Forum Register TCG Mobile Casino Live Posting Feed Garage Arcade Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   The Chicago Garage > The Garage > TCG Technical

User Tag List

Like Tree5Likes
  • 4 Post By b00sted
  • 1 Post By MS3Josh

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-18-2016, 09:12 PM   #1
He's Still Your President
 
b00sted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Not paying plastic bag taxes
Posts: 3,026
Casino cash: $24256760
0.94 per day
Default Anyone ever replace a BMW battery(e60)?

I've been reading around on a few forums, which is a joke because most of those guys don't know their ass from their elbow. But the one thing they keep talking about is registering the battery and reprogramming the computer or some shit due to the way the charging system works. I have no intention of doing that.

They also talk about not letting the iDrive system go without power. My car is already dead, so I'm beyond that point. Is it going to throw a bunch of errors or anything?
b00sted is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2016, 09:27 PM   #2
 
MS3Josh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: South Suburbs
Posts: 62
Casino cash: $2183500
0.05 per day
Default

When you replace the battery, you need to reprogram the car to the new battery. It is also advised to replace the OE AGM battery with another AGM. The shop i work at deals with a ton of European cars, and had had a few bmws towed in with a no start condition, and a few with overcharging issues after the owner's tried replacing the battery and not having it reprogrammed.
What year is your car?
MS3Josh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2016, 09:53 PM   #3
He's Still Your President
 
b00sted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Not paying plastic bag taxes
Posts: 3,026
Casino cash: $24256760
0.94 per day
Default

2004 525. I'm going to order the programming cable... It seems like it's nice to have for a variety of reasons.
b00sted is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2016, 10:04 PM   #4
 
MS3Josh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: South Suburbs
Posts: 62
Casino cash: $2183500
0.05 per day
Default

I could see that cable being very important of you own a BMW and want to work on it at all.
As far as the I Drive system, I have had a couple come in with no power and have not had any issues with them after getting them up and running again.
MS3Josh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2016, 10:12 PM   #5
He's Still Your President
 
b00sted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Not paying plastic bag taxes
Posts: 3,026
Casino cash: $24256760
0.94 per day
Default

Great, thanks for the info. I'm going to order the cable and then make sure I do whatever's necessary after installing the battery.

It does seem nice to have(and the popular cables are around $20)...Just to be able to read errors properly, etc.

What a pain in the ass though. I'm buying another Honda or something next time.
b00sted is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2016, 10:17 PM   #6
 
MS3Josh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: South Suburbs
Posts: 62
Casino cash: $2183500
0.05 per day
Default

I'll agree with you on the pain in the ass part. After working on European cars for a few months now, I definitely won't be buying one any time soon, the smallest things cause the biggest issues. Such as a simple battery replacement.
Does your bmw have the 4.4 v8?
b00sted likes this.
MS3Josh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2016, 10:31 PM   #7
He's Still Your President
 
b00sted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Not paying plastic bag taxes
Posts: 3,026
Casino cash: $24256760
0.94 per day
Default

Nope, 2.5L I6
b00sted is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2016, 11:20 AM   #8
Some Military Dude
 
cacicgtp7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Saint Charles, MO
Posts: 4,593
Casino cash: $26406625
1.18 per day
Default

I had an E90 with the same type of battery - Got a replacement from Autozone (instead of the 250 dollar batter BMW wanted) and then had an independent shop that does work on imports do the register for me. Had it done while getting an oil change one time.

It's not "needed" per say, but it's one of those better safe than sorry things. When you re-register the battery the car knows it's new and utilizes it a bit differently for power consumption compared to when the battery has been used for 4 years or what have you. Just make sure to replace it with the same type as someone said here before. You can't do a non- AGM to an AGM and vice versa or you have to reprogram the car.
__________________
2017 Lincoln Continental 3.0T

Sold: 2003 Kawasaki ZX-6R 636 (10.9 @ 133)
2008 Kawasaki ZZR600

USAF
"Aim high Airmen."
cacicgtp7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2016, 05:11 PM   #9
He's Still Your President
 
b00sted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Not paying plastic bag taxes
Posts: 3,026
Casino cash: $24256760
0.94 per day
Default

Just pulled the old battery. It was the smaller, incorrectly-sized one that Autozone, etc always tells people to buy. I went to interstate and got the proper sized one and I'm going to disable the Intelligent Battery System. It seems to be a common fix that a bunch of people have had success doing, so I'll give it a shot.

I'm definitely getting rid of this thing and buying a newer Civic or something. It's getting to the point now where there's always some sensor or device throwing an error...I don't want to deal with it any more.
b00sted is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
no new posts