Forum Register TCG Mobile Casino Live Posting Feed Garage Arcade Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   The Chicago Garage > Classifieds > For Sale - Misc

User Tag List

Like Tree13Likes
  • 1 Post By EmersonHart13
  • 5 Post By Mook
  • 2 Post By tinfoilhat
  • 1 Post By SMKE EM
  • 1 Post By BeerOrGasoline
  • 1 Post By TommyGloves
  • 1 Post By BeerOrGasoline
  • 1 Post By EmersonHart13

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-23-2017, 09:54 AM   #1
Chevy Humper
 
EmersonHart13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 44,899
Casino cash: $53165000
10.25 per day
Default FS Nest Learning Thermostat

I bought Ecobees so up for sale is a very good condition freshly reset Nest second generation.



It comes with the backing pate, mounting plate and trim plate as well as some screws. Not sure if I have the box anymore.

$100 or best offer. I live down south and work up north twice a week.

Lets make a deal!
ilikemtb999 likes this.
EmersonHart13 is offline  
Old 11-23-2017, 10:57 AM   #2
Forum Sponsor
 
daturbosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Aurora
Posts: 11,522
Casino cash: $49994918
2.77 per day
Default

if bought used. can i still get the comed rebate?
__________________
BY APPOINTMENT ONLY - 630.885.9333
daturbosix is offline  
Old 11-23-2017, 11:05 AM   #3
TCG Conspiracy Lead Investigator
 
tinfoilhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Riding the Hubble
Posts: 36,278
Casino cash: $172484501
8.26 per day
Default

No, you need a dated receipt from somewhere
__________________
"It's never too cold for swamp ass."

XBO - NinjaTurtlThong

tinfoilhat is online now  
Old 11-23-2017, 11:06 AM   #4
Forum Sponsor
 
daturbosix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Aurora
Posts: 11,522
Casino cash: $49994918
2.77 per day
Default

damnit
daturbosix is offline  
Old 11-23-2017, 11:32 AM   #5
Chevy Humper
 
EmersonHart13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 44,899
Casino cash: $53165000
10.25 per day
Default

Correct, I think I bought this with the rebate
EmersonHart13 is offline  
Old 11-23-2017, 02:59 PM   #6
 
Shawn1112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Streamwood
Posts: 6,421
Casino cash: $69178300
1.96 per day
Default

How hard are these to install, same as regular t-stat? Anything else have to be done to the furnace?
Shawn1112 is offline  
Old 11-23-2017, 03:05 PM   #7
 
Mook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Elgin
Posts: 159,858
Casino cash: $90990000
36.02 per day
Default

I installed mine in like 20 minutes. So thats saying alot, lol.
__________________
- TCG Owner & Operator -
Mook is online now  
Old 11-23-2017, 03:16 PM   #8
Chevy Humper
 
EmersonHart13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 44,899
Casino cash: $53165000
10.25 per day
Default

Super easy.

I can talk you through it.
EmersonHart13 is offline  
Old 11-23-2017, 03:22 PM   #9
TCG Conspiracy Lead Investigator
 
tinfoilhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Riding the Hubble
Posts: 36,278
Casino cash: $172484501
8.26 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn1112 View Post
How hard are these to install, same as regular t-stat? Anything else have to be done to the furnace?
Wiring is the same as a regular modern tstat. Just more options for customization.
Shawn1112 and GTvert90 like this.
tinfoilhat is online now  
Old 11-27-2017, 10:45 PM   #10
Banned
 
SMKE EM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: NWI
Posts: 717
Casino cash: $8015000
0.73 per day
Default

The only issue you may run into with a modern thermostat is you may not have a C wire. You need a constant 24v supply to the newer thermostats for obvious reasons, but if you can fish a new wire set down to your furnace its super ease to install
SMKE EM is offline  
Old 11-28-2017, 05:28 AM   #11
Chevy Humper
 
EmersonHart13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 44,899
Casino cash: $53165000
10.25 per day
Default

The nest has a battery to allow for this and in lost cases you donít need a c wire....
EmersonHart13 is offline  
Old 11-28-2017, 12:58 PM   #12
Banned
 
SMKE EM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: NWI
Posts: 717
Casino cash: $8015000
0.73 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EmersonHart13 View Post
The nest has a battery to allow for this and in lost cases you donít need a c wire....
Sorry didn't know that, that's a very cool feature so you don't have to rewire your furnace
EmersonHart13 likes this.
SMKE EM is offline  
Old 11-28-2017, 01:23 PM   #13
Chevy Humper
 
EmersonHart13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 44,899
Casino cash: $53165000
10.25 per day
Default

Yeah, there are cases when it doesn't work, like my garage... I think because the furnace didn't run very much and the wifi signal was weak so it was using lots of juice I had to run a C wire. My inside furnace doesn't have a common but never had that issue.
EmersonHart13 is offline  
Old 11-28-2017, 04:55 PM   #14
Me & Dead Owls Don't Give a Hoot.
 
BeerOrGasoline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Lenox, IL
Posts: 3,529
Casino cash: $25514
0.93 per day
Default

more deets on how you got this to run in garage. My interest is piqued. I'm looking at a vented gas heater for the gayrage and wouldn't mind a 2nd Nest running dat bish.
EmersonHart13 likes this.
__________________
-Dan
2015 Ford F150 Lariat 3.5L EcoBoost *Livernois'd*
2006 Ford Mustang 4.0L
2011 Harley-Davidson Iron 883
2017 Polaris Sportsman 570 SP
1998 Yamaha SRX700

"It's a gallon of gas or a cold six-pack"
BeerOrGasoline is online now  
Old 11-28-2017, 05:43 PM   #15
Chevy Humper
 
EmersonHart13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 44,899
Casino cash: $53165000
10.25 per day
Default

Ill hit you up tomorrow. Remind me, about to take out the better half...
EmersonHart13 is offline  
Old 11-28-2017, 05:45 PM   #16
 
TommyGloves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: CHICAGO
Posts: 5,615
Casino cash: $18423103
1.29 per day
Default

You can use this adapter to "add" the 5th wire functionality. I had installed this on my furnace/AC unit and it worked great when I had the Honeywell smart t-stat.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0013LVDQA

When I swapped out to an Ecobee 2 years ago it came with a similar adapter.

Actually, here's the link that I had bookmarked that helped explain the options:

https://smartthermostatguide.com/the...ire-explained
EmersonHart13 likes this.
__________________
Double D Racing: Over-engineered and under-funded
Team OCD: Over-prepared and under appreciated
2017 540xi MSport | 2015 Santa Fe Sport 2.0T Ultimate | 2005 Saab 9-3 Aero | 1999 GTP
TommyGloves is offline  
Old 11-28-2017, 08:02 PM   #17
Chevy Humper
 
EmersonHart13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 44,899
Casino cash: $53165000
10.25 per day
Default

I used the ecobee adapter as well for my insider thermo when i installed my 4
EmersonHart13 is offline  
Old 11-29-2017, 10:31 AM   #18
Me & Dead Owls Don't Give a Hoot.
 
BeerOrGasoline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Lenox, IL
Posts: 3,529
Casino cash: $25514
0.93 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EmersonHart13 View Post
Ill hit you up tomorrow. Remind me, about to take out the better half...
Send Newdz
EmersonHart13 likes this.
BeerOrGasoline is online now  
Old 11-29-2017, 11:01 AM   #19
Chevy Humper
 
EmersonHart13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 44,899
Casino cash: $53165000
10.25 per day
Default

So I have a Beacon Morris Forced Air heater from Menards. Installed in the back corner facing the garage door. I ran a full thermostat wire accross the garage because you should always mount your thermostat on the warm wall to prevent false readings and it helps with wifi range as the NEST is sensitive to this. You can also run a C wire kit if you already have wiring in place. Now my garage furnace was not designed with a C wire coming out the back but I discovered when I opened the side panel and looked at the circuit board that there was an output on the board so I added it on after testing it and boom, problem solved.

Now for NEST I added that thermo to a separarate house so I could treat it like a business.



why? because I wanted it to go away at night whereas a nest home will not do this. What did I miss?
EmersonHart13 is offline  
Old 11-29-2017, 11:13 AM   #20
Me & Dead Owls Don't Give a Hoot.
 
BeerOrGasoline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Lenox, IL
Posts: 3,529
Casino cash: $25514
0.93 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EmersonHart13 View Post
So I have a Beacon Morris Forced Air heater from Menards. Installed in the back corner facing the garage door. I ran a full thermostat wire accross the garage because you should always mount your thermostat on the warm wall to prevent false readings and it helps with wifi range as the NEST is sensitive to this. You can also run a C wire kit if you already have wiring in place. Now my garage furnace was not designed with a C wire coming out the back but I discovered when I opened the side panel and looked at the circuit board that there was an output on the board so I added it on after testing it and boom, problem solved.

Now for NEST I added that thermo to a separarate house so I could treat it like a business.



why? because I wanted it to go away at night whereas a nest home will not do this. What did I miss?

Gotcha, so you made a 2nd home in the app to go into "away" mode?
BeerOrGasoline is online now  
Old 11-29-2017, 11:20 AM   #21
Chevy Humper
 
EmersonHart13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 44,899
Casino cash: $53165000
10.25 per day
Default

Yessir. And that home is a business. Took me a while to figure that out. Also now with Eco Mode as an option you can just force the garage into eco mode when you leave which is lower temps. Then you don't have to worry about home/away.

Also when I initially set my garage up I had an interrupt for the heat wire setup so when the door was open it didn't allow the heat to run. Now with my Ecobee and Smartthings I have door and window sensors and it automatically cuts the heat if anything is left open for more 10 minutes. I also have an auto close on my garage door that closes at 10 minutes provided nothing is blocking the door.
BeerOrGasoline likes this.
EmersonHart13 is offline  
Old 11-30-2017, 11:19 AM   #22
Chevy Humper
 
EmersonHart13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 44,899
Casino cash: $53165000
10.25 per day
Default

SOLD lock i tup
EmersonHart13 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
no new posts