Forum Register TCG Mobile Casino Live Posting Feed Garage Arcade Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   The Chicago Garage > The Garage > TCG Technical

User Tag List

Like Tree6Likes
  • 3 Post By Mook
  • 2 Post By rocket5979
  • 1 Post By willizm

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-16-2015, 02:01 PM   #1
Aka "That Focus RS Guy"
 
Thirdgen89GTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Buffalo Grove
Posts: 10,147
Casino cash: $98367300
3.15 per day
Default School me on Wideband options

Looking around, haven't found a lot. What i do know.

I am looking at the LC-2 kit from Innovate, I need a 0-5v linear output so I can feed it into the AC Pressure input on my LT1 PCM. This will let me insert Wideband O2 info directly into the OBD1 stream. I need a custom bit setting to play it back, but the info will the there, time stamped accurate with the MAP, MAF, and other bit streams.

I also want a gauge for displaying in the car. But I guess that isn't really necessary if I'm logging it with the PCM since anytime I'm doing tuning, I'll be looking at the data streams.

https://www.innovatemotorsports.com/...roductid=16236

Any reason not to buy this because something else is better?
__________________
Toy: 1989 Pontiac TransAm GTA | LT1 M6 Swap | Cammed, AFR 195s, LTs, SLP 2otL Catback
Daily Driver: 2017 Focus RS | Frozen White | RS2 Package | 350hp AWD Goodness.


Thirdgen89GTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 02:03 PM   #2
 
Mook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Elgin
Posts: 160,021
Casino cash: $92870000
36.03 per day
Default

AEM Uego ftw.
SRT41320, boost21 and snakebyte like this.
__________________
- TCG Owner & Operator -
Mook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 02:49 PM   #3
 
b4black's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oswego
Posts: 1,042
Casino cash: $18250000
0.26 per day
Default

I believe most units have a 0-5v output. I'm happy with my AEM. The processor is built into the gauge housing. Faceplate can be changed to match interior.

AEM 30-4110 Wideband UEGO kit - Great for Monitroing Air-Fuel Ratios - new LSU4.9 sensor
b4black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 03:13 PM   #4
1320 BUILT
 
SRT41320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lake in the Hills - IL
Posts: 8,029
Casino cash: $17466078
1.82 per day
Default

I've used multiple AEMs in the past with no issues at all. And they out put a 0-5v signal and i belive the newer ones can even shut your car down at a pre determined a\f
__________________
2002 Lincoln Town Car
1978 Ford Fairmont

SRT41320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 03:16 PM   #5
Aka "That Focus RS Guy"
 
Thirdgen89GTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Buffalo Grove
Posts: 10,147
Casino cash: $98367300
3.15 per day
Default

The gauge is less important to me as making sure the output can be made to work with one of the LT1 PCM inputs. So far, some have used the Low Coolant level sensor, others the AC Pressure input. Both are 5v inputs. And just require a custom bit definition in TTS Datamaster to display the right data in the log.

Its looking like the AEM will work fine for me. Just going to do some more reading to see if a anyone has run into problems using the AEM's with LT1 pcm inputs.
Thirdgen89GTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 03:33 PM   #6
 
NOMIEZVR4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 846
Casino cash: $11967400
0.44 per day
Default

I've been using an Innovate MTX for the past few years with no issues
__________________
1995 3000GT VR-4
[email protected]
34XXlbs
NOMIEZVR4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 03:49 PM   #7
Chevy Humper
 
EmersonHart13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 44,972
Casino cash: $53940000
10.25 per day
Default

I have:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B009AP975A/..._26725410_item

EmersonHart13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 04:19 PM   #8
 
boost21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,895
Casino cash: $13622200
0.58 per day
Default

Have had 4 AEM Uego's on both turbo and supercharged applications. Zero complaints.
__________________


04 Cobra
87 Notch

boost21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 04:42 PM   #9
TCG Conspiracy Lead Investigator
 
tinfoilhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Riding the Hubble
Posts: 36,376
Casino cash: $173484501
8.28 per day
Default

I have the innovate lc2. Its nice. I need to fix mine though
__________________
"It's never too cold for swamp ass."

XBO - NinjaTurtlThong

tinfoilhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 04:52 PM   #10
Gearhead
 
rocket5979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Round Lake, IL
Posts: 6,575
Casino cash: $7257600
1.32 per day
Default

I have installed and used AEM EUGO widebands, Innovate LC-1, LM-1, etc. I have had great success with all of them. The AEM was more plug and play of an install, but I can do more with the Innovate stuff. It has been about 8 years since I installed the AEM UEGO so I don't recall the configurability of the analog outputs, but I know that the Innovate will surely do everything that you want it to do.
Eagle and Donnie like this.
__________________
-Robert-
2009 Pontiac G8 GT 6.6-Twin Turbo, 402 stroker, built trans, fuel system, etc...
2005 Audi S4 4.2-Boltons...
2003 Explorer XLT 4.6-Kenne Bell 2.2 @20psi, Built 4.6, built 4R70W, fuel system, etc...

rocket5979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 04:59 PM   #11
Aka "That Focus RS Guy"
 
Thirdgen89GTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Buffalo Grove
Posts: 10,147
Casino cash: $98367300
3.15 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rocket5979 View Post
I have installed and used AEM EUGO widebands, Innovate LC-1, LM-1, etc. I have had great success with all of them. The AEM was more plug and play of an install, but I can do more with the Innovate stuff. It has been about 8 years since I installed the AEM UEGO so I don't recall the configurability of the analog outputs, but I know that the Innovate will surely do everything that you want it to do.
The reason the innovate was in mind is because in all the searching the LC-1 and LC-2 were consistently the ones people were using to add WBO2 streams to OBD1 PCMs. There is zero information on the AEMs, thats not to say they won't work, I just couldn't find a thread where someone actually tried to use one on a LT1 PCM.

Attempting to tune the car Narrowband is ridiculously frustrating. I've had to make changes so minute to stay safe and I'm never positive how accurate the long term BLM readings are to begin with.
Thirdgen89GTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 06:00 PM   #12
Nemo me impune lacessit
 
Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Woodsticks, IL
Posts: 62,485
Casino cash: $169857200
15.03 per day
Default

Innovate here! What you linked in the OP will meet all your critera!
__________________
2019 RAM 1500 Limited 4x4 CCLB
2008 BMW 535i - MHD tuned
2004 BMW 330xi - kids cruiser
2004 VW New Beetle 2.0
2018 KTM 500 EXC-F
2018 Skidoo Renegade Backcountry X 850
2015 Polaris Indy SP 800
Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 06:24 PM   #13
Ho fuckin Ho!
 
willizm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Saint John, IN
Posts: 10,324
Casino cash: $45099400
2.77 per day
Default

I really like my UEGO on my TA but more recently I bought an Innovate LM2. It's a more portable wideband so I can remove it quickly and put it on other cars and it integrates really well with HPTuners. I still have my UEGO as my primary wideband but could never get it to work well with HPT.
Eagle likes this.
__________________
turbo: exhaust gasses go into the turbocharger and spin it, witchcraft happens and you go faster.
1998 Supra Turbo 6speed swap in progress | 2010 Escalade Premium | 2006 Highlander

willizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 07:06 PM   #14
This is my safe space
 
OffshoreDrilling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 29,021
Casino cash: $128061000
6.68 per day
Default

i have a barely used innovate LC-1 I'd let go for $100. It was going in the truck before I sold it.

/spam
__________________
I recently had a sex change and bought a 10 Prius.

OffshoreDrilling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 07:16 PM   #15
Doing the jobs nobody wants to
 
Mr_Roboto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Joliet
Posts: 11,555
Casino cash: $2270000
4.24 per day
Default

Just FYI if you get a used non AEM/non Innovative controller be sure they don't take an NTK L1H1 sensor. They're out there but expensive.

I had an LC1 as well as a 14point7.com kit. The nice thing about either is they would let you specify your ranges. I bet the AEM does too though. With the LC1 you could even specify what you wanted for each output (say you needed NB for your ECU for instance it would emulate it.)

I've heard of grounding issues on the LC1 but I never had them myself. I may have been paranoid and overkilled mine a bit because of what I heard which is why it wasn't a problem. Then again some people like to use 3M Scotch Blocks on sensor connections so that's definitely possible too.

Sigma Lambda Controller OEM | 14Point7

This will probably be my next WB, just because I'll integrate it into my Megasquirt setup. The size is of huge benefit to me.
Mr_Roboto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2015, 12:31 PM   #16
Aka "That Focus RS Guy"
 
Thirdgen89GTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Buffalo Grove
Posts: 10,147
Casino cash: $98367300
3.15 per day
Default

I slogged through dozens of threads on the LC-2 and AEM WBs last night and this morning. Ended up reading them.

The AEM can output 0v = 10.0, and 5v = 20.0 AFR on the analog output. Which is what I need for the PCM, the gauge is the controller so I don't have to wire that up separate, its cheaper. And it doesn't need the free air calibration that the LC-2 needs. I read dozens of threads that talk about the LC-1 losing its free air calibration, though none were about the LC-2. Just don't want to have to deal with getting under the car to disconnect the WB, pull it, calibrate it. Then plug it all back in again.

So I went with the AEM.

Once this is in, and I get the hopefully false knock sorted out (I'm pretty sure I over-torqued the Knock Sensor, as i don't remember using a Torque Wrench at all *oops*).
Thirdgen89GTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2015, 12:39 PM   #17
TCGs Far Right Leader
 
Chester Copperpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Shithole, IL
Posts: 29,091
Casino cash: $6807400
8.65 per day
Default

I had the LC-2 for a while (I think Jeremy still has it) and never had a problem with the calibration. Was a great wideband.
Chester Copperpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2015, 12:41 PM   #18
Fast BoyZ of IllinoiZ
 
Xfirez51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Northwest Chicagoland
Posts: 1,797
Casino cash: $12141900
0.75 per day
Default

Here are a couple of alternatives:

TT-1 WB

Zeitronix Products : Zt-2 Wideband, LCD Display, ZR-2 Multigauge, DashDAQ Display, Bundled Kits, MAP/Pressure/Exhaust Gas Temperature Sensors, Warning/Trigger Accessories, E-85 Ethanol Content Analyzer

Have used the ZT-2 for many years. Very solid with PC based datalogging. Also has NB and WB outputs. Can also integrate MAP/TPS outputs as part of display.
Xfirez51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2015, 04:10 PM   #19
Ethanol Junkie.
 
Donnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tempe, AZ/SOUTHSIDE, IL.
Posts: 2,888
Casino cash: $7777865
1.06 per day
Default

Innovate will do everything you need and I stand by the brand almost exclusively. My LC1 is now six years old and still kicking, dead accurate and working like a charm. (That's about 60k miles of boost, nitrous, burnt oil, coolant and worse.)

I had terrible luck with AEM back in the day, as did local friends I did installs for, as did a bunch of the Supra guys, etc. Never, ever have looked back since.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Angus View Post
"But they have Vaginas" -Donnie, probably.
Donnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
no new posts