Forum Register TCG Mobile Casino Live Posting Feed Garage Arcade Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   The Chicago Garage > The Garage > TCG Technical

User Tag List

Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By lastls1
  • 1 Post By willizm
  • 1 Post By Lead Pipe
  • 1 Post By Smokinhot

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-30-2015, 08:02 AM   #1
 
ls1ta98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: palatine il
Posts: 76
Casino cash: $4906900
0.03 per day
Default lq4 in a 98 trans am

Hey ppl how hard is to put an 2003 gmc 2500 lq4 317 heads on a 98 trans am
ls1ta98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 08:07 AM   #2
 
lastls1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 9,769
Casino cash: $62807200
4.56 per day
Default

It bolts right up. All the parts and mounting areas are interchangeable
Smokinhot likes this.
lastls1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 08:10 AM   #3
 
lastls1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 9,769
Casino cash: $62807200
4.56 per day
Default

Wait are you talking engine swap or just swapping heads? Either way the heads will bolt right up as well. The 317 heads I believe will change your compresion ratio though
lastls1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 08:24 AM   #4
Ho fuckin Ho!
 
willizm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Saint John, IN
Posts: 10,321
Casino cash: $45049400
2.78 per day
Default

If swapping heads it will drop to approximately 9.5:1. If swapping the motor it is identical.
lastls1 likes this.
__________________
turbo: exhaust gasses go into the turbocharger and spin it, witchcraft happens and you go faster.
1998 Supra Turbo 6speed swap in progress | 2010 Escalade Premium | 2006 Highlander

willizm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 08:29 AM   #5
 
ls1ta98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: palatine il
Posts: 76
Casino cash: $4906900
0.03 per day
Default

Swapping the motor what about harnes and computer from the lq4 motor
ls1ta98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 08:31 AM   #6
Ho fuckin Ho!
 
willizm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Saint John, IN
Posts: 10,321
Casino cash: $45049400
2.78 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ls1ta98 View Post
Swapping the motor what about harnes and computer from the lq4 motor
You should be able to use your existing ls1 harness and PCM. I haven't done the swap myself, but that is my understanding. Anyone else have insight?
willizm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 08:42 AM   #7
Washington knows best
 
Lead Pipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 12,869
Casino cash: $46679799
4.05 per day
Default

LQ4's in Trans Am's is race car shit. It will swap right in and bolt up no problem. You have to run your T/A intake, oil pan and accessories. Harness and computer is all the same.

A couple things is you have to drill and tap an extra hole in the block to mount the PS pump or alternator, I forget which. Also If it is a 99 or 00 LQ4 with the iron heads the crank is 1/4' longer and won't mate to your trans.
Smokinhot likes this.
__________________
DSR
R.I.P. Ramon
Lead Pipe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 08:53 AM   #8
 
ls1ta98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: palatine il
Posts: 76
Casino cash: $4906900
0.03 per day
Default

I dont have the harnes and computer from the ls1 car just the one from the lq4 motor
ls1ta98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 08:57 AM   #9
Washington knows best
 
Lead Pipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 12,869
Casino cash: $46679799
4.05 per day
Default

You will need an f body harness. If it's a 98 T/A I would look for a 99+ PCM and harness. They can be found on tech pretty cheap. Unless you want to cut up the LQ harness and run it as a stand alone. The f body harness will have all the provisions for the TCM and BCM.

I just noticed you said 2003 LQ4 so you're good on everything lining up and plugging in.
Lead Pipe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 09:01 AM   #10
 
ls1ta98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: palatine il
Posts: 76
Casino cash: $4906900
0.03 per day
Default

So am gona need a new trans?
ls1ta98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 09:02 AM   #11
 
lastls1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 9,769
Casino cash: $62807200
4.56 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ls1ta98 View Post
So am gona need a new trans?
Just like all the engine components the transmission will bolt right up to the rear as well. Assuming 4L60 or what not

Edit: If you are talking like a truck 4L80 then you need a different driveshaft compared to the stock Fbody one. Shorter I believe. But Will would know more on that
lastls1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 09:12 AM   #12
Washington knows best
 
Lead Pipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 12,869
Casino cash: $46679799
4.05 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ls1ta98 View Post
So am gona need a new trans?
No, do you have a 4L60 or T56? Either will work.

What I'm saying is a harness from a 2003 truck will not just snap into an Fbody with out modification. The easier way is buying a 99+ fbody harness and PCM.
Lead Pipe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 09:26 AM   #13
3-man rules!!!!
 
Smokinhot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lansing, IL
Posts: 13,566
Casino cash: $32790829
3.09 per day
Default

Everything that @Lead Pipe has said is spot on.

On a side note, better get that 4l60e built. It will not last behind a 6.0.
Lead Pipe likes this.
__________________


'04 Chevy Silverado ECSB - stock go fast parts....

'12 Hyundai Accent SE - Daily Driver

79 Camaro - WORK IN PROGRESS.....

Smokinhot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 10:35 AM   #14
 
skeezer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Luke's Beef
Posts: 30,253
Casino cash: $24779900
7.18 per day
Default

lol some would be surprised about that
__________________
2016 Corvette Stingray Z51
skeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 10:58 AM   #15
 
ls1ta98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: palatine il
Posts: 76
Casino cash: $4906900
0.03 per day
Default

How an i find out what kind of trans is in the car ?
ls1ta98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 11:05 AM   #16
Doing the jobs nobody wants to
 
Mr_Roboto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Joliet
Posts: 11,533
Casino cash: $2030000
4.24 per day
Default

Is it an auto or a manual? Is the car original or was it tweaked? If it's original it's a 60E otherwise it could be damn near anything from a 'glide to a 6L90E
Mr_Roboto is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 11:11 AM   #17
 
ls1ta98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: palatine il
Posts: 76
Casino cash: $4906900
0.03 per day
Default

Its auto i think is the original not sure
ls1ta98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2015, 11:30 AM   #18
3-man rules!!!!
 
Smokinhot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Lansing, IL
Posts: 13,566
Casino cash: $32790829
3.09 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skeezer View Post
lol some would be surprised about that
I've heard stories where it lasted a while and others where it blew instantly. A stock 6.0 it could possibly last.
Smokinhot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
no new posts