Forum Register TCG Mobile Casino Live Posting Feed Garage Arcade Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   The Chicago Garage > The Garage > TCG Technical

User Tag List

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By bikrboy128
  • 2 Post By OffshoreDrilling

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-20-2014, 12:27 AM   #1
Broke Dodge owner
 
frosty23_45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Coal City, IL
Posts: 1,237
Casino cash: $9474816
0.30 per day
Default trying to recharge the a/c system

Ok, so I tackled replacing the heater and evap core in my mom's 2005 Jeep Liberty. Was not fun in the slightest. Anyway, so after replacing said parts. Hooked up a can of refrigerant with a gauge on it, showed nothing. Good so far right? So I add a little, compressor still doesn't kick on, go a little more till I hit about 35psi. Compressor kicks on, good. Then it shuts off after about 5 seconds and back on after about 5 seconds and continues to do this. Watching the gauge its going from about 35psi without the compressor running to virtually no pressure when it kicks on, which causes it to shut off. So I'm thinking it's still low, add a little more and then it still does the same thing just more pressure while the compressor is not running and basically nothing when it kicks on.

I know if there's too little pressure the compressor won't kick on, same thing if the pressure gets too high, but wtf am I dealing with here? I let some of the pressure out of the system cause it would go into the red area on the gauge if I turned off the a/c or the car. I'm at the end of my knowledge with the a/c system. Any ideas?
__________________
05 Dodge Magnum R/T

Mopar CAI, Street Edge Coil-overs
frosty23_45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 12:47 AM   #2
Some say.....
 
bikrboy128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wheaton
Posts: 10,601
Casino cash: $27111645
2.42 per day
Default

how big is the can of refrigerant? the system holds ~1.5lbs of freon.

the system needs to be evacuated and put in a vacuum to purge the air and remove all moisture, then charged with the proper amount of refrigerant.

the can of freon is meant for topping the system off, which still isnt the right way to do it but it works.
OffshoreDrilling likes this.
__________________
06 M6 GTO - stock garage queen - sold
12 Acura MDX - winter beater
03 Honda S2000 - 100 grand under the hood
05 Kawasaki STX-15f - braaap
79 Kawasaki KZ750 vertical twin - old and slow
82 Honda VF750 Magna - old and slightly faster
bikrboy128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 06:04 AM   #3
This is my safe space
 
OffshoreDrilling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 29,012
Casino cash: $127951000
6.68 per day
Default

It's refrigerant, not freon. That irks me to no end when people say it! freon is DuPont's trade name for R-12 refrigerant.

Like it was said, the system needs to be evacuated with a vacuum pump to remove any air and moisture in the system. The reason you have a high pressure like that is the result of non-condensibles in your system. Refrigeration is a process that involves absorbing and transferring heat by evaporating and condensing refrigerant. Refrigerants have a very specific temperature/pressure relationship as to when they evaporate and condense. All components of a refrigeration system take this into account and are engineered to work specifically with an individual refrigerant. The air and moisture in a system, from not evacuating, do not condense into a liquid in that environment and cause your high pressure situation. Any refrigerant in the system at this point, is also unusable.
bikrboy128 and Ti28 like this.
__________________
I recently had a sex change and bought a 10 Prius.

OffshoreDrilling is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 07:08 AM   #4
Broke Dodge owner
 
frosty23_45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Coal City, IL
Posts: 1,237
Casino cash: $9474816
0.30 per day
Default

Ok, thanks. Thought I might need to get a vacuum pulled on it. Was gonna see if this would work though. I had 2 - 12 ounce cans btw.
frosty23_45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 08:07 AM   #5
Cupcake
 
Ti28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Bartlett
Posts: 9,476
Casino cash: $1731519
4.01 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bikrboy128 View Post
how big is the can of refrigerant? the system holds ~1.5lbs of freon.

the system needs to be evacuated and put in a vacuum to purge the air and remove all moisture, then charged with the proper amount of refrigerant.

the can of freon is meant for topping the system off, which still isnt the right way to do it but it works.
Correct! And charging from a vacuum it should be charged as a liquid and not a gas.
Ti28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 11:26 AM   #6
Some say.....
 
bikrboy128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Wheaton
Posts: 10,601
Casino cash: $27111645
2.42 per day
Default

Most shops charge under $100 to evacuate, pull vacuum, and recharge the system. Well worth it imo, the system will never perform right otherwise
bikrboy128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 11:55 AM   #7
Broke Dodge owner
 
frosty23_45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Coal City, IL
Posts: 1,237
Casino cash: $9474816
0.30 per day
Default

Yeah she's gonna try to get it in somewhere in the next couple days
frosty23_45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
no new posts