Forum Register TCG Mobile Casino Live Posting Feed Garage Arcade Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   The Chicago Garage > General Discussion > Off Topic

User Tag List

Like Tree1252Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-17-2014, 09:15 AM   #2851
Nemo me impune lacessit
 
Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Woodsticks, IL
Posts: 62,478
Casino cash: $169767200
15.14 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tinfoilhat View Post
@Mook

Does lux dim the screen lower then the lowest setting in the standard brightness settings menu?
The S5 already goes really dark right out of the box...
__________________
2019 RAM 1500 Limited 4x4 CCLB
2008 BMW 535i - MHD tuned
2004 BMW 330xi - kids cruiser
2004 VW New Beetle 2.0
2018 KTM 500 EXC-F
2018 Skidoo Renegade Backcountry X 850
2015 Polaris Indy SP 800
Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 09:16 AM   #2852
Do people even read this? COCKSUCKAS
 
tinfoilhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Riding the Hubble
Posts: 35,927
Casino cash: $168764501
8.23 per day
Default

I don't have the s5 though
__________________
"It's never too cold for swamp ass."

XBO - NinjaTurtlThong
DD - 06 Cobalt SS/SC

tinfoilhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 09:17 AM   #2853
 
Mook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Elgin
Posts: 159,191
Casino cash: $82945000
36.09 per day
Default

Dan is so rabidly against lux Even tho its superior to factory auto brightness (tho admittedly, the s5 handles it pretty well).

And before he has a chance to comment, yes, lux was causing my s5 to essentially crash constantly. Until I disabled ART and went back to dalvik...problem solved. I'm back to running it again.
tinfoilhat likes this.
__________________
- TCG Owner & Operator -
We're in the Google Play and iOS App stores!

Mook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 09:59 AM   #2854
If you fail to plan, you're planning to fail
 
Gav'sPurpleZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pingree Grove IL
Posts: 31,672
Casino cash: $93644950
7.68 per day
Default

thank god for you phone geeks.... cuz i dont know WTF you are talking about
who's ART ?
ldyzluvdis06 likes this.
__________________
1998 Z/28 1 of 95 BPM
Enough bolt ons / DRs
2016 GMC SIERRA SLT

Gav Details on YouTube:
https://www.youtube.com/c/GavDetails
https://www.instagram.com/gavdetails/
Gav'sPurpleZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 10:01 AM   #2855
 
Mook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Elgin
Posts: 159,191
Casino cash: $82945000
36.09 per day
Default

Android Run Time. Its the new "backbone" so to speak for android. Makes things snappier and better battery life. But on pretty much 99% of phones, its not enabled yet. The s5 allows you to turn it on but some apps dont play nice with it so I had to revert back to default.
Mook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 10:04 AM   #2856
Nemo me impune lacessit
 
Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Woodsticks, IL
Posts: 62,478
Casino cash: $169767200
15.14 per day
Default

Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 10:05 AM   #2857
 
Mook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Elgin
Posts: 159,191
Casino cash: $82945000
36.09 per day
Default

I do nerd out on phones way more than I should
FastKatt and Gav'sPurpleZ like this.
Mook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 10:06 AM   #2858
TCGs Far Right Leader
 
Chester Copperpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Shithole, IL
Posts: 28,956
Casino cash: $5256400
8.69 per day
Default

I'm about to throw my iPhone into a brick wall and get something else. Email alerts aren't going through. I keep looking at that M8 my coworker got.
FastKatt and Gav'sPurpleZ like this.
Chester Copperpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 10:09 AM   #2859
Nemo me impune lacessit
 
Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Woodsticks, IL
Posts: 62,478
Casino cash: $169767200
15.14 per day
Default

Who got a M8 Carter?
Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 11:00 AM   #2860
TCGs Far Right Leader
 
Chester Copperpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Shithole, IL
Posts: 28,956
Casino cash: $5256400
8.69 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eagle View Post
Who got a M8 Carter?
Hood.
Chester Copperpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 11:09 AM   #2861
Nemo me impune lacessit
 
Eagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Woodsticks, IL
Posts: 62,478
Casino cash: $169767200
15.14 per day
Default

Ahhh, ok. S5 > M8!!!
Chester Copperpot likes this.
Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 12:36 PM   #2862
 
Pressure Ratio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 15,648
Casino cash: $78609076
3.15 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tinfoilhat View Post
@Mook

Does lux dim the screen lower then the lowest setting in the standard brightness settings menu?
Mine at -90 brightness turns the screen black. So ya, it can get dark. lol

Waiting for the proven Mook settings.
Pressure Ratio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 12:37 PM   #2863
 
Mook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Elgin
Posts: 159,191
Casino cash: $82945000
36.09 per day
Default

The lux settings I used on the m7 were a bit aggressive and not for everyone, but i'll definitely post them.
Pressure Ratio likes this.
Mook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 12:46 PM   #2864
 
Pressure Ratio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 15,648
Casino cash: $78609076
3.15 per day
Default

I don't know Mook. I have had this M7 for a day now. Not so sure it is worth all your hype. haha

You have a hard on for the metal case. It is so slick I can't hold on to the fucking thing. So it gets a plastic case making it feel like a plastic phone. lol

The Speakers are nice up front. But my S3 is louder and has better sounds. I turned off Beats audio like you mentioned. It got louder. But distorts so I have to turn it down so it doesn't distort. Negating any additional volume turning off Beat Audio gives you. Maybe it has bad speakers? It is a used phone after all.

It is snappier than my S3. It switches apps, screens and so on. It is nice for sure. But my data speeds seem slower at work with the m7 than with the S3. I even updated the profile and PRL.

I am gonna throw Nova Launcher on there and play with it some more this week. But maybe for someone that is more into geeking out their phone it would be noticeably better.
Eagle likes this.
Pressure Ratio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 12:49 PM   #2865
 
Mook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Elgin
Posts: 159,191
Casino cash: $82945000
36.09 per day
Default

Phone is lightyears ahead of the s3. The front speakers rape anything samsung offers on the audio department. There is definitely a downside to the speakers tho as you cant crank the shit out of them, something you obviously can do on the s3, s4, etc.

I never had a problem w/ the metal being slippery. Only reason I put a thin case on mine was b/c i dropped it in rocks and scraped the fuck out of it.

Data speeds are likely the modem loaded in. The modem baked into the s5 SUCKS for me. Example - I had better reception (so said the bars) on the m7 but slower data than my s5 with fewer bars. The bars dont mean shit these days.

Its a superior phone but it all boils down to personal preference obviously.
Mook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 04:36 PM   #2866
 
Mook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Elgin
Posts: 159,191
Casino cash: $82945000
36.09 per day
Default

So these are the settings I have for lux on my m7. I use a scaled down version on the s5. I didnt have any problems seeing the screen in direct sunlight, but mileage will vary.

First things first, load up the app, go to brightness, backlight zero point and change that value to 1.

While youre there, make sure automatic mode is set to dynamic. Under fluidity, Ive got both boxes checked and fade speed to faster and step size to large (i think those are default).

Go back to main menu, advanced, set poll rate to slowest (again, might be default).

Go back to main menu, profile editor -

At the top, I use "day".

You'll now need 3 fields. Two should exist. You can add a field at the bottom and press a set up field to edit. Fields should go as follows -

Lux: 0 and the % should be 1.
Lux: 320 and the % should be 18.
Lux: 10240 and the % should be 86.

That should be it. Play around and let me know what you think.

For comparison, on the s5 I run

Lux 0 / 4%
Lux 32 / 18%
Lux 10240 / 86%
Pressure Ratio likes this.
Mook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 06:16 PM   #2867
Dr. Pussy Slayer, MD
 
RICH17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The 007
Posts: 25,519
Casino cash: $110303144
6.59 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RICH17 View Post
Silly question. Anyone think going from a S3 to a S5 will improve my signal at work? I get no signal at work. And I am starting to think its the building. I never thought it was before and thought it was the shity sprint network. But I can go close to an outside wall and get better signal.

My coworkers with verizon have 4g all the time with an iphone5 and a S4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mook View Post
My signal is all over the place with the s5. I expect a new modem file in an upcoming update.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RICH17 View Post
hrmm. I went to the sprint store down the street and played with the s5. I really like it. The payment plan isnt bad either. And they're giving you a free tablet too with s5 purchase. I just dont know if I should just pay the disconnect fee and go to verizon. With this new position I am getting I need to use my phone for work. So I need signal. But I wont be in the building a lot. Ugh I am tossed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mook View Post
You got 15 days to return.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RICH17 View Post
True. But if I remember correctly I didnt notice an issue on my s3 right away
@BrianG
RICH17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 06:28 PM   #2868
Big Dick Team Octane
 
BrianG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Streamwood
Posts: 5,686
Casino cash: $17344875
1.45 per day
Default

I thought you had an S4???
BrianG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 06:28 PM   #2869
Dr. Pussy Slayer, MD
 
RICH17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The 007
Posts: 25,519
Casino cash: $110303144
6.59 per day
Default

Nope. S3. Laura has the 4
RICH17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 07:30 PM   #2870
TCGs Far Right Leader
 
Chester Copperpot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Shithole, IL
Posts: 28,956
Casino cash: $5256400
8.69 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eagle View Post
Ahhh, ok. S5 > M8!!!
Dat brushed aluminum case doe
ldyzluvdis06 likes this.
Chester Copperpot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 10:16 PM   #2871
Do people even read this? COCKSUCKAS
 
tinfoilhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Riding the Hubble
Posts: 35,927
Casino cash: $168764501
8.23 per day
Default

@Mook

Loving lux. Integrates with Tasker too!

Mook likes this.
tinfoilhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 10:51 PM   #2872
 
Pressure Ratio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 15,648
Casino cash: $78609076
3.15 per day
Default

Ok guys, I have two questions for the HTC One M7.

How do you get a screen shot?

How do you add multiple Gmail accounts to the app? I went to settings and I do not see where it usually says "add account".
Pressure Ratio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 10:52 PM   #2873
 
Mook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Elgin
Posts: 159,191
Casino cash: $82945000
36.09 per day
Default

Screen shot is up in the pulldown. Just pull down the notification tray, top right for the quick settings, screenshot is an option.
Mook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 10:54 PM   #2874
Do people even read this? COCKSUCKAS
 
tinfoilhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Riding the Hubble
Posts: 35,927
Casino cash: $168764501
8.23 per day
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pressure Ratio View Post
Ok guys, I have two questions for the HTC One M7.

How do you get a screen shot?

How do you add multiple Gmail accounts to the app? I went to settings and I do not see where it usually says "add account".
Just add the account within settings and it will pull your email if you sync it.
tinfoilhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 10:56 PM   #2875
Do people even read this? COCKSUCKAS
 
tinfoilhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Riding the Hubble
Posts: 35,927
Casino cash: $168764501
8.23 per day
Default

Also power + volume down will screen shot
tinfoilhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.0.6 (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
no new posts