So how would you do this?

1996BlackBauer

1996 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer V8 AWD
Oct 20, 2014
McHenry
Talking about life a little. I work at a dealership full time as an Apprentice, it is a Union shop, so I get great benefits, we're almost always busy, and I love the people I work with. BUT, its not exactly what I really want to do, I really want to be more on the performance side of things, Maybe a performance shop, or an engine shop, I have basic knowledge, but not nearly enough to just drop the job I have now, and start at another shop. So I want to learn, I mean sure I can read books, watch videos, ect., but I really learn a lot better, and faster If I am doing something hands on. So how can I do that?

I really don't want to spend another crap load of money on a specialty school, that only really shows me how to do half the stuff. I am sort of thinking about going around to local engine shops and asking if I can be a shop bitch, just to gain some knowledge, or something like that. But I really don't know if that would work, or if it would come off as just weird, so has anybody here had experience with doing such a thing?

Any input is great, sorry if this is in the wrong section as well,

Harold.

Ti28

Cupcake
TCG Premium
Jan 23, 2013
Bartlett
Experience, experience and experience. Did I say experience?

If you're a Apprentice, it means you're still wet behind the ears. Buckle down and become a Journeymen. Then look onto moving into the field.

Most high end places would start you off at 40hrs being a complete bitch. Broom pusher, parts runner and maybe a little service work. In order to enter into the performance world. You need to be well versed in that group of cars/trucks.

A example:

I know GM in and out. There for I'd work for a GM only shop. I wouldn't even think about walking in to a Ford shop.

rocket5979

Gearhead
Nov 15, 2005
Round Lake, IL