Forum Register TCG Mobile Casino Live Posting Feed Garage Arcade Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   The Chicago Garage > The Garage > TCG Technical

User Tag List

Like Tree6Likes
  • 1 Post By l0wb00st
  • 1 Post By daturbosix
  • 1 Post By Zack
  • 2 Post By CVPI06
  • 1 Post By daturbosix

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-24-2015, 09:28 AM   #1
 
CVPI06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Palatine
Posts: 15
Casino cash: $4621000
0.01 per day
Post Completly Stumped

Hey everyone I could really use some help. First off I am not a master technician. I know a ton on suspension and brakes,
electrical and engine performance are not my strong suit.
I have a 2006 P71 (Crown Vic interceptor) currently around 109k miles. The issue is;
temps below 20 degrees and the car sits for about 2.5 hours it will not start the first time. If it is warmer the car will fire up without issue.

Vehicle cranks and cranks and cranks but will not fire up
until the 4th or 5th try. I have taken the car to 3 ford
dealers in the past 3 years with no answer to what the problem
could be.

Parts I've replaced in the past 2 years (maint. and just recently trying everything to cure the problem); Intake, maf, tps, tb motor, completly cleaned tb and plenum, fuel pump (1.5 y/o), fuel filter (1.5 y/o), new cop's, plugs, coolant head temp sensor, egr, camshaft sensor, and finally what I thought the fix would be - the fuel pump driver module (I got this at the junkyard to test my theory, it did not work. Figured I can't get a bad one what are the chances?) Next only reasonable option would be a new/used pcm to test?

Anyone here able to help me figure this out??
CVPI06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 09:58 AM   #2
TCG Conspiracy Lead Investigator
 
tinfoilhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Riding the Hubble
Posts: 36,376
Casino cash: $173484501
8.28 per day
Default

Battery?

When my battery was starting to go bad it wouldnt start when it was cold but would start everytime when warmer.
__________________
"It's never too cold for swamp ass."

XBO - NinjaTurtlThong

tinfoilhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 10:02 AM   #3
 
CVPI06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Palatine
Posts: 15
Casino cash: $4621000
0.01 per day
Default

I just replaced it. Only two weeks old.
CVPI06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 10:09 AM   #4
Forum Sponsor
 
daturbosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Aurora
Posts: 11,531
Casino cash: $50104918
2.77 per day
Default

does it crank slow? or slower than normal?
__________________
BY APPOINTMENT ONLY - 630.885.9333
daturbosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 10:10 AM   #5
 
CVPI06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Palatine
Posts: 15
Casino cash: $4621000
0.01 per day
Default

Nope, like lightning has hit my car. Cranks beautifully.
CVPI06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 10:10 AM   #6
Overbuild It, Or Don't Build It!
 
l0wb00st's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NW Suburbs
Posts: 1,146
Casino cash: $7525900
0.42 per day
Default

What about a FPR? Fuel pressure regulator
__________________
01 RHD JDM Evo VII 2.3L Stroker 640whp/550wtq - running out of fuel
13 Bagged Audi Allroad
98 Bagged BMW 740IL
l0wb00st is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 10:15 AM   #7
 
1998gpgt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 1,032
Casino cash: $9140734
0.25 per day
Default

Have you checked the fuel pressure at startup?
__________________
1998 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 337whp/363wtq 12.952 @ 112.02
1985 Olds Cutlass 455/TH350
2001 Ford Mustang GT
2014 Subaru Legacy
1998gpgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 10:18 AM   #8
Forum Sponsor
 
daturbosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Aurora
Posts: 11,531
Casino cash: $50104918
2.77 per day
Default

with it being an ex squad, there are always possibilities of wiring issues.. i would check the PCM relay and the fuel pump relay as both are known for getting lazy with age.

also make sure your fuel pump is infact coming on with key-on before starting.
there is a inertia switch the interrupts the fuel pump circuit in the trunk that is also known to become weak with age, however they usually fail to the point that you have to physically reset the switch for the vehicle to start.

there is no fuel pressure test port on these cars. so the only way to check is with a scanner.

also ford computers can be very picky about how much voltage they get. ive seen some that will start at 10.8 volts, but if theres 10.2 volts, she wont run. so if there is a excessive amount of resistance in a circuit you would see a voltage drop..

check all the main grounds for the car. there are a few behind the rear seat, and ALOT behind the passenger side kick panel.

and i also like to gut all the police wiring from the vehicle when i buy one. i dont want anything extra in that car causing issues down the road.
Eagle likes this.
daturbosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 10:33 AM   #9
 
CVPI06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Palatine
Posts: 15
Casino cash: $4621000
0.01 per day
Default

Fuel Pressure is good. Pump kicks on. Ive never looked at the relays. I guess I can just go and buy them they cant be that expensive. There are no extra wires that Ive came across. Only wires disconnected but those were under dash
CVPI06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 10:34 AM   #10
Mrrrrstang.
 
Dasfinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Wheaton, IL
Posts: 20,428
Casino cash: $45827559
4.74 per day
Default

I see you replaced the cam sensor, don't these cars have a Crank sensor as well that can cause random no-start conditions?
__________________
19 WRX STI, 13 Mustang GT Premium Vert', 03 Suburban, 99 Ranger (V8 Swap Project).
Dasfinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 10:34 AM   #11
4 Doors 4 Life
 
Zack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 6,295
Casino cash: $8049900
1.12 per day
Default

Someone is having this exact issue on Facebook,
The dealer disconnected the EVAP system last I checked and he was going to see if that fixed it.
CVPI06 likes this.
__________________
03 Marauder Whipple 3.4 [email protected] 715rwhp/655rwtq
03 Blue Marauder TurboCharged 620rwhp/626rwtq
93 Town Car 4V/Whipple 2.9 700rhwp/606rwtq
03 Black Marauder DD
1959 Cadillac!
Zack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 10:35 AM   #12
 
CVPI06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Palatine
Posts: 15
Casino cash: $4621000
0.01 per day
Default

I have the crank sensor on hand. Going to get to that hopefully today. That person on Facebook is me lol. I am tapping into all areas!
greasy and Eagle like this.
CVPI06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 11:16 AM   #13
Forum Sponsor
 
daturbosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Aurora
Posts: 11,531
Casino cash: $50104918
2.77 per day
Default

you can swap the relays with your defrost and a/c ones.. to try.. i like to use a paint marker and write what position they were originally in to help keep track
daturbosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 11:17 AM   #14
Forum Sponsor
 
daturbosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Aurora
Posts: 11,531
Casino cash: $50104918
2.77 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CVPI06 View Post
There are no extra wires that Ive came across. Only wires disconnected but those were under dash
do you have a harness that does nothing and goes to nothing in the trunk, comes up on the passenger side of the rear seat area?
daturbosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 11:19 AM   #15
Forum Sponsor
 
daturbosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Aurora
Posts: 11,531
Casino cash: $50104918
2.77 per day
Default

Name:  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1424798331.553052.jpg
Views: 96
Size:  219.4 KB

This is the extra police harness that I pulled out of my car when I got it
Eagle likes this.
daturbosix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 11:36 AM   #16
 
CVPI06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Palatine
Posts: 15
Casino cash: $4621000
0.01 per day
Default

Nope. The only wires in the trunk are the auxilary power. Ive had my seat out and never saw that.
CVPI06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 11:41 AM   #17
 
CVPI06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Palatine
Posts: 15
Casino cash: $4621000
0.01 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daturbosix View Post
you can swap the relays with your defrost and a/c ones.. to try.. i like to use a paint marker and write what position they were originally in to help keep track
From what i'm reading in the owners manual they all have different amperages. I read this was a possibility but that was on a 05.
CVPI06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 04:57 PM   #18
DJ
Forum Sponsor
 
DJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,030
Casino cash: $7009325
0.21 per day
Default

I feel in this situation you need to start from the beginning and see if you are missing your spark or fuel because it's obvious one has been taken out of the equation. Can always go old school, pull a plug, ground it to the block and have someone bump the ignition.
__________________
94 Mustang GT - not stock
08 Jeep Grand Cherokee - OME lift
03 Ford Expedition - Tow Rig
Big Stickers and Signs - Owner
844-399-7274
DJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 01:38 AM   #19
 
Wrencher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 115
Casino cash: $5244300
0.04 per day
Default

Fords turn the ses of cranking with a valid crank synch signal just FYI. < look for....
I'm betting it's not building fuel pressure on a cold start.

Tried cycling the key on those cold starts (without cranking engine) to see if it alleviates or lessens the symptom?

If you have a scan tool you can what the fuel pump command to the FCM.
Also can check the fuel rail pressure sensor build up with the scan data.

But usually I end up with a flow/pressure gauge & a oscilloscope to find these.
Checking the pressure/flow & current ramp the pump with a scope on a cold start.
Those & the pcm's commanded duty cycle to the fpm.
You put a pump in...a decent one?
Wrencher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 08:40 PM   #20
 
CVPI06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Palatine
Posts: 15
Casino cash: $4621000
0.01 per day
Default

Problem solved. Turns out the junkyard fpdm was also bad. I guess I should play the lotto now since I found a panther in the yards with possibly the same issue. Anyway I used that credit for another module and presto problem solved.

Thanks everyone for the ideas and help. I'm going to call the last dealer i left my car at for two weeks and brag about I how found it but not tell them the exact problem.
CVPI06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
no new posts