No drivers License for high school dropouts?

Votin' for needin' education for drivin'

• Agree - I graduated highschool/completed ged

Votes: 19 46.3%
  • Agree - I didn't graduate highschool/completed ged

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Disagree - I graduated highschool/completed ged

Votes: 20 48.8%
  • Disagree - I didn't graduate highschool/completed ged

Votes: 2 4.9%

• Total voters

willizm

Very Nice, Very Evil
TCG Premium
May 13, 2009
The Woodlands, TX
Just read a bit of this article on autoblog. Thought it was thought provoking. i'd love to be hardnosed and say I agree with this, but at the same time I'd say I don't. It would just promote more problems in our economy and your ability to complete highschool doesn't dictate your driving capability IMO.

Thoughts?

Poll added: Do you agree or disagree that drivers that drop out of highschool should not be allowed to attain a drivers license.

http://www.autoblog.com/2011/06/09/should-governments-be-allowed-to-ban-drop-outs-from-getting-lice/

mclovin-license.jpg

Passing your high school courses and passing your driver's license test are two very different things. Though they're independent of each other now, lawmakers in some states are trying to tie the two together. Certain states are examining legislation that would bar high school drop-outs from getting a driver's license?

States including Georgia, Massachusetts, Texas, New York and Michigan, are in favor of these anti-drop measures. The idea behind the proposed laws is that kids would be more likely to stay in school if the privilege of driving an automobile were at stake. Other states, like California, Illinois, Florida and Ohio don't see things the same way. Those against the laws argue that parents are ultimately the ones who should be in charge of revoking driving privileges, not the state.