:33 PM   #9
Forum Sponsor
 
importcrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 11,946
Casino cash: $43977594
2.85 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tinfoilhat View Post
It probably was an update. Its happened to me on windows 10. Sadly more common then it should be. Doesn't help that the windows system restore ends up being useless most of the time too...
This. Had this happen twice on me. The first time, it took me a while to figure it out. Eventually I rolled back some drivers from a recent update that I think were to my onboard graphics card. A while later, same thing happened, but I figured I'll try the same thing and roll back one driver at a time and see, and sure enough, it worked no problem.
Flyn likes this.
__________________
AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR MANY MANUFACTURES INCLUDING:


Aero Precision
Fortis Manufacturing
Phase 5
2A Armaments
Many Many More



FB PAGE: https://www.facebook.com/L.B.ChicagoRetail/
importcrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 07:41 PM   #10
 
Rebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Truckee, CA
Posts: 2,573
Casino cash: $12690800
0.67 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Vogel View Post
Sounds like a hardware issue. Did you try pulling a stick of RAM...or at least swapping it around yet? Can you get to safe mode at all? It may be possible your HD shit the bed
I was able to get into safe mode a couple hours ago. Since I got into this automatic repair loop, I can't do anything now. A health check said the SSD was healthy, but I don't know how thorough it is.

Quote:
Originally Posted by importcrew View Post
This. Had this happen twice on me. The first time, it took me a while to figure it out. Eventually I rolled back some drivers from a recent update that I think were to my onboard graphics card. A while later, same thing happened, but I figured I'll try the same thing and roll back one driver at a time and see, and sure enough, it worked no problem.
Tried doing the 3 most recent system restores but that has gotten me into my current loading issue.
Rebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 07:59 PM   #11
 
Ron Vogel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bolingbrook
Posts: 3,644
Casino cash: $13762355
0.83 per day
Default

Windows 10, say no more...
tinfoilhat likes this.
Ron Vogel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 08:08 PM   #12
TCGs Far Right Leader
 
Chester Copperpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Shithole, IL
Posts: 29,091
Casino cash: $6797400
8.66 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tinfoilhat View Post
It probably was an update. Its happened to me on windows 10. Sadly more common then it should be. Doesn't help that the windows system restore ends up being useless most of the time too...
Had this happen to someone at work last Wednesday on a SurfacePro.

Said he was working on something in Excel, it was downloading an update, bluescreened, and boot-looped into recovery.

I got a hold of it, the "soft" reinstall didn't work. The full erase and wipe didn't work. Had to download a brand new SurfacePro image from Microshit and he lost whatever he didn't move off to our network drive.

Then gets angry at me for said data loss.

k

There was definitely another broken update those dumbfuck pajeets at microdick threw out.
tinfoilhat likes this.
Chester Copperpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 08:50 PM   #13
 
Ron Vogel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bolingbrook
Posts: 3,644
Casino cash: $13762355
0.83 per day
Default

I got tired of chasing down what update crashed what....all my home PC's are widows 7 now.
Ron Vogel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 09:15 PM   #14
TCG Conspiracy Lead Investigator
 
tinfoilhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Riding the Hubble
Posts: 36,371
Casino cash: $173424501
8.28 per day
Default

I'm about to migrate to either windows server or linux only. Gaming on Linux has gotten much better lately.
tinfoilhat is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
no new posts