Forum Register TCG Mobile Casino Live Posting Feed Garage Arcade Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   The Chicago Garage > The Garage > TCG Technical

User Tag List

Like Tree22Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-16-2018, 12:44 PM   #1
 
Shawn1112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Streamwood
Posts: 6,442
Casino cash: $69408300
1.97 per day
Default Audio Experts step in

14 Tahoe LTZ, was thinking of replacing stock head unit with the Pioneer Avic 8400 NEX. The $999 cost was holding me back, but right now they are offering a $200 rebate, so I'm sold!

Reason for replacing is I plan on throwing my JL 12" W7 and JL 750/1 amp in the Tahoe. Also want the wireless Apple Carplay and Android Auto among other features the stock head unit doesnt have.

My question is regarding the idatalink maestro. Is it really necessary? Not much if anything runs thru the head unit on the Tahoe from what I have seen since buying it last week. The only thing I really want to retain is the factory back up camera. I'm pretty sure I can do that without the idatalink maestro.
Shawn1112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 12:46 PM   #2
Chevy Humper
 
EmersonHart13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 44,972
Casino cash: $53940000
10.25 per day
Default

@smug

damn - Last Activity: 09-24-2018 06:34 PM
Shawn1112 likes this.
EmersonHart13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 12:55 PM   #3
I eat dirt
 
ilikemtb999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 68,455
Casino cash: $30743000
15.97 per day
Default

I have the maestro in my 2010. All of the chimes and warnings run thru the headunit on it. If you want to keep steering wheel controls, rear audio controls etc, you’re going to need it. The 14 should be the same as mine being a gmt900 chassis still.
SleeperLS and Shawn1112 like this.
__________________
85 blazer.........turbo, 1 ton axles, some stuff
70 Buick GS.......resurrection in progress
10 Tahoe SSV lowered Baja edition
14 Caprice PPV woop woop
ilikemtb999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 12:56 PM   #4
I eat dirt
 
ilikemtb999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 68,455
Casino cash: $30743000
15.97 per day
Default

You also get some gauges as well thru it with a pioneer head unit. Not necessary but a cool add on. It’s also programmable thru software for different features as is the most complete kit I’ve found. I had a PAC brand integration box and it sucked so I returned it to amazon.
Yaj Yak and Shawn1112 like this.
ilikemtb999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 12:58 PM   #5
 
Shawn1112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Streamwood
Posts: 6,442
Casino cash: $69408300
1.97 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilikemtb999 View Post
I have the maestro in my 2010. All of the chimes and warnings run thru the headunit on it. If you want to keep steering wheel controls, rear audio controls etc, youíre going to need it. The 14 should be the same as mine being a gmt900 chassis still.
Chimes and warnings might be needed, but from what I saw you have to connect a separate small round speaker, is that correct?

Steering wheel controls can be kept with the correct harness.
Rear audio controls I could care less, nobody will ever use it.
Shawn1112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 01:01 PM   #6
 
Shawn1112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Streamwood
Posts: 6,442
Casino cash: $69408300
1.97 per day
Default

Also where is your maestro? I already have to make some room behind the head unit as this particular head unit requires 1/4" more than others. With that being said, space will be at a premium. Wonder if I could put the maestro in the glove box.
Shawn1112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 01:03 PM   #7
Harbor Master
 
Yaj Yak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 87,868
Casino cash: $144279000
19.79 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn1112 View Post
Also where is your maestro? I already have to make some room behind the head unit as this particular head unit requires 1/4" more than others. With that being said, space will be at a premium. Wonder if I could put the maestro in the glove box.
i have all these things with a kenwood android auto/carplay head unit

everything fit behind the head unit

albeit snug as FUCK

my kenwood reads obd2 also and shows some neat stuff but i barely use it.
Shawn1112 likes this.
__________________
01 525i
01 turbo pricks
13 gas 3500hd cclb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Outlaw View Post
TCG: We pull vanity fair models in our F150ís because Teslaís are unsafe.
Yaj Yak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 01:12 PM   #8
I eat dirt
 
ilikemtb999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 68,455
Casino cash: $30743000
15.97 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn1112 View Post
Also where is your maestro? I already have to make some room behind the head unit as this particular head unit requires 1/4" more than others. With that being said, space will be at a premium. Wonder if I could put the maestro in the glove box.
There’s a shelf behind the hvac controls that I put it on. There’s room back there even with the double din. The maestro needed a harness that was like $30 that came with the speaker too. It’s loud, I need to put something over it to quiet it down.


Oh yea It has the obd2 code reader stuff too.
Yaj Yak and Shawn1112 like this.
ilikemtb999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 01:12 PM   #9
I eat dirt
 
ilikemtb999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 68,455
Casino cash: $30743000
15.97 per day
Default

The hvac controls are basically a thin panel with some plugs, plenty of room there.
ilikemtb999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 01:12 PM   #10
Harbor Master
 
Yaj Yak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 87,868
Casino cash: $144279000
19.79 per day
Default

i wrapped my speaker (as i always do with gm installs) with a rag taped around the speaker
Yaj Yak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 01:13 PM   #11
Harbor Master
 
Yaj Yak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 87,868
Casino cash: $144279000
19.79 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilikemtb999 View Post
The hvac controls are basically a thin panel with some plugs, plenty of room there.
our setups may be slightly different, there was no room there for me
Yaj Yak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 01:30 PM   #12
 
Shawn1112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Streamwood
Posts: 6,442
Casino cash: $69408300
1.97 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilikemtb999 View Post
Thereís a shelf behind the hvac controls that I put it on. Thereís room back there even with the double din. The maestro needed a harness that was like $30 that came with the speaker too. Itís loud, I need to put something over it to quiet it down.


Oh yea It has the obd2 code reader stuff too.
Where did u mount that speaker and is it needed?
With the Maestro the chimes wonít play thru OEM speakers?
Shawn1112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 01:43 PM   #13
I eat dirt
 
ilikemtb999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 68,455
Casino cash: $30743000
15.97 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaj Yak View Post
our setups may be slightly different, there was no room there for me
Silverado/Sierra dash is a bit different as is the center consoles. The vents are on top of the stereo/hvac center section and sits lower in the Tahoe. I think that’s what opens up the backside a bit more.
Yaj Yak likes this.
ilikemtb999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 01:47 PM   #14
I eat dirt
 
ilikemtb999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 68,455
Casino cash: $30743000
15.97 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn1112 View Post
Where did u mount that speaker and is it needed?
With the Maestro the chimes wonít play thru OEM speakers?
I mounted the speaker on top of the maestro box in the same spot. Once it’s opened up you’ll see where I’m talking about. I’m going to be adding heated seats soon and will be putting the switches in that little cubby under it so I can snap some pics if you want. You can reach up behind it and feel though where there’s a big void.


You need the speaker. That’s where you turn signals, seat belts and any other chime will come from. They have a pretty easy to use website that’ll show you what you need vs suggest. The maestro is the integration box and I think came with the speaker. The add on wiring kit is what contains your plugs and wiring. Just buy it, it’s ljke $130 for your $50k Tahoe
Shawn1112 likes this.
ilikemtb999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 01:48 PM   #15
Harbor Master
 
Yaj Yak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 87,868
Casino cash: $144279000
19.79 per day
Default

honestly id just buy the maestro, it's slick as fuck.
Shawn1112 likes this.
Yaj Yak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 01:50 PM   #16
 
Shawn1112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Streamwood
Posts: 6,442
Casino cash: $69408300
1.97 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilikemtb999 View Post
I mounted the speaker on top of the maestro box in the same spot. Once itís opened up youíll see where Iím talking about. Iím going to be adding heated seats soon and will be putting the switches in that little cubby under it so I can snap some pics if you want. You can reach up behind it and feel though where thereís a big void.


You need the speaker. Thatís where you turn signals, seat belts and any other chime will come from. They have a pretty easy to use website thatíll show you what you need vs suggest. The maestro is the integration box and I think came with the speaker. The add on wiring kit is what contains your plugs and wiring. Just buy it, itís ljke $130 for your $50k Tahoe
Yeah I'm going to probably get it, and the Tahoe stickered at $62k 4 years ago, paid less than half of that
ilikemtb999 likes this.
Shawn1112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 01:51 PM   #17
 
Shawn1112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Streamwood
Posts: 6,442
Casino cash: $69408300
1.97 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaj Yak View Post
honestly id just buy the maestro, it's slick as fuck.
I'm going to. Was going to run 2 separate harnesses to connect the head unit and the SWC which will set me back like $70. Might as well spend the extra $60ish
Yaj Yak likes this.
Shawn1112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 01:53 PM   #18
 
Shawn1112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Streamwood
Posts: 6,442
Casino cash: $69408300
1.97 per day
Default

Also Crutchfield is willing to price match Sonic who is cheaper on everything
Yaj Yak likes this.
Shawn1112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 02:01 PM   #19
I eat dirt
 
ilikemtb999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 68,455
Casino cash: $30743000
15.97 per day
Default

The maestro plus the wiring kit gets you steering controls. You just program them in
Yaj Yak and Shawn1112 like this.
ilikemtb999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 02:01 PM   #20
 
bnr32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 403
Casino cash: $12076296
0.19 per day
Default

I used the maestro on my buick / kenwood install. made things easier and programming the button presses was nice if you wanted some custom features. The speaker is a small unit by it'self but its is loud. wrap it or people on the phone via bluetooth will ask you why is your turn signal so loud every time, ha ha.
Shawn1112 likes this.
bnr32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 02:02 PM   #21
I eat dirt
 
ilikemtb999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 68,455
Casino cash: $30743000
15.97 per day
Default

I bought mine from amazon. Idatalink also gives you the wiring harness chart for the Tahoe if you put your vehicle in.
Shawn1112 likes this.
ilikemtb999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 02:05 PM   #22
I eat dirt
 
ilikemtb999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 68,455
Casino cash: $30743000
15.97 per day
Default

Oh I forgot too, since you’re fancy it’ll work with the Bose stuff too
Shawn1112 likes this.
ilikemtb999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 02:09 PM   #23
 
Shawn1112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Streamwood
Posts: 6,442
Casino cash: $69408300
1.97 per day
Default

Lol
Shawn1112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2018, 06:35 PM   #24
I eat dirt
 
ilikemtb999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 68,455
Casino cash: $30743000
15.97 per day
Default

Hereís a shit pic behind the hvac. Thereís a slot behind the double din and then you can see the maestro and the speaker on the shelf behind the hvac.

Yaj Yak likes this.
ilikemtb999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2018, 08:31 PM   #25
 
Shawn1112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Streamwood
Posts: 6,442
Casino cash: $69408300
1.97 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilikemtb999 View Post
Hereís a shit pic behind the hvac. Thereís a slot behind the double din and then you can see the maestro and the speaker on the shelf behind the hvac.

Forgot to update this. Behind my HAVAC I didnít have room like that. It was a MFin PITA to tuck all the wires in the back. I didnít use that speaker as all my warning chimes are still coming thru factory speakers. 3 different antenna adapters and NONE fit, so as of now I have no local radio. I did however retain the factory Sirius radio antenna and plugged that in to the SiriusXM box. 2 things Iím not happy with.

1) OEM Bose speakers sound absolutely horrible at any volume above 20. I spent fucking HOURS playing with settings and customizing the built in EQ. Every other car I have ever installed an aftermarket deck in, it woke up the OEM speakers.

2) My lights including headlights and taillights dim really bad if I have the bass knob turned up halfway and volume halfway on head unit. I have had the same JL 750/1 amp in 3 different cars without a hint of any lights dimming. Thinking possibly weak battery in the truck. Iím assuming being a 2014 itís probably the original battery.
Shawn1112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
no new posts