Forum Register TCG Mobile Casino Live Posting Feed Garage Arcade Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   The Chicago Garage > The Garage > TCG Technical

User Tag List

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By 1quick

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-11-2015, 12:17 AM   #1
 
crooks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Elgin IL
Posts: 3,085
Casino cash: $153798
1.24 per day
Default Heet in E85?

Filled my tank up with e85 3min later check engine came on. Code is p2269 I think. Whatever the number its for water in fuel. Can I use heet with e85?
14 GM 1500 tank was less then an 1/8 and was e85. New e85 was from a different station.
crooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2015, 12:30 AM   #2
 
serb82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,075
Casino cash: $5451400
0.28 per day
Default

I think they make a water remover heet type fluid for e85, I know they also make stabil for e85 fuel
serb82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2015, 09:22 AM   #3
 
b4black's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oswego
Posts: 1,037
Casino cash: $18185000
0.26 per day
Default

E85 is mostly ethanol. Adding a few more ounces of Heet (which is either methanol or isopropanol) won't do anything.

E85 can absrob a lot of water before the fuel seperates. The ethanol and water mix together and the gasoline portion of E85 separates out and floats on top of the water/ethanol layer.

If this happens, the car won't start when cold. The gasoline is there to give the E85 vapor pressure. If the car is starting and running OK, then I suspect there is another problem going on. Maybe the Flex Fuel Sensor is bad.

If you did actaully get wet E85, then its likely that others are the same station did as well. If it were me, I would pump some fuel out of the engine's fuel rail into a glass jar and look at it. If it's hazy or separates into two layers, it's wet. I'd also buy another gallon from the station and look at it. Then I would talk to the station manager and see if anyone else complained. With the heavy rain we recently had, it's very possible that water made it's way into the underground staorage tank.
b4black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2015, 09:28 AM   #4
Ethanol Junkie.
 
Donnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tempe, AZ/SOUTHSIDE, IL.
Posts: 2,888
Casino cash: $7777865
1.06 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b4black View Post
If you did actaully get wet E85, then its likely that others are the same station did as well. If it were me, I would pump some fuel out of the engine's fuel rail into a glass jar and look at it. If it's hazy or separates into two layers, it's wet. I'd also buy another gallon from the station and look at it. Then I would talk to the station manager and see if anyone else complained. With the heavy rain we recently had, it's very possible that water made it's way into the underground staorage tank.
qft
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Angus View Post
"But they have Vaginas" -Donnie, probably.
Donnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2015, 10:10 AM   #5
 
crooks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Elgin IL
Posts: 3,085
Casino cash: $153798
1.24 per day
Default

Thanks.
The truck always cranks a little longer on e85. The truck starts and runs fine. I filled up at the shell on Randall by I90. I thought right by the highway the pump would get use but maybe not. I usually use the speedway on rt31 and rt72.
crooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2015, 11:49 AM   #6
 
crooks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Elgin IL
Posts: 3,085
Casino cash: $153798
1.24 per day
Default

The sensor was bad and just got replaced.
crooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2015, 02:21 PM   #7
 
crooks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Elgin IL
Posts: 3,085
Casino cash: $153798
1.24 per day
Default

So I got in the truck and the check engine is still on. I drove right back into the service bay. They say that the sensor is reading 100% alcohol not e85 or 85% and I have about 24 gallons in the tank. They think the light will go off after I burn through this tank and put some regular gas in it and sent me on my way.
crooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2015, 02:45 PM   #8
 
1quick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: coal city
Posts: 19,241
Casino cash: $142247447
4.60 per day
Default

I've had some pretty hot e85 but never that hot, I've seen 94% tested with my e85 tester
Donnie likes this.
__________________
2016 GT 5.slow
1quick is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2015, 03:03 PM   #9
 
crooks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Elgin IL
Posts: 3,085
Casino cash: $153798
1.24 per day
Default

Ya I dont know if I believe it.
crooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2015, 04:54 PM   #10
Ethanol Junkie.
 
Donnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tempe, AZ/SOUTHSIDE, IL.
Posts: 2,888
Casino cash: $7777865
1.06 per day
Default

Pull some from the tank and test it yourself.

Most I've ever gotten was like E91. Once. (I think)
Donnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2015, 11:24 PM   #11
 
crooks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Elgin IL
Posts: 3,085
Casino cash: $153798
1.24 per day
Default

I will do that. I went back to get another gallon and they told me the e85 tank was filled this morning. Then he said e85 gets refilled every 24 hours and the regular tanks get filled every 8.
crooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 09:44 AM   #12
 
b4black's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oswego
Posts: 1,037
Casino cash: $18185000
0.26 per day
Default

There is a problem using the field testers. They extract the ethanol from the flex fuel with either water or glycol. If the flex fuel is already wet, it will extract that water as well and show it as ethanol.

Ethanol is allowed to have 1% water before blending. I believe E85 can hold up to 15% before the gasoline floats out. If you get any results that higher than expected, it can be wet flex fuel.

That water will also mess with the flex fuel sensor. But the O2 sensor show still be able to control the engine just fine.
b4black is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
no new posts